Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 8069 (Bags and Covers) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1063 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR
About Mary Stieferstarstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 131
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/06 11:30 AM
Last Updated:6/27/06 12:11 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
What a cute little bag. I'm sure it will serve you well on your trip. Hope you have a great time.
6/27/06 11:36 AM
wvsher said...
It looks very nice and professional. Thanks for the review!
6/27/06 11:48 AM
Lori V said...
Very cute bag, nice job on the quilting. Have a wonderful time on your trip.
6/27/06 11:58 AM
BjP said...
Mary, this is a very, very nice backpack! I bet it will serve you well on your trip. This was an excellent review, very thorough and full of many helpful tips...thank you! :)
6/27/06 12:00 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Mary, that is such a great bag. Have a wonderful trip! -Ann
6/27/06 12:01 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Great looking bag in adorable fabric. You did a great job.
6/27/06 12:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It does look very nice and neat inside and out. Happy travels!
6/27/06 1:33 PM
ReneeSews said...
Neat pattern and even neater finished backpack! Just curious about the bottom where it called for the use of cardboard, is it removable for washing? Using the plastic canvas would you be able to wash it with that in place? Great review with a lot of helpful tips!
6/27/06 1:42 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I guess I should have taken a picture of that too - sorry. Yes, it is a removable piece. In essence, two pieces of fabric are sewn right sides together down three sides, slide the canvas in and slip stitch the fourth side. It just sits in the botton of the bag - a separate piece.
6/27/06 1:45 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Thanks for the review. I have this pattern and had forgotten. I'm going to dig it out now! Yours DOES look better, too!
6/27/06 2:05 PM
frame said...
Mary, your bag looks great. And what a wonderful review, thanks. Have a good trip.
6/27/06 3:51 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I love your red buttons. Using plastic canvas instead of cardboard is a great idea, too: better if something spills or the bag needs washing. Thanks for the detailed review.
6/27/06 4:20 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a super backpack!! You did a fantastic job on it, and of course a terrific review. Have a wonderful trip on the train to Albany!
6/27/06 5:22 PM
BeckyW said...
Very cute bag. I have this pattern. I had every intention to go right home and make it, but it never happened. I might have to dig it out now.
6/27/06 6:35 PM
BeckyC said...
What a cute and great backpack for traveling! Thanks for all your excellent tips.
6/27/06 10:42 PM
Rhoda K said...
A great review and cute bag! I agree that yours does look better than the pattern. Enjoy your trip!
6/27/06 10:44 PM
Deepika said...
AWWW what an adorable bag. I want that! Thanks for such a thoughtful review.
6/27/06 11:20 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent job with the back pack. Love the color combinations.
6/28/06 5:30 AM
nina001ca said...
I really like how the red quilting on blue echos the checked fabric you used, and the buttons add lots of interest. Great review.
6/28/06 5:28 PM
Nata said...
Mary, It looks great.
6/28/06 8:07 PM
Em's Summer said...
OMG! This looks wonderful! And your tips a very helpful! Thanks for this great review!
7/4/06 8:45 AM
ccris said...
Well, I just saw this review as it came around the revolving ads. This is the sweetest backpack I've ever seen. You did a great job on it and a great job on your detailed review. Enjoy, and have a fun trip to Albany!
7/15/06 1:33 PM
Jess2185 said...
I love this pattern and you did a wonderful job, I agree yours looks better than the pattern. I gonna go out and buy this and I think I'm gonna do mine with John Deere fabric. I've been wanting a John Deere bag and can't find them anywhere. Thanks for the good review and inspiration.
12/4/06 10:57 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
My goodness, what a fantastic creation Mary! I missed this the first time around but caught it finally on the rotating pattern pictures. You're right, it's much cuter than the envelope photo. Kind of nautical, kind of picnic, totally summer, very fun all around.
5/30/07 8:15 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Too cute! Love the bag and your choice of fabrics. I'd been looking at this pattern for a while, and now I might get it. Thanks for the review!
6/1/09 8:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 3672
photo
Review by Katharine ... on 1/7/10
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5581
photo
Review by Tiki Val on 8/24/10
Read Review

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4967 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 4967 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us