SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> 05 (Drape Front T)

Viewed 1652 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 272 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/06 5:10 PM
Last Updated:11/5/06 5:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Experience and playing with a pattern like you did, results in a fantastic top.Thanks for sharing.
7/8/06 5:19 PM
purpleseamstress said...
This is a beautiful top with an interesting and original fit. The results of this top are what sewing is all about, coming up with something one of a kind that fits well. I like the way the arms of this blouse are done and the fitted look with the soft drapey cowl. Gives a soft elegant look but retains the feminine shape of the chest area.
7/8/06 6:12 PM
Tailypo said...
Fantastic job! I have a DVF top with a similar drape front but it is practically unwearable because bras always show at the dart/pleat. Your version is much nicer than Diane's!!!
7/8/06 6:23 PM
ConnieBJ said...
I am impressed - that looks wonderful.
7/8/06 6:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your process sounds like so much fun. The top is original and lovely. I can't wait to see the silk one. Please be sure to post an update!
7/8/06 6:52 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful top!!
7/8/06 7:40 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
a tailored cowl neck ... who would have thought? Lovely design, surprised I have nto seen this in the pattern catalogs/magazines.
7/8/06 8:30 PM
Em's Summer said...
This cowl neck top is very pretty, and so is the pale yellow shade of your fabric! Thanks for this great review!
7/8/06 9:41 PM
Liana said...
Very interesting neckline! I can't wait to see your new versions.
7/9/06 2:37 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow! Thanks for the patternmaking inspiration, this one is totally stunning..
7/9/06 4:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a great looking top! You are becoming PMB savvy. Really very creative and I can't wait to see your next version.
7/9/06 7:42 AM
JDpenelope said...
Pleased? I'd be proud as punch had I drafted this gorgeous and challenging top. Just purchased this software and am a long way from what you have accomplished here.
7/9/06 7:47 AM
MaryBeth said...
I definitely applaud using the PMB software for this type of project. Even though it takes lots of extra time the results are great. I'll be staying tuned!
7/9/06 8:18 AM
Mariko said...
Kay Y, great trial! I love to read other PR members' experiments on self-drafting. Look forward to seeing your silk jersey version!
7/9/06 11:19 AM
patsijean said...
Your top is stunning and quite original. Kudos to you.
7/9/06 11:44 PM
BeckyW said...
Very pretty!!
7/11/06 10:03 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your new silk jersey top is gorgeous. The neckline drape is perfect.
11/5/06 5:28 PM
Karla Kizer said...
What a great top. It fits beautifully and the drape is concentrated exactly where it will show when worn with a jacket. I printed out your review and the pattern front you linked to. I hope you consider imitation to be the best form of flattery.
11/5/06 5:38 PM
mClones said...
What a timely review for me as I have just completed the HotPatterns Renaissance top a few reviews below. Your controlled cowl/drape neck is a much more flattering. Would you know of a commercial pattern that would approximate your original design?
11/5/06 5:53 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That's a cool top. I'm going to try it out using my TNT t-shirt pattern. Thanks for sharing!
11/5/06 6:23 PM
BeckyC said...
Wow! The neckline is fabulous! I missed this review the first time around and am really sorry I did. You did a great job on the neckline -- I love the drape -- so unique. Thank you for sharing!
11/5/06 10:27 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Love it!
11/6/06 0:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Burda 7359

photo
by: LTC

Review
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now