SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Threads Magazine> June July 2006 -125 (Two-Hour Gypsy Skirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2021 times 
Reviewed by:PattyU
photo

 
 
About PattyUstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/26/03
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/06 6:28 PM
Last Updated:6/15/06 10:36 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mClones said...
That is so fun! Tho' I don't wear skirts, I enjoyed reading the Threads article, and really enjoyed seeing your terrific interpretations. Thanks for the review!
6/14/06 6:31 PM
CarolynGM said...
You have been BUSY!! Did you use a ruffler or a gathering foot? Neither? The skirts are all adorable.
6/14/06 6:39 PM
Motorposus said...
You've been busy! This looks like a fun project for any sewing level, with lots of possibilities for using different fabrics. I like your personal takes on the design and construction.
6/14/06 7:04 PM
beangirl said...
good grief, when do you sleep? These are all cute (even if you are dressing like a six-year-old LOL). What a great project, thanks for reviewing the Threads instructions so clearly too.
6/14/06 7:10 PM
kkkkaty said...
Thanks for the review! I bought some fabric to try this skirt, but haven't sewed it up yet. It also seemed to me that a pattern is unnecessary. I was wondering about the length, though; the magazine says the finished length is 26 inches, if I recall correctly, but the length of the fabric prior to cutting is only 27 inches, so that can't be right. Did you feel like the length for the adult version was ok? It looks perfect in your photo.
6/14/06 7:30 PM
mon-petite said...
Beautiful skirts, and I love the little dress too!
6/14/06 7:34 PM
PattyU said...
Thanks all of you! I did not have a ruffler foot for the first two skirt or the dress. I gathered them by hand. I ordered a ruffler foot from Nancy's Notions and used it for the green and brown skirts. It kind of gives little pleats instead of straight gathering so the look is different. I also noticed that the length wasn't going to measure up. I added a couple inches of length to the first skirt. I'm about 5'8". On theskirts that have three tiers, I think that I made each of the tiers between 8 and 11 inches.
6/14/06 8:13 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Very, very cute skirts, both the grown-up versions and the kiddo ones! I plan on making a few of these as well, both for me and the girls. I already made one from no pattern for the girls, but this article is good to have as a reference for my version! thanks for the review and sharing your skirts!
6/14/06 8:59 PM
wvsher said...
All very nice skirts.
6/14/06 9:39 PM
bunz said...
Great job! Your dd is a real cutie.
6/14/06 11:10 PM
mrspilkington said...
great review -- thanks for the construction tips! i'm going to give this a try.
6/15/06 0:18 AM
sarahb said...
They look so cute! I am so glad you reviewed this skirt because i have been planning on sewing it myself, but I was a little suspicious of the photos in the article...none just let the skirt hang naturally, but I see from yours that it can look great. I was planning on using the ruffler--I notice you say that it creates little pleats for a different look--did you like the look, or prefer the gathering?
6/15/06 8:00 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great review. I looked at the pattern rating " I would definitely sew this pattern again" and then I read your review and laughed. You sewed it again, and again and again. A great pattern that you and your daughter will definitely have fun with.
6/15/06 9:40 AM
PattyU said...
Yosabu, I like the look of all the skirts. Maybe I should have said the ruffler foot makes tucks instead of pleats. I don't think that the skirts look like pleated skirts. I do like the look of the hand gathering for the pink floral items because the fabric looks old fashioned. I've edited the review for info. on the ruffler usage.
6/15/06 10:40 AM
runnerchicki said...
I love these skirts! I wear skirts more than anything in the summer, and this looks very easy and very versatile. You can change your fabrics and the lengths very easily. Great review, thanks for the ideas! BTW--I AM a 37 year old mom..but I have two boys and so I've never had the fun of matching my clothes to theirs. Lucky you!
6/15/06 10:46 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Patty -- It is so nice to see a review with lots of photos & the garments on such darling models! Your construction details are really great. One could sit down with just this review & make the skirts. By the way, I love your choice of fabrics.
6/15/06 10:50 AM
Physics Girl said...
Since I'm moving soon And need to reduce my fabric stash, maybe I should make a few of these! Thanks for the great review filled with hints on making these skirts even quicker!
6/15/06 11:18 AM
patsijean said...
I love the skirts. I too have the THREADS magazine and have thought about making the skirts. Your approach to using the ruffler is quite practical. It makes me yearn for a ruffler. Your daughter is obviously quite delighted to have those matching skirts.
6/15/06 11:36 AM
mon-petite said...
If you dont mind... what pattern did you use for the cute little dress?
6/15/06 11:44 AM
Map said...
I love all these skits and they are so fun to wear. Your skill is really improving and I'm really proud of you. Keep going.
6/15/06 11:49 AM
PattyU said...
Mon-petite, the girl's dress pattern is McCalls 4758. I'm working on a review, but haven't done it yet.
6/15/06 12:30 PM
mon-petite said...
thank you, I think I may give it a try
6/15/06 12:47 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, you have been a very busy woman!! I love all your skirts, they all came out really cute! Thanks for the tips, this one looks fun to try.
6/15/06 12:55 PM
marthamyers said...
I was just about to make this. Thanks so much!
6/15/06 2:28 PM
Merry G said...
Nice you have been busy...keep up the good work
6/15/06 5:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Butterick 4865

photo
by: im2melo4u

Review
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now