Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 450 (450 Nancy's Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1680 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Elaray
photo
About Elaraystarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/20/05
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/06 2:50 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Elaray - hang this at the back of the closet for a week or two and then re-evaluate. The style looks really nice on you. Thanks for an honest review!!!
7/10/06 3:02 PM
elizajo said...
In the photo, it looks great! Is it possible to rip out the side seams and the darts, and lower the apex of the dart enough to make you happier with the fit?
7/10/06 3:10 PM
Celeste said...
Looks very nice! You could probably make it exactly the same size in a poly jersey and with just a little stretch you might think it's just perfect!
7/10/06 3:13 PM
ccris said...
Very nice detailed review. I like the fabric, colors, and the coordinating fabric on the yoke. Very pretty. It looks especially nice with your khaki or stone colored pants. I agree with Peggy L about putting it away for a week and then re-evaluating. I hope you'll like it better by then. Even though it's snugger than you usually like, it doesn't look too tight.
7/10/06 3:22 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - when I looked at the picture I thought "what a cute top" and then I read " did not work for me". I think it looks great. If it's a bit tight and you feel uncomfortable in public - wear this at home. I'm betting you will get lots of compliments. Just take what you learned about this pattern and make a second one that "will work" for you.
7/10/06 3:30 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Perhaps you can hold up the next cup size against you to see if that fits better? If it is tight in the upper back as well, than maybe the size was not quite right for your body. I agree with the other comments, though. It does look nice on you and that a knit or stretch woven this would probably be perfect for you. But in the end, no matter what PR says, you have to like it. So, follow your heart on this and carry on. I like your approach to your reviews as an avenue for self improvement in sewing and fit.
7/10/06 4:01 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Well, yes, it looks more fitted than what you usually wear. But it looks nice, really :-). And I especially think that the shoulders are good on you. The shoulder seam is supposed to be on that bone at the end of the shoulder, and that's exactly where it looks like it sits on you. I also vote for a week in the back of the closet, followed by gradual public introduction. I think you'll be surprised by how many compliments you get. If nothing else, the fabrics are truly great, I love that softer take on stripes, and the colors look like they suit you totally.
7/10/06 4:02 PM
PixieCat said...
I have this pattern and appreciate the tips. I agree, it's difficult getting used to the sizing on these patterns. I still always check the shoulder measurement and am surprised that I have to add to them as well, it's usually the other way around. Your top looks very nice and I love the stripes. Your yolk turned out very nice.
7/11/06 4:04 PM
AnneM said...
Great fabric combination. It isn't nearly as bad on you as you think. Pull it back out of your closet & you will probably like it more. The armscye might be a little low although I'm not a really good judge of that yet. Thanks for the info on the poor quality control for this pattern.
8/25/06 3:15 PM
idesign said...
Thanks for this helpful review, Elaray. I bought this pattern and also am in a plus size. I'll reread your review before making it in a muslin.
9/20/11 4:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 4920
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 2/5/12
Read Review

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6435 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by wendybirde on 4/13/12
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us