SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5111 (Garbo Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1972 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancasterstar
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/06 2:56 PM
Last Updated:2/16/08 4:56 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
The picture looks great and you did such a wonderful job of matching the pattern in the front.
2/16/08 7:09 PM
AnneM said...
Catching up on reviews: It looks really pretty in the picture. Shame it doesn't fit the way you would like.
11/24/06 2:20 PM
Georgene said...
Debbie, maybe you could save this beautiful jacket by making it have side slits? I love the CF matching.
7/23/06 6:26 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Debbie - It would be a shame to give up on this jacket. Why not insert a godet in the hip area on the side seams? I have done this more than once and, the one time anyone noticed, thought it was a wonderful design detail.
7/23/06 4:05 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket and you did such a great job matching up the front piece. Very helpful information you shared.
7/23/06 7:36 AM
beangirl said...
awww, bummer, it looks so pretty (well, it's made out of the fabric mart fabric I intended to buy and then was gone before I got around to it LOL). I guess we'll have to wait and see if the other view fits better. A nice gift for someone, though!
7/22/06 11:17 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
It's a shame you don't like this one. You did a great job of matching the front pieces. It looks very nice but if it doesn't work for you then, it doesn't. Someone will surely love this.
7/22/06 11:14 PM
Mini said...
Thanks for an honest review-you are helping other sewers avoid a problem.
7/22/06 9:32 PM
tlmck3 said...
It's so gorgeous Debbie! Can't you wear it as a blouse with a camisole or short tank top (one that ends above your hips -- maybe out of a silk lycra or silk knit for the "slide over the outcroppings" help it can give) for modesty if need be? It's too stunning to give up on. (I hate LH's seam allowances being so tiny for just this reason. No room for error.)
7/22/06 7:55 PM
drsue said...
Too bad, but thank you for the helpful review.
7/22/06 6:28 PM
Tiner W said...
It's beautiful--a shame the sizing was off.
7/22/06 5:01 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Elona, View B's ease is supposed to be 2", with 3" at the bust. I'd say it has about 1/2" ease at the hip (probably not true--more like an inch). But my tummy has "fluff," and that might be throwing things off. Sigh. The shoulders fit the way they're supposed to, and the bust ease is about right, it's just those darn hips!
7/22/06 4:33 PM
Elona said...
Verrry interesting that the pattern is no longer on Loes' website. I betcha there was a drafting or sizing error, because the description said there was supposed to be three inches of bust ease and five for the hip. That doesn't sound like your experience!
7/22/06 4:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2010-105

photo
by: yoshimi

Review
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

More Info