SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 2975 (Blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 903 times 
Reviewed by:JAJenkins1971
photo

 
 
About JAJenkins1971
TX USA
Member since: 5/14/04
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/06 7:50 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
From the picture, I can't tell that the fabric is heavier than you would have liked for this style. The blouse that you made looks nice, and the color is light and perfect for summer! Thanks for this great review! Almost forgot to add...the pic doesn't look bizarre at all, but your comment about squatting is too too funny! I only noticed it after you pointed it out. :-)
6/20/06 8:46 PM
Em's Summer said...
Deleted duplicate comment. :-O
6/20/06 8:48 PM
Em's Summer said...
Deleted duplicate comment. :-O
6/20/06 8:49 PM
bunz said...
comfort always wins -- doesn't it ?
6/20/06 9:45 PM
jessika said...
I think this top looks great. I am now considering makeing one. Great Job.
6/20/06 10:05 PM
wvsher said...
Nice top, looks comfy and well constructed.
6/20/06 10:35 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I have those "feeling fat" days too and always wind up having to take in patterns I cut out on those days. I like this style too, but I know they aren't my most flattering style. Yours looks cute in that eyelet. Very comfy with jeans.
6/21/06 2:40 AM
fuzzygalore said...
On the whole, loose styles look best with light, drapey fabric. Remember rayon in the 80s for all those big boxy shirts? So, while I like the color too, and I think it's very cute, you might do well to aim lighter for the next one, it sounds like there will definitely be a next one :-).

If you were going to make any modification to mollify the husband, I'd say shorten the sleeves a bit - they hit right at your widest point, which is usually not the right effect. A bit shorter would look more contemporary too. Thanks for pointing out this utterly comfortable shirt!
6/21/06 3:05 AM

Mary Stiefer said...
Fuzzy Galore has the right idea. I think her recommendations might make DH feel a bit better. You've done a nice job but perhaps a lighter weight fabric would make it much more comfy.
6/21/06 9:01 AM
JAJenkins1971 said...
Some great ideas in the comments!! Thank you!
6/21/06 9:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

New Look 6097

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now