Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 2576 (Vintage House Dress) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 3258 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 60 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/06 5:55 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mirza said...
I love the back of the dress. It would be cute as the front with that wrap. It looks lovely on Brunhilde.
7/8/06 6:05 PM
ZenOnWheels said...
I love the lines of this dress. Maybe a version without the rickrack and adapt the back to lose the buttons and instead incorporate a tie that wraps to the front? I'm still chuckling over the size 14/32 bust. Vintage indeed!
7/8/06 6:36 PM
bunz said...
Great marriage of fabric and pattern!
7/8/06 6:53 PM
Ronda Rae said...
That's nice. I have that material in my stash!
7/8/06 6:53 PM
BJ1400 said...
I love the dress! I like the back, the fabric & the front neckline.
7/8/06 7:00 PM
CarolynGM said...
It's a cute dress. ZenOnWheels' suggestions for wrapped ties and different or no trim might help you feel less self-conscious in it or another version of it. In the meantime, Brunhilde is very well-dressed.
7/8/06 7:03 PM
drsue said...
40's for sure. Probably 43-46 would be my guess. You should at least wear it around the house. Its probably quite comfortable. I love these house dress patterns. So much easier to put on a wrap dress than jeans and tee shirt IMHO.
7/8/06 7:06 PM
Stargirl7 said...
I really like it. I hope you find a place to wear it. If not, we all have those stay-at-home days when we can wear things we'd never wear out. Maybe if you got some fab shoes to go with it.
7/8/06 7:27 PM
Tiner W said...
That's such a cute and fun dress!
7/8/06 8:48 PM
busyozmum said...
What a shame you don't feel 'comfortable' wearing it. I clicked on the picture and immediately thought it was gorgeous! I was surprised when I got to the end of your review and read that you don't think you'll wear it. May be in more subtle fabric and trim?? What d'ya reckon?? I think it's TOO cute. ;o)
7/8/06 9:26 PM
Em's Summer said...
Don't you just love the vintage words they used back then. Of course, I mean, deltor. :-) And your dress is simply peachy keen! Soo very lovely! Thanks for this great review!
7/8/06 9:37 PM
ccris said...
I like that dress. I think it's cute, rick rack and all. Doesn't much look like a house dress to me. Guess that's what they wore in the 40's, though. If you have enough fabric, try making a sash. Maybe you'll like it better. I think you did a great job.
7/8/06 9:51 PM
MaryBeth said...
How pretty. I can see it on you.
7/8/06 10:00 PM
Erica B. said...
very pretty
7/8/06 10:18 PM
Mini said...
Definitely 40's, and still cute today! My mom had dresses like these in her closet, and the streamlined skirt design reflects the fabric shortages of WW2. Fashions had to be simplified to accomodate rationing, but sometimes that was more elegant than a lot of designer frills. Retro is so in, you really ought to give the dress a public wearing at least once-bet you get some compliments too:)!
7/8/06 10:31 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Very cute, I beginning to understand the appeal of the vintage patterns. The dress as is just seems so "pure".
7/8/06 11:20 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, I like the fabric, trim and the back is wonderful.
7/9/06 0:49 AM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks, everyone. I do like the dress. I might wear it in a few days to see how I feel about it after it "ages" a bit... It makes me smile to walk into the sewing room and see it on Brunhilde.
7/9/06 7:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Dress looks great and you, like Kay Y, have become masters of PMB. I still struggle along and stay will simple! I think you will wear the dress well, vintage is so in right now, wear that rickrack with pride.
7/9/06 7:50 AM
MaryBeth said...
Oh good, I'm glad you're going to give it a go. What is it about rickrack??? I always get a "lift" when I see it or wear it.
7/9/06 8:26 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is a wonderful project. The enjoyment of sewing is why we are all members of this site.
7/9/06 10:18 AM
patsijean said...
I agree with everyone else. I love that vintage 40's styling. The dress is great.
7/9/06 11:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2009-113 Shorts
photo
Review by Kbenco on 2/21/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8151 Todays Fit
photo
Review by Peggy L on 2/7/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1395 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1395 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us