SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8069 (Bags and Covers)

Viewed 1063 times 
Reviewed by:Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stieferstarstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 131
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/06 11:30 AM
Last Updated:6/27/06 12:11 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
What a cute little bag. I'm sure it will serve you well on your trip. Hope you have a great time.
6/27/06 11:36 AM
wvsher said...
It looks very nice and professional. Thanks for the review!
6/27/06 11:48 AM
Lori V said...
Very cute bag, nice job on the quilting. Have a wonderful time on your trip.
6/27/06 11:58 AM
BjP said...
Mary, this is a very, very nice backpack! I bet it will serve you well on your trip. This was an excellent review, very thorough and full of many helpful tips...thank you! :)
6/27/06 12:00 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Mary, that is such a great bag. Have a wonderful trip! -Ann
6/27/06 12:01 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Great looking bag in adorable fabric. You did a great job.
6/27/06 12:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It does look very nice and neat inside and out. Happy travels!
6/27/06 1:33 PM
ReneeSews said...
Neat pattern and even neater finished backpack! Just curious about the bottom where it called for the use of cardboard, is it removable for washing? Using the plastic canvas would you be able to wash it with that in place? Great review with a lot of helpful tips!
6/27/06 1:42 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I guess I should have taken a picture of that too - sorry. Yes, it is a removable piece. In essence, two pieces of fabric are sewn right sides together down three sides, slide the canvas in and slip stitch the fourth side. It just sits in the botton of the bag - a separate piece.
6/27/06 1:45 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Thanks for the review. I have this pattern and had forgotten. I'm going to dig it out now! Yours DOES look better, too!
6/27/06 2:05 PM
frame said...
Mary, your bag looks great. And what a wonderful review, thanks. Have a good trip.
6/27/06 3:51 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I love your red buttons. Using plastic canvas instead of cardboard is a great idea, too: better if something spills or the bag needs washing. Thanks for the detailed review.
6/27/06 4:20 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a super backpack!! You did a fantastic job on it, and of course a terrific review. Have a wonderful trip on the train to Albany!
6/27/06 5:22 PM
BeckyW said...
Very cute bag. I have this pattern. I had every intention to go right home and make it, but it never happened. I might have to dig it out now.
6/27/06 6:35 PM
BeckyC said...
What a cute and great backpack for traveling! Thanks for all your excellent tips.
6/27/06 10:42 PM
Rhoda K said...
A great review and cute bag! I agree that yours does look better than the pattern. Enjoy your trip!
6/27/06 10:44 PM
Deepika said...
AWWW what an adorable bag. I want that! Thanks for such a thoughtful review.
6/27/06 11:20 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent job with the back pack. Love the color combinations.
6/28/06 5:30 AM
nina001ca said...
I really like how the red quilting on blue echos the checked fabric you used, and the buttons add lots of interest. Great review.
6/28/06 5:28 PM
Nata said...
Mary, It looks great.
6/28/06 8:07 PM
Em's Summer said...
OMG! This looks wonderful! And your tips a very helpful! Thanks for this great review!
7/4/06 8:45 AM
ccris said...
Well, I just saw this review as it came around the revolving ads. This is the sweetest backpack I've ever seen. You did a great job on it and a great job on your detailed review. Enjoy, and have a fun trip to Albany!
7/15/06 1:33 PM
Jess2185 said...
I love this pattern and you did a wonderful job, I agree yours looks better than the pattern. I gonna go out and buy this and I think I'm gonna do mine with John Deere fabric. I've been wanting a John Deere bag and can't find them anywhere. Thanks for the good review and inspiration.
12/4/06 10:57 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
My goodness, what a fantastic creation Mary! I missed this the first time around but caught it finally on the rotating pattern pictures. You're right, it's much cuter than the envelope photo. Kind of nautical, kind of picnic, totally summer, very fun all around.
5/30/07 8:15 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Too cute! Love the bag and your choice of fabrics. I'd been looking at this pattern for a while, and now I might get it. Thanks for the review!
6/1/09 8:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-112

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8645

photo
by: Natasha Jo...

Review
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Buy Now