SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5010 (Tango Skirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1768 times 
Reviewed by:NancyDaQ
photo

 
 
About NancyDaQstar
NM USA
Member since: 1/12/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/06 1:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
I agree that the pattern pictures just don't show the design well. Yours is lovely.
7/26/06 5:41 AM
kathi s said...
Thanks for your detailed review! Your skirt is very pretty. A note on cutting out: I was just in Carmel and visited Loes' shop. She was there and when I bought the pattern and some rayon print, she offered the tip that she cuts out all ten gores at once! She said you need really sharp scissors and you accordion pleat the fabric to fit the pattern piece. I haven't yet tried it, but I will certainly give it a try when I get the chance. I felt like I was meeting a rock star, but she was really nice and friendly and even posed for a picture with me when DH asked her!
7/16/06 11:17 AM
Monica G said...
Love your skirt. I just bought this pattern and am eager to try it (but several other projects in line first!). I agree with your comment about the envelope pictures. Thank you for the tip about tracing an extra pattern piece. I think I will plan on this from the start
6/26/06 7:17 AM
NancyDaQ said...
Lorna, I resized it a bit larger. Unfortunately, you're still not going to see a lot of detail since the skirt is black.
6/26/06 0:47 AM
lornakismet said...
I would love to see this skirt closer up. It is smallish, and at a distance, and I cannot make out any detail. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/26/06 0:22 AM
NancyDaQ said...
Tini, no zipper just an elastic waist
6/25/06 8:08 PM
MaryBeth said...
Hey, nice skirt! I'd rather see it on you tho :) but I know how hard pix taking is when you're the model and the photographer. I got so mad at LH sleeve caps and such that I've never made more than one thing of hers. But skirts don't have sleeves, right?
6/25/06 5:48 PM
Peggy L said...
It looks really nice. I love the elastic application.
6/25/06 5:16 PM
Tini said...
Your skirt is really nice :) Is there an elastic waistband or is there a zipper in this skirt?
6/25/06 4:36 PM
Doris W. in TN said...
Your skirt turned out great. I agree about the additional pieces to make cutting out easier. When I made mine, I cut a 2nd pattern piece and things went much faster.
6/25/06 2:59 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your skirt looks really nice. I think I would fall over in shock if anyone where I work even noticed what I was wearing.
6/25/06 2:56 PM
bunz said...
You're so right about needing additional pattern pieces for positioning. Pretty skirt!
6/25/06 2:48 PM
Liana said...
Thanks for your take on this. I agree that the photos on LH patterns are not useful for seeing the actual garment shapes, much less details. Your skirt is very pretty!
6/25/06 1:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: CommanderK...

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

More Info