SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4192 (Five easy coordinates)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1053 times 
Reviewed by:ReneeSews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ReneeSewsstar
IN USA
Member since: 6/26/05
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/06 8:51 PM
Last Updated:7/2/06 9:04 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Renee - you're really getting the hang of it! Pretty top. I especially like the tiny ruffle treatment.
7/2/06 9:09 PM
Mely5862 said...
I really like it. Very nice fit. I think it looks better than the envelope
7/2/06 9:14 PM
Em's Summer said...
Yours turned out nicely. I wrote one of the other reviews of this and I'm amazed that you followed the instructions and didn't get a shelf neckband like I got when I followed the instructions and tried to sew this with gathers. The fabric I used was just as stretchy, and recovers just as well as two way knits, but I ended up with a shelf when I tried to make it with the gathers. I had to improvise to get a wearable top from this pattern so I'm truly amazed that you didn't run into the neckband problems that some of us ran into. You did a good job!
7/2/06 9:32 PM
ReneeSews said...
Em's Summer - The only thing I can think of is the fabric used? The fabric I used is a alternating ribbed and lacey, medium weight with no vertical stretch, only stretches horizontially.
7/2/06 9:51 PM
CatherineN said...
Your fabric is very pretty. Please be sure to review the pants when you make them.
7/2/06 10:01 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a cute top, Renee.
7/2/06 10:39 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your tank came out cute. I don't care for the pants, did that in high school, but I really like that kimono top.
7/2/06 10:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
You did have excellent results on this top!
7/2/06 11:04 PM
fuzzygalore said...
You're getting the fit -perfect-! And you rather look like me, so I'd say yes you do have narrow shoulders :-). You've thrown me into philosophical musings of how many women with big busts have narrow shoulders - maybe it's from shoulder tightness due to weight carrying from years of inadequate bras, or teenage slumping to camouflage :-)?? Whatever the reason, the shoulders are perfect here, so keep doing what you're doing, in Big4 patterns at least.
7/3/06 3:51 AM
jlg said...
Very pretty top. Beautifully done.
7/3/06 5:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your top fits well. Glad to read you had to neckband problems. i still plan to make this.
7/3/06 5:35 AM
LauraM62 said...
Your top looks lovely on you Renee!
7/3/06 6:56 AM
ReneeSews said...
fuzzy - In this pic I look like I still am doing the camouflage slump ;-)
7/3/06 7:06 AM
PKPudlin said...
Nice job, Renee. Very cute top and helpful review. Thanks!
7/3/06 8:49 AM
redsquid said...
Excellent, you got the pattern to work - I'm thinking now the fabric I used for my top was too firm and just did not have enough stretch (although it had enough according to the "stretch chart") - thanks for the review!
7/3/06 10:35 AM
Luckylibbet said...
The top looks terrific on you! I love your choice of fabric, the pintuck look is wonderful.
7/3/06 1:40 PM
AnneM said...
Nice fabric choice for your top. Yours came out great. Good information between this review & the others!
8/2/06 4:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

McCall's 6689

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now