SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8069 (Bags and Covers)

Viewed 1063 times 
Reviewed by:Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stieferstarstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 131
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/06 11:30 AM
Last Updated:6/27/06 12:11 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Miss Fairchild said...
Too cute! Love the bag and your choice of fabrics. I'd been looking at this pattern for a while, and now I might get it. Thanks for the review!
6/1/09 8:19 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
My goodness, what a fantastic creation Mary! I missed this the first time around but caught it finally on the rotating pattern pictures. You're right, it's much cuter than the envelope photo. Kind of nautical, kind of picnic, totally summer, very fun all around.
5/30/07 8:15 AM
Jess2185 said...
I love this pattern and you did a wonderful job, I agree yours looks better than the pattern. I gonna go out and buy this and I think I'm gonna do mine with John Deere fabric. I've been wanting a John Deere bag and can't find them anywhere. Thanks for the good review and inspiration.
12/4/06 10:57 PM
ccris said...
Well, I just saw this review as it came around the revolving ads. This is the sweetest backpack I've ever seen. You did a great job on it and a great job on your detailed review. Enjoy, and have a fun trip to Albany!
7/15/06 1:33 PM
Em's Summer said...
OMG! This looks wonderful! And your tips a very helpful! Thanks for this great review!
7/4/06 8:45 AM
Nata said...
Mary, It looks great.
6/28/06 8:07 PM
nina001ca said...
I really like how the red quilting on blue echos the checked fabric you used, and the buttons add lots of interest. Great review.
6/28/06 5:28 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent job with the back pack. Love the color combinations.
6/28/06 5:30 AM
Deepika said...
AWWW what an adorable bag. I want that! Thanks for such a thoughtful review.
6/27/06 11:20 PM
Rhoda K said...
A great review and cute bag! I agree that yours does look better than the pattern. Enjoy your trip!
6/27/06 10:44 PM
BeckyC said...
What a cute and great backpack for traveling! Thanks for all your excellent tips.
6/27/06 10:42 PM
BeckyW said...
Very cute bag. I have this pattern. I had every intention to go right home and make it, but it never happened. I might have to dig it out now.
6/27/06 6:35 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a super backpack!! You did a fantastic job on it, and of course a terrific review. Have a wonderful trip on the train to Albany!
6/27/06 5:22 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I love your red buttons. Using plastic canvas instead of cardboard is a great idea, too: better if something spills or the bag needs washing. Thanks for the detailed review.
6/27/06 4:20 PM
frame said...
Mary, your bag looks great. And what a wonderful review, thanks. Have a good trip.
6/27/06 3:51 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Thanks for the review. I have this pattern and had forgotten. I'm going to dig it out now! Yours DOES look better, too!
6/27/06 2:05 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I guess I should have taken a picture of that too - sorry. Yes, it is a removable piece. In essence, two pieces of fabric are sewn right sides together down three sides, slide the canvas in and slip stitch the fourth side. It just sits in the botton of the bag - a separate piece.
6/27/06 1:45 PM
ReneeSews said...
Neat pattern and even neater finished backpack! Just curious about the bottom where it called for the use of cardboard, is it removable for washing? Using the plastic canvas would you be able to wash it with that in place? Great review with a lot of helpful tips!
6/27/06 1:42 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It does look very nice and neat inside and out. Happy travels!
6/27/06 1:33 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Great looking bag in adorable fabric. You did a great job.
6/27/06 12:56 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Mary, that is such a great bag. Have a wonderful trip! -Ann
6/27/06 12:01 PM
BjP said...
Mary, this is a very, very nice backpack! I bet it will serve you well on your trip. This was an excellent review, very thorough and full of many helpful tips...thank you! :)
6/27/06 12:00 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute bag, nice job on the quilting. Have a wonderful time on your trip.
6/27/06 11:58 AM
wvsher said...
It looks very nice and professional. Thanks for the review!
6/27/06 11:48 AM
cindyann said...
What a cute little bag. I'm sure it will serve you well on your trip. Hope you have a great time.
6/27/06 11:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 2980

photo
by: moonshae

Review
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: marec

Review