SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 9876 (Shirt dress/blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1405 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/06 10:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lis K said...
Love the look of this blouse. Especially the shoulder treatment. I would love to use a Marfy pattern but I'm too small. Thanks for your help.
4/6/08 2:19 PM
Liana said...
Don't know how I missed this! It looks great, and I love your stripe variations!
5/7/07 9:50 AM
AnneM said...
catching up on reviews: Great grain adjustment; love the effect. Nic eidea to change this into a blouse.
11/24/06 2:10 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debra, this is lovely. You are so adventurous with stripes! I love what you do with Marfty, but alas they don't make them small enough for me. Thanks for the extra photos :)
7/22/06 10:59 PM
Pat T said...
Great job of seeing design potential using stripes to fully use the pattern pieces -- and this wasn't obvious from the line drawings. This makes me wish Marfy worked for me and my small upper frame. (And I know that Debra did this from start to finish in less than a week -- when she bought the buttons 6 days ago too she hadn't cut it out yet!)
7/22/06 11:36 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a great blouse! -Ann
7/22/06 11:26 AM
MaryBeth said...
Ahhhhh, that's a great garment!!! That's also one of the Marfy patterns that I thought I might order (no time to order, much less sew, so far)
7/22/06 11:01 AM
PhyllisC said...
Love it in seersucker - a brilliant fabric choice!
7/22/06 10:48 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I would have never considered this pattern without your review. You have a wonderful eye for design. Thanks for all your contributions.
7/22/06 10:15 AM
OP Gal said...
Once again, a wonderfully detailed review and beautiful garment. However, I will take exception to your description of yourself as Rubenesque. I wouldn't call you remotely Rubenesque, and believe me, I'm intimately acquainted with Rubenesque. :-)
7/22/06 10:10 AM
meanjean said...
This top is adorable! You've got a flair for creativity and it makes this top absolutely gorgeous.
7/22/06 9:53 AM
Riordan said...
Beautiful blouse--impeccably made!! Your colors are always so great, too!
7/22/06 8:42 AM
jbrewer said...
This is so impressive! You really have quite a talent. Great job.
7/22/06 8:00 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Debra ! Wonderful use of fabric and design elements.
7/22/06 6:59 AM
CarolynGM said...
Well done. Very unique and interesting garment.
7/22/06 6:54 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking shirt. I love the way you mixed up the directions of the stripes.
7/22/06 6:49 AM
PixieCat said...
Wow! Absolutely gorgeous! It's amazing how you used the stripes to turn a very nice blouse into a visually stunning blouse. Your reviews are always so inspirational!
7/22/06 5:23 AM
els said...
Fabulous blouse and a great way of using the stripes.
7/22/06 3:10 AM
Em's Summer said...
Very nice use of stripes! And a great review, too!
7/22/06 0:38 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful! You did a great job on this. Great review.
7/21/06 11:53 PM
Celeste said...
I am so in love with your blouse! You and I must be very similarly shaped, as I find that when I do back darts they have to go way up like yours; also very narrow upper back, sway back, C-D bust....
7/21/06 11:50 PM
Lori V said...
Wow, great blouse, the stripes make it so much more interesting.
7/21/06 11:18 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks lovely. The stripes addd so much more interest to this cute little pattern. You've done it again.
7/21/06 11:07 PM
lmg said...
Just beautiful...trying to psych myself to do a Marfy pattern. Thanks for the review
7/21/06 11:06 PM
AliceB said...
WOW, I love your use of stripes to set off various elements of the design increasing visual interest. Thanks :)
7/21/06 10:47 PM
BjP said...
Wow...fabulous shirt and most definitely unique. Very interesting use of stripes. This would be way too advanced for me, but I applaud your abilities. Just a marvelous looking shirt in every aspect!
7/21/06 10:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1258

photo
by: tigergirl

Review
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: LauraHarka...

Review
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

More Info
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

More Info