SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7978 (Vogue Basic Design)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1363 times 
Reviewed by:Frogstitcher
photo

 
 
About Frogstitcherstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 2/26/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/06 9:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
What a classic trench coat. You've done a wonderful job. I love the buttons and the beads in the center just make it all your own. Great job.
7/10/06 9:29 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely coat! The beaded buttons are so pretty. I'm sure you will get a lot of use from this coat.
7/10/06 10:29 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice - if I get started on one now I may have it ready for Fall - or perhaps next Spring? Will certainly be adding this pattern to my stash - thanks for a great review
7/10/06 10:30 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Thanks for the thorough review. The straight, vertical lines of this pattern are a superb choice to elongate a petite figure. The fabric sounds like it was difficult to work with: no give or ease to it all all. Kudos to you for persevering and finishing the coat 8 months before spring!
7/10/06 10:42 AM
Doris W. in TN said...
Your coat looks great. I bought this pattern last year after reading several positive reviews. ;-) I hope to make it one day.
7/10/06 10:46 AM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking coat and good review. One question, or am I not reading correctly. You stated that you . . .hand-basted then interfaced . . . I'm confused.
7/10/06 10:55 AM
bunz said...
You got a very classic and classy coat out of this "lab" fabric (I don't agree w dd). Great review.
7/10/06 10:58 AM
Frogstitcher said...
nitwit; to answer your question, I hand-basted a cotton batiste to my main garment fabric and fuse interfaced a light weight tricot to the cotton batiste. My fabric just wasn't firm enough to hold its shape.
7/10/06 11:27 AM
sideseams said...
I just love your coat and the button detail. It is a great pattern for petites. Because of your review I will also try this pattern (I am 5'2").
7/10/06 11:38 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Wonderful review. I could almost visualize you making it. I love this jacket, too. I have one similar on the back burner for this fall. I'm procrastinating it because I have to match the herringbone material.>love the jacket! Ronda
7/10/06 12:47 PM
nicegirl said...
Really neat! I have been thinking of making a trench, but too lazy to deal with the collar and lining aspects of it. I feel a bit inspired...
7/10/06 3:41 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely coat. Very professional looking. Like the trim and buttons.
7/11/06 5:17 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Really great job on the trench!
7/11/06 8:56 AM
cathy45 said...
Great job. It looks to trim and smooth. Your review of the pattern encourages to give it try, too.
7/11/06 11:26 AM
patsijean said...
You did a beautiful job on this coat. I do not feel that it looks like a lab coat at all. As a short person, I will certainly give this pattern serious thought, and Vogue has always been my favorite.
7/11/06 5:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

McCall's 6360

photo
by: Legal.Deal...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 230862-1002

photo
by: CraftAddic...

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now