Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4428 (Misses Shrugs and Capes) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1732 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/06 9:39 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
artist1lisa said...
Awesome.This jacket is beautful.I like the lining also.Thanks for a great review and tips.
7/11/06 10:13 PM
sewbehind said...
The person who came up with this idea should contact Simplicity and draft a new design. This one is way more timeless than the one on the pattern envelope. I have liked all the versions. Ingenious is right! Congratulations on a wonderful garment.
7/11/06 10:29 PM
RobynB said...
Gorgeous, Belinda. As usual, I admire your tenacity in achieving the perfect outcome!
7/11/06 10:56 PM
Judy Williment said...
Oooh - noice one! That is one gorgeous jacket.
7/11/06 11:21 PM
PatM said...
Your jacket is lovely! You have done so much work making muslins, fitting and altering patterns, and the final shrug shows this. Your shrug has good fit, and the original tucks and shaping. You deserve lotsof compliments when you wear it.
7/11/06 11:25 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Really lovely!
7/11/06 11:29 PM
Skye said...
Crickey! - that's a beaut jacket. I like the lining too :)
7/11/06 11:41 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It's a beautiful, very flattering garment.
7/11/06 11:47 PM
deesdee said...
Absolutley love this!!
7/11/06 11:51 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Belinda! The trials and muslins paid off..you have a timeless classic :))
7/11/06 11:55 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Fabulous!! I love seeing the changes you worked through by using your dressform.
7/12/06 0:02 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great Belinda! I have now ordered this pattern.......
7/12/06 0:22 AM
Lori V said...
Great Belinda.
7/12/06 0:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great shrug/bolero. You did a fantastic job of fitting and drafting. I love your lining fabric also.
7/12/06 5:28 AM
jlg said...
Wow!
7/12/06 6:02 AM
StephW said...
Very impressive. Thanks for the great review.
7/12/06 8:40 AM
Kay Y said...
This is an extremely informative and helpful review. I think you have captured the essence of what Simplicity was aiming at - but didn't quite hit!
7/12/06 8:56 AM
Rhoda K said...
Just beautiful!
7/12/06 8:59 AM
cindyann said...
I love it! Thank you for the excellent review.
7/12/06 9:55 AM
JDpenelope said...
Not your average shrug, here.
7/12/06 10:43 AM
PegL said...
Gorgeous shrug! Love the details. Excellent review!!
7/12/06 11:34 AM
j222b said...
Love the shrug. Do you like your pretty red dress form? Who is it manufactured by?
7/12/06 2:19 PM
ccris said...
Oh my, this is just gorgeous. You did a fabulous job. Great review, too!
7/12/06 3:14 PM
ChristineS said...
Fabulous result Belinda - all the hard work beforehand was worth it.
7/12/06 9:28 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Your shrug is beautiful! And so is your lining. Thanks for the detailed review & the pictures. You did a nice job. :)
7/14/06 9:32 PM
LiZ said...
Great review. It is a lovely Shrug. Is this fabric a knit or is it the woven wool/cashmere blend? I missed this review ealier.
8/1/06 5:34 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Knitter, the fabric is a wool/cashmere/ blend (woven). It is a lovely soft fabric.
8/2/06 2:20 AM
Markie1 said...
What a gorgeous outcome to an amazing project. I am so inspired. I feel a little out of my depth, but I am going to try to make this jacket as conscientously as you have. Thanks for the great, detailed review.
11/15/06 3:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 4014 Dress and Coat
photo
Review by usbeckers on 12/30/12
Read Review

McCalls 3274 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3274 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1595 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1595 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8529
photo
Review by Blooms on 9/6/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us