SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4287 (Threads Collection)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1188 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/06 7:09 PM
Last Updated:7/15/06 6:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
Oooh- it looks great! Thanks for the recommendation on this pattern. Dh would love for me to make him a new Hawaiian style shirt!
7/15/06 7:50 PM
Tiner W said...
Very nice! The shirt is nice, too! Someday I'd like to make one of these for my DH; thanks for the review!
7/15/06 8:48 PM
ccris said...
Very nice fit. What's a deep chest? Sorry, but I've never heard that description before. You did a great job on this shirt. Length looks really good on him, too.
7/15/06 9:28 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Phyllis -- you've used the print beautifully! I'll have to get that pattern, it has all the elements my DH really likes in a sport shirt. (I haven't made one for him in a long time.)
7/15/06 11:56 PM
Re Becca said...
Hah, what a pose! He sure seems to like it. I do love the fabric. I am making DH a shirt and he has a deep chest as well.
7/16/06 5:56 AM
blue mooney said...
Nice work, and thank you for the review! I bought this pattern to make the spouse guyaberas but haven't done it yet. I have compared the pattern pieces to ones we have bought in San Antonio and some of the RTW have the applied pintuck band, just like the pattern. Maybe someone in Florida can comment on authenticity. You inspire me to make this up.
7/16/06 7:22 AM
JDpenelope said...
Hubba, hubba! What a guy! Oh, and the shirt is nice too.
7/16/06 7:59 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Awesome shirt. DH looks great in it! -Ann
7/16/06 9:17 AM
slanden99 said...
Very nice shirt and I like your fun fabric. I was wondering about "deep chest" too?
7/16/06 9:21 AM
PhyllisC said...
"deep chest" - DH has a chest measurement that's within the large size range, but his shape is more egg-like than oval, so his front-to-back body thickness is "deep". The fix here was to horizontally slash the back yoke enough to make the hem of the yoke straight across his back. I forgot to add that I did make a muslin, which revealed that the bottom yoke hem curved up towards the back of his neck - this indicated he needed more length in the back of the shirt. If were making him something fitted like a jacket, I'd probably add more length in the front as well. I'll edit the review to add this info - thanks for asking!
7/16/06 9:53 AM
Georgene said...
Nice aloha shirt! I wonder how it compares to the KwikSew one? I like the fact that they give you several pattern variations in the envelope, and you gotta love the size range.
7/16/06 11:42 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Looks good! Lovely to make DH happy. Thanks for shawing this pattern, I never look at menswear otherwise :) but I like the Guayabera shirt too.
7/16/06 12:44 PM
cathy45 said...
Great shirt. Your DH is so handsome, too. Thanks for the "deep chest" info, same issue for my DH, which has had me hesitant to try to sew for him.
7/16/06 1:41 PM
ccris said...
PhyllisC., thanks for the explanation of "deep chest." I think you may be helping me solve a problems with my son's shirts. I understand the horizontal slashing of the back yoke, but I'm not clear as to where you slashed vertically on the front shirt. Center of one side, from bottom tapering up to shoulder, spreading it 3/4?" Am I visualizing correctly?
7/18/06 3:52 PM
PhyllisC said...
Yes exactly - The vertical slash added additional ease at his waist; I split the pattern about half way on the shoulder seam and opened it up in a upside down V. The width of the V at the waist should be 1/2 of the amount of extra room he needs (because you will cut two shirt fronts). My DH needed 1 1/2 inches, so I made a slash that was 3/4 inches wide at the waist. The general rule is: a vertical slash adds width. and a horizontal slash adds length.
7/18/06 5:50 PM
ccris said...
Thank you so much. It gives me renewed hope! Was totally stumped. Oh yeah! I'll be playing around with some quarter size patterns now. Does your hubby have problems with plaids or checks being wonky horizontally, like the vertical is on, but the horizontal is off?
7/18/06 6:15 PM
PhyllisC said...
Plaids are not a fave of his so I rarely sew them, but plaids in general have thier own set of challenges for just the reason you mention. You might want to start a thread on this on the boards because you'll want to hear from people with serious shirtmaking experience. (this wouldn't be me actually)
7/18/06 9:57 PM
mek42 said...
Thank's for this review. I'm just getting started, and it's good to know what patterns to think about as a first shirt. I have some beautiful blue linen waiting for me to be able to sew a shirt.
7/21/06 9:39 PM
AnneM said...
Looks like a great top, Phyllis.
10/10/06 12:10 PM
Kathi R said...
I'm finally getting around to redoing the hawaiian shirt patterns for the men in my life so that I'm working with yoke style shirts --- I pulled up this review from a response you posted to a fitting question a couple of years ago ... thanks for the review and thanks for PR, a very valuable repository of sewing info!
7/31/09 6:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

McCall's 6038

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now