SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4428 (Misses Shrugs and Capes)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1736 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 226 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/06 9:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 26 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Markie1 said...
What a gorgeous outcome to an amazing project. I am so inspired. I feel a little out of my depth, but I am going to try to make this jacket as conscientously as you have. Thanks for the great, detailed review.
11/15/06 3:22 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Knitter, the fabric is a wool/cashmere/ blend (woven). It is a lovely soft fabric.
8/2/06 2:20 AM
LiZ said...
Great review. It is a lovely Shrug. Is this fabric a knit or is it the woven wool/cashmere blend? I missed this review ealier.
8/1/06 5:34 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Your shrug is beautiful! And so is your lining. Thanks for the detailed review & the pictures. You did a nice job. :)
7/14/06 9:32 PM
ChristineS said...
Fabulous result Belinda - all the hard work beforehand was worth it.
7/12/06 9:28 PM
ccris said...
Oh my, this is just gorgeous. You did a fabulous job. Great review, too!
7/12/06 3:14 PM
j222b said...
Love the shrug. Do you like your pretty red dress form? Who is it manufactured by?
7/12/06 2:19 PM
PegL said...
Gorgeous shrug! Love the details. Excellent review!!
7/12/06 11:34 AM
JDpenelope said...
Not your average shrug, here.
7/12/06 10:43 AM
cindyann said...
I love it! Thank you for the excellent review.
7/12/06 9:55 AM
Rhoda K said...
Just beautiful!
7/12/06 8:59 AM
Kay Y said...
This is an extremely informative and helpful review. I think you have captured the essence of what Simplicity was aiming at - but didn't quite hit!
7/12/06 8:56 AM
StephW said...
Very impressive. Thanks for the great review.
7/12/06 8:40 AM
jlg said...
Wow!
7/12/06 6:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great shrug/bolero. You did a fantastic job of fitting and drafting. I love your lining fabric also.
7/12/06 5:28 AM
Lori V said...
Great Belinda.
7/12/06 0:27 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great Belinda! I have now ordered this pattern.......
7/12/06 0:22 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Fabulous!! I love seeing the changes you worked through by using your dressform.
7/12/06 0:02 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Belinda! The trials and muslins paid off..you have a timeless classic :))
7/11/06 11:55 PM
deesdee said...
Absolutley love this!!
7/11/06 11:51 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It's a beautiful, very flattering garment.
7/11/06 11:47 PM
Skye said...
Crickey! - that's a beaut jacket. I like the lining too :)
7/11/06 11:41 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Really lovely!
7/11/06 11:29 PM
PatM said...
Your jacket is lovely! You have done so much work making muslins, fitting and altering patterns, and the final shrug shows this. Your shrug has good fit, and the original tucks and shaping. You deserve lotsof compliments when you wear it.
7/11/06 11:25 PM
Judy Williment said...
Oooh - noice one! That is one gorgeous jacket.
7/11/06 11:21 PM
RobynB said...
Gorgeous, Belinda. As usual, I admire your tenacity in achieving the perfect outcome!
7/11/06 10:56 PM
sewbehind said...
The person who came up with this idea should contact Simplicity and draft a new design. This one is way more timeless than the one on the pattern envelope. I have liked all the versions. Ingenious is right! Congratulations on a wonderful garment.
7/11/06 10:29 PM
artist1lisa said...
Awesome.This jacket is beautful.I like the lining also.Thanks for a great review and tips.
7/11/06 10:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Burda 7423

photo
by: HRigg

Review
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now