SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5111 (Garbo Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1969 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancasterstar
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/06 2:56 PM
Last Updated:2/16/08 4:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Verrry interesting that the pattern is no longer on Loes' website. I betcha there was a drafting or sizing error, because the description said there was supposed to be three inches of bust ease and five for the hip. That doesn't sound like your experience!
7/22/06 4:27 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Elona, View B's ease is supposed to be 2", with 3" at the bust. I'd say it has about 1/2" ease at the hip (probably not true--more like an inch). But my tummy has "fluff," and that might be throwing things off. Sigh. The shoulders fit the way they're supposed to, and the bust ease is about right, it's just those darn hips!
7/22/06 4:33 PM
Tiner W said...
It's beautiful--a shame the sizing was off.
7/22/06 5:01 PM
drsue said...
Too bad, but thank you for the helpful review.
7/22/06 6:28 PM
tlmck3 said...
It's so gorgeous Debbie! Can't you wear it as a blouse with a camisole or short tank top (one that ends above your hips -- maybe out of a silk lycra or silk knit for the "slide over the outcroppings" help it can give) for modesty if need be? It's too stunning to give up on. (I hate LH's seam allowances being so tiny for just this reason. No room for error.)
7/22/06 7:55 PM
Mini said...
Thanks for an honest review-you are helping other sewers avoid a problem.
7/22/06 9:32 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
It's a shame you don't like this one. You did a great job of matching the front pieces. It looks very nice but if it doesn't work for you then, it doesn't. Someone will surely love this.
7/22/06 11:14 PM
beangirl said...
awww, bummer, it looks so pretty (well, it's made out of the fabric mart fabric I intended to buy and then was gone before I got around to it LOL). I guess we'll have to wait and see if the other view fits better. A nice gift for someone, though!
7/22/06 11:17 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket and you did such a great job matching up the front piece. Very helpful information you shared.
7/23/06 7:36 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Debbie - It would be a shame to give up on this jacket. Why not insert a godet in the hip area on the side seams? I have done this more than once and, the one time anyone noticed, thought it was a wonderful design detail.
7/23/06 4:05 PM
Georgene said...
Debbie, maybe you could save this beautiful jacket by making it have side slits? I love the CF matching.
7/23/06 6:26 PM
AnneM said...
Catching up on reviews: It looks really pretty in the picture. Shame it doesn't fit the way you would like.
11/24/06 2:20 PM
Athene said...
The picture looks great and you did such a wonderful job of matching the pattern in the front.
2/16/08 7:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Vogue Patterns 1127

photo
by: Sewtox

Review
Vogue Patterns 1170

photo
by: saranoemi

Review
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now