SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> 05 (Drape Front T)

Viewed 1652 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 272 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/06 5:10 PM
Last Updated:11/5/06 5:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Experience and playing with a pattern like you did, results in a fantastic top.Thanks for sharing.
7/8/06 5:19 PM
purpleseamstress said...
This is a beautiful top with an interesting and original fit. The results of this top are what sewing is all about, coming up with something one of a kind that fits well. I like the way the arms of this blouse are done and the fitted look with the soft drapey cowl. Gives a soft elegant look but retains the feminine shape of the chest area.
7/8/06 6:12 PM
Tailypo said...
Fantastic job! I have a DVF top with a similar drape front but it is practically unwearable because bras always show at the dart/pleat. Your version is much nicer than Diane's!!!
7/8/06 6:23 PM
ConnieBJ said...
I am impressed - that looks wonderful.
7/8/06 6:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your process sounds like so much fun. The top is original and lovely. I can't wait to see the silk one. Please be sure to post an update!
7/8/06 6:52 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful top!!
7/8/06 7:40 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
a tailored cowl neck ... who would have thought? Lovely design, surprised I have nto seen this in the pattern catalogs/magazines.
7/8/06 8:30 PM
Em's Summer said...
This cowl neck top is very pretty, and so is the pale yellow shade of your fabric! Thanks for this great review!
7/8/06 9:41 PM
Liana said...
Very interesting neckline! I can't wait to see your new versions.
7/9/06 2:37 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow! Thanks for the patternmaking inspiration, this one is totally stunning..
7/9/06 4:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a great looking top! You are becoming PMB savvy. Really very creative and I can't wait to see your next version.
7/9/06 7:42 AM
JDpenelope said...
Pleased? I'd be proud as punch had I drafted this gorgeous and challenging top. Just purchased this software and am a long way from what you have accomplished here.
7/9/06 7:47 AM
MaryBeth said...
I definitely applaud using the PMB software for this type of project. Even though it takes lots of extra time the results are great. I'll be staying tuned!
7/9/06 8:18 AM
Mariko said...
Kay Y, great trial! I love to read other PR members' experiments on self-drafting. Look forward to seeing your silk jersey version!
7/9/06 11:19 AM
patsijean said...
Your top is stunning and quite original. Kudos to you.
7/9/06 11:44 PM
BeckyW said...
Very pretty!!
7/11/06 10:03 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your new silk jersey top is gorgeous. The neckline drape is perfect.
11/5/06 5:28 PM
Karla Kizer said...
What a great top. It fits beautifully and the drape is concentrated exactly where it will show when worn with a jacket. I printed out your review and the pattern front you linked to. I hope you consider imitation to be the best form of flattery.
11/5/06 5:38 PM
mClones said...
What a timely review for me as I have just completed the HotPatterns Renaissance top a few reviews below. Your controlled cowl/drape neck is a much more flattering. Would you know of a commercial pattern that would approximate your original design?
11/5/06 5:53 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That's a cool top. I'm going to try it out using my TNT t-shirt pattern. Thanks for sharing!
11/5/06 6:23 PM
BeckyC said...
Wow! The neckline is fabulous! I missed this review the first time around and am really sorry I did. You did a great job on the neckline -- I love the drape -- so unique. Thank you for sharing!
11/5/06 10:27 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Love it!
11/6/06 0:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 8323

photo
by: marie elis...

Review
Other LCC quilt

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now