SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Palmer Pletsch> 001 (Apron)

1 more reviews
Viewed 866 times 
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Learn To Sewstar
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/06 5:55 PM
Last Updated:6/26/08 7:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people    Off-topic by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
So sorry you had such a rough time with this one. Do you have any idea why it gaps??? Is it too much fabric ????
7/30/06 6:15 PM
Darla in PA said...
The apron looks very nice. Sorry, the pattern didn't work for you. From the discription that you're giving of the problem, it almost sounds like your looking for a bib instead of an apron. Try Wild Things it has an apron that you get to decide on the length, width, etc. Good luck finding a nice pattern.
7/30/06 8:11 PM
BeckyC said...
Your apron is so pretty! Don't give up on the pattern yet. Could it be that the top of the apron is just too wide for your upper chest? When you took pleats in the top you were narrowing the upper chest. Maybe you need to cut a smaller size. I have an apron like yours that I love to wear and the upper corners of the top (where the straps are sewn on) of the apron are directly above my bust point on my upper chest - no gapping. Experiment with some muslin if you want to keep using this pattern.
7/30/06 9:41 PM
RuthieSews said...
Your pattern photo links to a childs pattern, can you please correct to the real pattern. Thanks
7/31/06 3:12 AM
PVA said...
Carol, I love the fabric! There's a couple of ideas for making the pattern work in these comments. Put it away for awhile & do other stuff, (Let the frustration fade away). Then, when you're thinking in terms of making holiday gifts maybe it will spark some ideas for you. Thanks for the review!
7/31/06 11:02 AM
PVA said...
Carol, I love the fabric! There's a couple of ideas for making the pattern work in these comments. Put it away for awhile & do other stuff, (Let the frustration fade away). Then, when you're thinking in terms of making holiday gifts maybe it will spark some ideas for you.
7/31/06 11:03 AM
Learn To Sew said...
Hmm. I'll have to tell Deepika she linked it wrong for me. The photo is the correct one. I'll see what I can do about the link. It should be to Palmer/Pletsch and not to baby stuff. Thanks for letting me know.
7/31/06 12:17 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Thank you, Deepika for fixing the link.
7/31/06 6:29 PM
Tinka said...
It is a beautiful color. I agree with the suggestion about a bib style apron, a separate top and bottom that are then sewn together might work better for you. I made a similar style to this for my sister, who is also full busted and she had a problem with the gaping at the top as well. There are some lovely vintage style apron patterns that might work better for you. Good luck!
7/31/06 8:06 PM
BeckyC said...
I'm so glad you're figuring out what needs to be changed to this pattern so it can work for you. If you make it again, please update your review so we can see the new one.
7/31/06 11:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Butterick 4571

photo
by: Cation Des...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 8061

photo
by: HRigg

Review