SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 250 (Pam's Blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1581 times 
Reviewed by:PixieCat
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About PixieCatstar
OH USA
Member since: 5/5/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/06 12:36 PM
Last Updated:7/5/06 3:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
solveg said...
I am so glad you posted this review. I finally found a pattern I thought my grandmother would like. She would hate it if it looked that wide on her. You just saved me money and time.
8/12/12 0:24 AM
Azure said...
Thank you for the review! I cannot figure out from the pattern which size I need. I was hoping there would be more help inside the package, but it just tells me to look on the outside, where there is no information besides finished body measurements. How does that relate to the B, C and D cup sizes? I think after seeing the finished product, I won't bother to try to figure it out!
9/15/09 5:21 PM
KathySews said...
I have this pattern. I think I will look at possibility of shortening the collar area to pull up the buttons to just under bust. If that works, I will let you all know
10/21/07 6:36 PM
AnneM said...
I like your original pic (same pose as the pattern). And your 2nd photo tells us why they used that pose! Very interesting. If that makes you look flat, I'd hate to see what it does for me.
8/2/06 5:30 PM
xela said...
Maybe it's too big. It actually looks a little too wide in the shoulders. The color is great. Thanks for the review.
7/6/06 3:42 PM
slanden99 said...
How dissapointing! I'd like to see what the model looks like with her arms uncrossed. It seems like they were trying to hide the overall look in the pattern photo. I agree with moushka--You would have to be very slender and very tall (or longwaised) to have a chance looking good in this style of blouse. Maybe you can save the blouse by converting it to a jacket and evening out the fullness through the entire length (taking away at the top or adding fullness at the bottom)
7/6/06 12:32 PM
LauraM62 said...
Well it looks pretty with your arms crossed - sorry it didn't work for you - know it wouldn't be a good design on me either with the uncrossed arms
7/6/06 7:54 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Are you sure you can't stand around with your arms crossed all the time? It looks great that way. Very helpful review...but I'm sorry all your work didn't pay off in a wearable garment. Darn!
7/5/06 8:14 PM
dreamdesigner said...
"slender" and "long-waisted" since Peggy is both herself, perhaps she tends to design (perhaps sub-consciously) for such people.
7/5/06 8:03 PM
moushka said...
Thanks for the second photo. I have this pattern, darn. Having seen it made up, I honestly don't think this style will work on anyone who is even a tiny bit short-waisted, or with a full ribcage, which lets me out. It's such a pretty style but perhaps better suited to those who are both slender and long-waisted. So, anyone want to buy a pattern? :-)
7/5/06 6:01 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Oh boy -- I see what you mean. That's too bad, but you're right ... it really does add width and weight that you do NOT have.
7/5/06 4:00 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I'll have to take your word for it re uncrossing your arms because in the pic, it looks very nice!
7/5/06 3:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Butterick 5821

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
Burda 7866

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

More Info