Online Sewing Class: The Contemporary Couture Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7978 (Vogue Basic Design)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1376 times 
Reviewed by:Frogstitcher
photo

 
 
About Frogstitcherstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 2/26/05
Reviews: 76 (patterns: 74)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/06 9:14 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
patsijean said... (7/11/06 5:46 PM) Reply
You did a beautiful job on this coat. I do not feel that it looks like a lab coat at all. As a short person, I will certainly give this pattern serious thought, and Vogue has always been my favorite.
cathy45 said... (7/11/06 11:26 AM) Reply
Great job. It looks to trim and smooth. Your review of the pattern encourages to give it try, too.
milwaukee_kelly said... (7/11/06 8:56 AM) Reply
Really great job on the trench!
Danvillegirl said... (7/11/06 5:17 AM) Reply
Lovely coat. Very professional looking. Like the trim and buttons.
nicegirl said... (7/10/06 3:41 PM) Reply
Really neat! I have been thinking of making a trench, but too lazy to deal with the collar and lining aspects of it. I feel a bit inspired...
Ronda Rae said... (7/10/06 12:47 PM) Reply
Wonderful review. I could almost visualize you making it. I love this jacket, too. I have one similar on the back burner for this fall. I'm procrastinating it because I have to match the herringbone material.>love the jacket! Ronda
sideseams said... (7/10/06 11:38 AM) Reply
I just love your coat and the button detail. It is a great pattern for petites. Because of your review I will also try this pattern (I am 5'2").
Frogstitcher said... (7/10/06 11:27 AM) Reply
nitwit; to answer your question, I hand-basted a cotton batiste to my main garment fabric and fuse interfaced a light weight tricot to the cotton batiste. My fabric just wasn't firm enough to hold its shape.
bunz said... (7/10/06 10:58 AM) Reply
You got a very classic and classy coat out of this "lab" fabric (I don't agree w dd). Great review.
Rhoda K said... (7/10/06 10:55 AM) Reply
Good looking coat and good review. One question, or am I not reading correctly. You stated that you . . .hand-basted then interfaced . . . I'm confused.
Doris W. in TN said... (7/10/06 10:46 AM) Reply
Your coat looks great. I bought this pattern last year after reading several positive reviews. ;-) I hope to make it one day.
Seamingly Simple said... (7/10/06 10:42 AM) Reply
Thanks for the thorough review. The straight, vertical lines of this pattern are a superb choice to elongate a petite figure. The fabric sounds like it was difficult to work with: no give or ease to it all all. Kudos to you for persevering and finishing the coat 8 months before spring!
carolynw said... (7/10/06 10:30 AM) Reply
Very nice - if I get started on one now I may have it ready for Fall - or perhaps next Spring? Will certainly be adding this pattern to my stash - thanks for a great review
cindyann said... (7/10/06 10:29 AM) Reply
Lovely coat! The beaded buttons are so pretty. I'm sure you will get a lot of use from this coat.
Mary Stiefer said... (7/10/06 9:29 AM) Reply
What a classic trench coat. You've done a wonderful job. I love the buttons and the beads in the center just make it all your own. Great job.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

New Look 6003

photo
by: ak21

Review
Sew House Seven Alberta Street Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Sew House Seven Alberta Street Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Pattern Details