Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4287 (Threads Collection) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 1185 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/06 7:09 PM
Last Updated:7/15/06 6:26 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
Oooh- it looks great! Thanks for the recommendation on this pattern. Dh would love for me to make him a new Hawaiian style shirt!
7/15/06 7:50 PM
Tiner W said...
Very nice! The shirt is nice, too! Someday I'd like to make one of these for my DH; thanks for the review!
7/15/06 8:48 PM
ccris said...
Very nice fit. What's a deep chest? Sorry, but I've never heard that description before. You did a great job on this shirt. Length looks really good on him, too.
7/15/06 9:28 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Phyllis -- you've used the print beautifully! I'll have to get that pattern, it has all the elements my DH really likes in a sport shirt. (I haven't made one for him in a long time.)
7/15/06 11:56 PM
Re Becca said...
Hah, what a pose! He sure seems to like it. I do love the fabric. I am making DH a shirt and he has a deep chest as well.
7/16/06 5:56 AM
blue mooney said...
Nice work, and thank you for the review! I bought this pattern to make the spouse guyaberas but haven't done it yet. I have compared the pattern pieces to ones we have bought in San Antonio and some of the RTW have the applied pintuck band, just like the pattern. Maybe someone in Florida can comment on authenticity. You inspire me to make this up.
7/16/06 7:22 AM
JDpenelope said...
Hubba, hubba! What a guy! Oh, and the shirt is nice too.
7/16/06 7:59 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Awesome shirt. DH looks great in it! -Ann
7/16/06 9:17 AM
slanden99 said...
Very nice shirt and I like your fun fabric. I was wondering about "deep chest" too?
7/16/06 9:21 AM
PhyllisC said...
"deep chest" - DH has a chest measurement that's within the large size range, but his shape is more egg-like than oval, so his front-to-back body thickness is "deep". The fix here was to horizontally slash the back yoke enough to make the hem of the yoke straight across his back. I forgot to add that I did make a muslin, which revealed that the bottom yoke hem curved up towards the back of his neck - this indicated he needed more length in the back of the shirt. If were making him something fitted like a jacket, I'd probably add more length in the front as well. I'll edit the review to add this info - thanks for asking!
7/16/06 9:53 AM
Georgene said...
Nice aloha shirt! I wonder how it compares to the KwikSew one? I like the fact that they give you several pattern variations in the envelope, and you gotta love the size range.
7/16/06 11:42 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Looks good! Lovely to make DH happy. Thanks for shawing this pattern, I never look at menswear otherwise :) but I like the Guayabera shirt too.
7/16/06 12:44 PM
cathy45 said...
Great shirt. Your DH is so handsome, too. Thanks for the "deep chest" info, same issue for my DH, which has had me hesitant to try to sew for him.
7/16/06 1:41 PM
ccris said...
PhyllisC., thanks for the explanation of "deep chest." I think you may be helping me solve a problems with my son's shirts. I understand the horizontal slashing of the back yoke, but I'm not clear as to where you slashed vertically on the front shirt. Center of one side, from bottom tapering up to shoulder, spreading it 3/4?" Am I visualizing correctly?
7/18/06 3:52 PM
PhyllisC said...
Yes exactly - The vertical slash added additional ease at his waist; I split the pattern about half way on the shoulder seam and opened it up in a upside down V. The width of the V at the waist should be 1/2 of the amount of extra room he needs (because you will cut two shirt fronts). My DH needed 1 1/2 inches, so I made a slash that was 3/4 inches wide at the waist. The general rule is: a vertical slash adds width. and a horizontal slash adds length.
7/18/06 5:50 PM
ccris said...
Thank you so much. It gives me renewed hope! Was totally stumped. Oh yeah! I'll be playing around with some quarter size patterns now. Does your hubby have problems with plaids or checks being wonky horizontally, like the vertical is on, but the horizontal is off?
7/18/06 6:15 PM
PhyllisC said...
Plaids are not a fave of his so I rarely sew them, but plaids in general have thier own set of challenges for just the reason you mention. You might want to start a thread on this on the boards because you'll want to hear from people with serious shirtmaking experience. (this wouldn't be me actually)
7/18/06 9:57 PM
mek42 said...
Thank's for this review. I'm just getting started, and it's good to know what patterns to think about as a first shirt. I have some beautiful blue linen waiting for me to be able to sew a shirt.
7/21/06 9:39 PM
AnneM said...
Looks like a great top, Phyllis.
10/10/06 12:10 PM
Kathi R said...
I'm finally getting around to redoing the hawaiian shirt patterns for the men in my life so that I'm working with yoke style shirts --- I pulled up this review from a response you posted to a fitting question a couple of years ago ... thanks for the review and thanks for PR, a very valuable repository of sewing info!
7/31/09 6:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 4123 Neck Pillow
photo
Review by Rikki23 on 3/16/11
Read Review

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used OCO001
photo
Review by Caitycat on 11/4/08
Read Review

McCalls 5824 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5824 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6762 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6762 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us