Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 002 (Kimono Robe by Palmer/Pletsch) - Type:Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 1038 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR
About Learn To Sewstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/06 8:45 PM
Last Updated:7/1/06 9:01 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Your robe is lovely Carol! It looks so well done. I like your attitude. Taking the time to perfect you rskills is the best way, and you will have less frustration and more fun. Your put a lot of work and thought into this garment and it shows in the picture and in the review!
6/30/06 9:33 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Very nice and I'm sure your Mom will hers as a Christmas present.
6/30/06 10:04 PM
elizajo said...
What a beautiful robe! Your choice of fabrics and sewing are quite nice. I am glad you learned so much in your class.
6/30/06 10:23 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review, Carol -- your robe is beautiful! I'm certain you'll find more enjoyment as you become more accustomed to the new techniques you're learning. (Also, I'm sure it will be more fun after your neck has finally healed!)
6/30/06 10:26 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review, Carol -- your robe is beautiful! I'm certain you'll find more enjoyment as you become more accustomed to the new techniques you're learning. (Also, I'm sure it will be more fun after your neck has finished healing!)
6/30/06 10:27 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Carol, I know you put a lot of time and effort into finding a way to take that class. Congratulations on your robe project; it looks beautiful and you're right: you chose lovely fabric!
6/30/06 10:43 PM
Ann B. said...
This is really pretty Carol. I know that you will enjoy this quality robe every time you wear it. Thank you for the review. ~Ann
6/30/06 10:48 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Yay, Carol! Your robe turned out beautifully. Your Mom is going to love her custom designed robe! Thanks for your review!!
6/30/06 11:10 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your robe is very pretty Carol.
6/30/06 11:34 PM
AnitaJ said...
Beautiful robe! I love the fabrics you chose.
6/30/06 11:44 PM
ccris said...
Yay, it's finished, and oh sooo pretty, too. Nice work, Carol. Love the colors. Now, you have to get more of that fabric and make matching pajamas!
7/1/06 0:32 AM
lornakismet said...
Carol, from what I can see, it is a lovely garment, but IT IS SO SMALL! Make it bigger so we can see the details, por favor. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
7/1/06 1:18 AM
blue mooney said...
I've been following your saga, Carol. It's great to see the finished product. I think in the long run you will be glad you bought the good fabric. Your robe is lovely!
7/1/06 7:30 AM
slanden99 said...
Very pretty robe. Thanks for posting the picture-I'd been curious what you'd bee working on for your robe class
7/1/06 9:37 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Love the colours Carol! And I also loved the play by play on the classes as well. Great job!
7/1/06 10:26 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Carol I'd like to see a better pic to really SEE your beautiful robe. I feel like I'm sitting in California looking at that pic. Do you think making the large and using a FBA would be a good solution to get a better fit?
7/1/06 2:41 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Thank you, alll of you. I am so touched at your comments. Is the picture large enough to see when you click on the robe? We can make it a little larger, if you would like.
7/1/06 2:42 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Lorna and Sherril. Yes, an FBA on a Large might be better. I just tried it on. A little bit big in the back and I think there is too much fabric at the back waist under the belt. Not in the front though. The back belt area poofs a bit. The patterns SA's are 1 inch. Do you think I could get away with tracing between the sizes? Or if you think an FBA is needed, I can try it. I have FFRP.
7/1/06 7:21 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty colors, Carol. But yes, we NEED to see it big and detailed since we've heard so much about it. :-) Please make it at least 500 pixels tall if DH is willing.
7/1/06 7:48 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Much better picture Carol, thank you. I don't think going between sizes is what you need. Do the FBA and cut a large. The dropped shoulders that you don't like is how the patternmaker intended the shoulders to fit. You can tell this by how high the sleeve cap is. If it's fairly flat, then it's supposed to be dropped off your sholder. If it's high and rounded, then it's supposed to fit at your shoulder line.
7/1/06 9:14 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Hey, where are the puppies and lamps?? Seriously, much better pic! Thanks for enlarging it. Looks like your class was a success! Just remember, it *is* a robe so the underarms won't be tight. I look like a sack in my velour robe but I still love it because it's so comfy.
7/1/06 9:59 PM
BjP said...
Very pretty robe, Carol. I bet these colors look wonderful on you with your coloring. Thanks for letting us see your final results!
7/1/06 10:11 PM
Vonnevo said...
Carol, you have one lovely robe there. The colours are beautiful and very flattering for you. I am glad you managed to take the class. The planning and thought you put into sewing this one shows..it's a beauty.
7/2/06 1:28 AM
Mikelee said...
Carol, I remember when you chose the fabric you were a bit concerned about the investment. But, I think you were really smart. I heard an instructor once say that when students choose the cheapest fabric they can find that they are usually unhappy with the product no matter how well sewn. You did well. Mazel tov!
7/10/06 11:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Simplicity 2053
photo
Review by nicegirl on 6/5/12
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Spring dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Spring dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-109 Top
photo
Review by sunnysewin... on 10/2/13
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1584 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1584 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1876 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1876 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us