SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2006-106 (Wrap Front Dress)

Viewed 1698 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/06 7:50 PM
Last Updated:7/15/06 10:47 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingBunny said...
The fabric really suits the style, and works well with the asymetrical hem. Great job!
7/14/06 7:55 PM
bunz said...
I agree - great marriage of fabric and design!
7/14/06 8:12 PM
sewfan said...
Very pretty dress. Looks great on you!
7/14/06 8:21 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking dress.
7/14/06 8:24 PM
Erica B. said...
what a gorgeous dress!
7/14/06 9:09 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, style and fabric.
7/14/06 9:32 PM
ACB said...
Your dress and fabric is beautiful!
7/14/06 10:35 PM
Seaspur said...
Your dress is absolutely gorgeous!
7/14/06 11:31 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
WOW!!!! this was one of the best things in that mag, congrats:-) Marita
7/15/06 1:09 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful and so stylish.. and looks so wonderful on you :))
7/15/06 4:30 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress.
7/15/06 7:04 AM
blue mooney said...
bee-you-ti-full!
7/15/06 7:59 AM
Julie Culshaw said...
Ditto, that's a lovely dress. Looks great on you. Julie
7/15/06 8:58 AM
CarolynGM said...
Just lovely. What is the back of the dress like? It looks kind of like a halter, but not quite.
7/15/06 9:22 AM
ndesimon said...
that dress is absolute HEAVEN on you. fabulous fabulous job!
7/15/06 10:32 AM
Sandil said...
Kay, it looks so nice! Great job, I hope you bring it today!! Sandi
7/15/06 11:16 AM
Kelly D. said...
Lovely dress! I'll have to go back and give that pattern a second look in the magazine. Thanks for posting the review!
7/15/06 12:20 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely dress....I want one....
7/15/06 8:14 PM
pittysmom said...
Wow, that looks like you bought it, in one of those expensive boutiques on the beach! Wonderful fabric choice too...
7/16/06 0:33 AM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous dress, pretty fabric and well sewn as always!
7/16/06 6:31 PM
danglette said...
Wow, that is a beautiful dress! Thanks for the great review
7/17/06 5:36 AM
Liana said...
A wonderful summer dress!
8/6/06 7:35 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Two questions: RE: stabilizing the front edges and armscye - what size tape, are we talking about "steam-a-seam". I know people here have talked about using it on knits, but I'm not following how you used it here, because it sounds like you ALSO used bias strips (I assume out of your dress fabric. Did you reverse the crossover?
9/1/06 6:45 PM
Kay Y said...
The tape is not steam a seam but a lightweight woven tape which I think is marketed primarily to quilters. It is about 1/4 inch wide. I did use both tape and bias strips. I applied the tape first, to the wrong side of the edges of the dress which are bias and very unstable. The bias strips were applied like a facing and conceal the tape. I didn't reverse the crossover; the picture was taken in the mirror because I hadn't figured out the self-timer on my camera!
9/2/06 9:34 AM
greenandlilac said...
This dress is very pretty. RE what you said about patterns not fitting right: most patterns do not fit everybody and they need to be altered to fit you. There are a lot of books you can find at the library or at amazon.com. A good one is Fantastic Fit for Every Body by Gale Grigg Hazen.
4/17/08 1:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Silhouette Patterns 511

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now