SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 2576 (Vintage House Dress)

Viewed 3260 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/06 5:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mirza said...
I love the back of the dress. It would be cute as the front with that wrap. It looks lovely on Brunhilde.
7/8/06 6:05 PM
ZenOnWheels said...
I love the lines of this dress. Maybe a version without the rickrack and adapt the back to lose the buttons and instead incorporate a tie that wraps to the front? I'm still chuckling over the size 14/32 bust. Vintage indeed!
7/8/06 6:36 PM
bunz said...
Great marriage of fabric and pattern!
7/8/06 6:53 PM
Ronda Rae said...
That's nice. I have that material in my stash!
7/8/06 6:53 PM
BJ1400 said...
I love the dress! I like the back, the fabric & the front neckline.
7/8/06 7:00 PM
CarolynGM said...
It's a cute dress. ZenOnWheels' suggestions for wrapped ties and different or no trim might help you feel less self-conscious in it or another version of it. In the meantime, Brunhilde is very well-dressed.
7/8/06 7:03 PM
drsue said...
40's for sure. Probably 43-46 would be my guess. You should at least wear it around the house. Its probably quite comfortable. I love these house dress patterns. So much easier to put on a wrap dress than jeans and tee shirt IMHO.
7/8/06 7:06 PM
Stargirl7 said...
I really like it. I hope you find a place to wear it. If not, we all have those stay-at-home days when we can wear things we'd never wear out. Maybe if you got some fab shoes to go with it.
7/8/06 7:27 PM
Tiner W said...
That's such a cute and fun dress!
7/8/06 8:48 PM
busyozmum said...
What a shame you don't feel 'comfortable' wearing it. I clicked on the picture and immediately thought it was gorgeous! I was surprised when I got to the end of your review and read that you don't think you'll wear it. May be in more subtle fabric and trim?? What d'ya reckon?? I think it's TOO cute. ;o)
7/8/06 9:26 PM
Em's Summer said...
Don't you just love the vintage words they used back then. Of course, I mean, deltor. :-) And your dress is simply peachy keen! Soo very lovely! Thanks for this great review!
7/8/06 9:37 PM
ccris said...
I like that dress. I think it's cute, rick rack and all. Doesn't much look like a house dress to me. Guess that's what they wore in the 40's, though. If you have enough fabric, try making a sash. Maybe you'll like it better. I think you did a great job.
7/8/06 9:51 PM
MaryBeth said...
How pretty. I can see it on you.
7/8/06 10:00 PM
Erica B. said...
very pretty
7/8/06 10:18 PM
Mini said...
Definitely 40's, and still cute today! My mom had dresses like these in her closet, and the streamlined skirt design reflects the fabric shortages of WW2. Fashions had to be simplified to accomodate rationing, but sometimes that was more elegant than a lot of designer frills. Retro is so in, you really ought to give the dress a public wearing at least once-bet you get some compliments too:)!
7/8/06 10:31 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Very cute, I beginning to understand the appeal of the vintage patterns. The dress as is just seems so "pure".
7/8/06 11:20 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, I like the fabric, trim and the back is wonderful.
7/9/06 0:49 AM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks, everyone. I do like the dress. I might wear it in a few days to see how I feel about it after it "ages" a bit... It makes me smile to walk into the sewing room and see it on Brunhilde.
7/9/06 7:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Dress looks great and you, like Kay Y, have become masters of PMB. I still struggle along and stay will simple! I think you will wear the dress well, vintage is so in right now, wear that rickrack with pride.
7/9/06 7:50 AM
MaryBeth said...
Oh good, I'm glad you're going to give it a go. What is it about rickrack??? I always get a "lift" when I see it or wear it.
7/9/06 8:26 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is a wonderful project. The enjoyment of sewing is why we are all members of this site.
7/9/06 10:18 AM
patsijean said...
I agree with everyone else. I love that vintage 40's styling. The dress is great.
7/9/06 11:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 4440

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review
Other Craftsy

photo
by: House of P...

Review
Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now