SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7978 (Vogue Basic Design)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1370 times 
Reviewed by:Frogstitcher
photo

 
 
About Frogstitcherstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 2/26/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/06 9:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
patsijean said...
You did a beautiful job on this coat. I do not feel that it looks like a lab coat at all. As a short person, I will certainly give this pattern serious thought, and Vogue has always been my favorite.
7/11/06 5:46 PM
cathy45 said...
Great job. It looks to trim and smooth. Your review of the pattern encourages to give it try, too.
7/11/06 11:26 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Really great job on the trench!
7/11/06 8:56 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely coat. Very professional looking. Like the trim and buttons.
7/11/06 5:17 AM
nicegirl said...
Really neat! I have been thinking of making a trench, but too lazy to deal with the collar and lining aspects of it. I feel a bit inspired...
7/10/06 3:41 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Wonderful review. I could almost visualize you making it. I love this jacket, too. I have one similar on the back burner for this fall. I'm procrastinating it because I have to match the herringbone material.>love the jacket! Ronda
7/10/06 12:47 PM
sideseams said...
I just love your coat and the button detail. It is a great pattern for petites. Because of your review I will also try this pattern (I am 5'2").
7/10/06 11:38 AM
Frogstitcher said...
nitwit; to answer your question, I hand-basted a cotton batiste to my main garment fabric and fuse interfaced a light weight tricot to the cotton batiste. My fabric just wasn't firm enough to hold its shape.
7/10/06 11:27 AM
bunz said...
You got a very classic and classy coat out of this "lab" fabric (I don't agree w dd). Great review.
7/10/06 10:58 AM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking coat and good review. One question, or am I not reading correctly. You stated that you . . .hand-basted then interfaced . . . I'm confused.
7/10/06 10:55 AM
Doris W. in TN said...
Your coat looks great. I bought this pattern last year after reading several positive reviews. ;-) I hope to make it one day.
7/10/06 10:46 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Thanks for the thorough review. The straight, vertical lines of this pattern are a superb choice to elongate a petite figure. The fabric sounds like it was difficult to work with: no give or ease to it all all. Kudos to you for persevering and finishing the coat 8 months before spring!
7/10/06 10:42 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice - if I get started on one now I may have it ready for Fall - or perhaps next Spring? Will certainly be adding this pattern to my stash - thanks for a great review
7/10/06 10:30 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely coat! The beaded buttons are so pretty. I'm sure you will get a lot of use from this coat.
7/10/06 10:29 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a classic trench coat. You've done a wonderful job. I love the buttons and the beads in the center just make it all your own. Great job.
7/10/06 9:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Butterick 5351

photo
by: IreneDAdle...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now