SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4428 (Misses Shrugs and Capes)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1732 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/06 9:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 26 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
artist1lisa said...
Awesome.This jacket is beautful.I like the lining also.Thanks for a great review and tips.
7/11/06 10:13 PM
sewbehind said...
The person who came up with this idea should contact Simplicity and draft a new design. This one is way more timeless than the one on the pattern envelope. I have liked all the versions. Ingenious is right! Congratulations on a wonderful garment.
7/11/06 10:29 PM
RobynB said...
Gorgeous, Belinda. As usual, I admire your tenacity in achieving the perfect outcome!
7/11/06 10:56 PM
Judy Williment said...
Oooh - noice one! That is one gorgeous jacket.
7/11/06 11:21 PM
PatM said...
Your jacket is lovely! You have done so much work making muslins, fitting and altering patterns, and the final shrug shows this. Your shrug has good fit, and the original tucks and shaping. You deserve lotsof compliments when you wear it.
7/11/06 11:25 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Really lovely!
7/11/06 11:29 PM
Skye said...
Crickey! - that's a beaut jacket. I like the lining too :)
7/11/06 11:41 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It's a beautiful, very flattering garment.
7/11/06 11:47 PM
deesdee said...
Absolutley love this!!
7/11/06 11:51 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Belinda! The trials and muslins paid off..you have a timeless classic :))
7/11/06 11:55 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Fabulous!! I love seeing the changes you worked through by using your dressform.
7/12/06 0:02 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great Belinda! I have now ordered this pattern.......
7/12/06 0:22 AM
Lori V said...
Great Belinda.
7/12/06 0:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great shrug/bolero. You did a fantastic job of fitting and drafting. I love your lining fabric also.
7/12/06 5:28 AM
jlg said...
Wow!
7/12/06 6:02 AM
StephW said...
Very impressive. Thanks for the great review.
7/12/06 8:40 AM
Kay Y said...
This is an extremely informative and helpful review. I think you have captured the essence of what Simplicity was aiming at - but didn't quite hit!
7/12/06 8:56 AM
Rhoda K said...
Just beautiful!
7/12/06 8:59 AM
cindyann said...
I love it! Thank you for the excellent review.
7/12/06 9:55 AM
JDpenelope said...
Not your average shrug, here.
7/12/06 10:43 AM
PegL said...
Gorgeous shrug! Love the details. Excellent review!!
7/12/06 11:34 AM
j222b said...
Love the shrug. Do you like your pretty red dress form? Who is it manufactured by?
7/12/06 2:19 PM
ccris said...
Oh my, this is just gorgeous. You did a fabulous job. Great review, too!
7/12/06 3:14 PM
ChristineS said...
Fabulous result Belinda - all the hard work beforehand was worth it.
7/12/06 9:28 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Your shrug is beautiful! And so is your lining. Thanks for the detailed review & the pictures. You did a nice job. :)
7/14/06 9:32 PM
LiZ said...
Great review. It is a lovely Shrug. Is this fabric a knit or is it the woven wool/cashmere blend? I missed this review ealier.
8/1/06 5:34 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Knitter, the fabric is a wool/cashmere/ blend (woven). It is a lovely soft fabric.
8/2/06 2:20 AM
Markie1 said...
What a gorgeous outcome to an amazing project. I am so inspired. I feel a little out of my depth, but I am going to try to make this jacket as conscientously as you have. Thanks for the great, detailed review.
11/15/06 3:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Colette Patterns Meringue

photo
by: Jennely

Review
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now