SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2561 (Women's Pants)

15 more reviews
Viewed 2485 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 224 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/19/06 1:01 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brrmm said...
Hey, nice duds !! Great fit, looking good girl. BTW whats a PMB (pardon my ignorance)
6/19/06 2:04 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Sorry, PMB = Pattern Master Boutique. It is pattern drafting software by WildGinger.com I'll edit my review.
6/19/06 2:15 AM
Vonnevo said...
Definitely nice Duds Belinda. The fit is fabulous.Echoing brrmm, looking good girl :))
6/19/06 2:24 AM
Lori V said...
Great looking pants, Belinda. Looks like a perfect fit.
6/19/06 4:22 AM
JenniferBee said...
Great looking pants Belinda. Thanks for the detailed alterations.
6/19/06 5:48 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great review! I have a similar figure so I'm definitely going to try your alterations. These look wonderful!
6/19/06 6:07 AM
Deepika said...
Wow your pants look fabulous! You may never need to buy pants again :) Glad to see another glowing review of these pants. They are on my next to sew list.
6/19/06 8:16 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Belinda, these look fantastic on you. Thanks for the review, I've been contemplating getting this pattern (in fact, I already bought some fabric for it, just incase) for awhile now and you helped make up my mind - I need this pattern!
6/19/06 8:38 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another great pair of pants.
6/19/06 9:23 AM
elizajo said...
After your review I clicked on "add to bag" and bought this pattern. I love the pocket stay. How is your beautifully fitted waistband different from the pattern?
6/19/06 9:50 AM
cindyann said...
Very nicely done! Thank you for the review and the detailed pics.
6/19/06 9:57 AM
sewbehind said...
Those pants look fantastic. Great fit and good job.
6/19/06 10:15 AM
Diane E said...
Belinda, your jeans are great! The fit is terrific. Thanks for all the details in your review - from thread used for top-stitching to the pocket stay - very very informative.
6/19/06 11:32 AM
wvsher said...
Great looking pants!
6/19/06 11:56 AM
Lilibet said...
Very nice fit. Other pattern on my wishlist.
6/19/06 6:22 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks for the comments everyone. Deepika, I haven't bought pants now for 2 years. :) Elizajo, the waistband is basically the same only curved in different places. My back waistband is more curved and my front less curved. The Jalie one may have fit but when I had one that I knew fit I couldn't see the point in re-inventing the wheel. :) I spent a long time getting my contoured waistband just right so I use when I can.
6/19/06 6:33 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You may never have to buy RTW again. These are one terriffic fit and thanks for the Flat butt adjustment. No that's one that makes real sense to me.
6/19/06 7:07 PM
Skye said...
Great pants - thank you for the excellent review. This might be a pattern worth getting :)
6/19/06 11:28 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great review Belinda. Nice pants! Just a question on the alteration "The other alteration was to scoop the back waist to remove vertical fabric under the buttock cheeks" - how does that work? Is that putting a verical dart from waist to hem to reduce fabric going across the butt?
6/20/06 0:04 AM
Sew4Fun said...
HKS, oops sorry. That should have read *horizontal* fabric under the buttocks. I'll change it as it's confusing. This is the Kenneth King fish eye dart alteration where you pin a horizontal dart under the cheek then transfer the dart to the waist.
6/20/06 1:20 AM
martinanne said...
Wow! Beautiful work!
6/20/06 2:34 AM
sewsue said...
Your pants look great and fit well too. Thanks for all the photos too.
6/20/06 4:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking pants. They fit perfect.
6/20/06 5:27 AM
Motorposus said...
The belt loops and back pockets really complete the look. Your topstitching is beautiful!
6/20/06 10:36 AM
minieme said...
Your pants look so well fitted, I think I should attempt to sew and fit another pair of pants again, I too have flat buttocks, my first pair of Palmer/Pletsch pants went to the Lifeline bin. I know someone is enjoying a nice pair of black crepe slacks.
6/20/06 7:45 PM
SewTwin said...
I am thrilled with your review!I have searched patterns for this type of pockets.My rounded hips & tummy pull at slant/curved pockets.That is all the big 4 seem to make.You did the research for me.I guess I didn't notice them in the other reviews,but since your pocket pics were so clear, I said Eureka!!...I found my pocket/tummy/hip problem pants!! I also think the wider waistband would pull in the excess from my weightloss tummy.Is the front larger than the back waistband??..Kudos for the pants & the "Review"!!
6/21/06 6:12 PM
SarahWeb said...
Thanks for the great review. I have this pattern and am trying to get around to it. I love the changes you made for a more "jeans" style. You have a very good looking pair of pants, there. I think this style might look good in a cropped length, too.
6/23/06 11:10 AM
Debbie Cook said...
A great pair of pants (again)! Such a flattering style on you and nice details. Love those pockets.
6/23/06 7:33 PM
99 said...
This was a very well done review. The ideas with descriptions and photos were very easy to understand. These are good looking pants.
9/7/06 9:17 PM
materialgirl331 said...
These pants look marvelous.
4/8/07 9:04 PM
Yvonski said...
Your review is very helpful. I've just received this pattern and am about to cut a pair out for my DD. Using Bengaline which is very stretchy so wish me luck.
9/21/08 1:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now