SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2006-129 (Petites Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1485 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/06 6:32 PM
Last Updated:8/6/06 6:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Boo97 said...
Kay this is one of the BEST reviews I have ever read. Your sewing skills are amazing!!! Thank you for sharing.
4/5/07 6:21 PM
Annette1 said...
If they had a "very, very helpful" button, I'm be punching it. This has got to be the classiest jacket I've seen for a long time. Your work is FLAWLESS. I love just looking at you detailed pictures. I agree: Make it as a shirt, too ... then make it again as a shirt ... then as a jacket ... as a shirt. :o) I'm pea green witih envy!
4/2/07 2:14 AM
SandraB said...
what a great looking jacket. You have inspired me to try this one, even though I am not a petite.
3/30/07 6:04 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Just saw this, great jacket and a really good review, thank you:-) Marita
11/8/06 3:56 AM
*Jessica* said...
omg looks perfect. wow your great at sewing
10/8/06 1:19 PM
SarahWeb said...
What could I add? Your jacket is absolutely stunning and your work is inspiring.
8/17/06 11:16 AM
patsijean said...
Beautiful..
8/9/06 3:46 PM
Ann Rowley said...
Fabulous jacket, beautifully constructed. I liked all the detailed photos you took and your excellent notes. The lengthening detail is especially helpful. And, of course, the piping!!
8/8/06 2:05 PM
stebo79 said...
Just beautiful! You did a great review with all the details and even fotos! Thank you!
8/8/06 2:02 PM
Riordan said...
Very beautiful jacket! Your work is exquisite, as always. Thank you for including the pictures, too!
8/7/06 9:53 PM
Sandil said...
Kay, looks great - wow you did a fantastic job!! Can't wait to see it in person to examine it in detail.
8/7/06 7:16 PM
PhyllisC said...
Great jacket and the big buttons are awesome - just perfect.
8/7/06 5:25 PM
Nancy K said...
This has got to be one of the most complete and helpful reviews I've seen. A beautiful jacket and magniificent sewing. Wow! Your elaboration on the different techniques is very helpful. By the way, I use my scanner and blow up the line drawing and instructions. It is very helpful
8/7/06 3:38 PM
cathy45 said...
WOW! Absolutely stunning!
8/7/06 2:57 PM
mistrydesigns said...
I can't believe my eyes. That is one awesome jacket! Looks like a pricey designer item. I wish someday to sew like that. Thank you for sharing it with us!
8/7/06 12:52 PM
Dobedowawa said...
Wonderful jacket, inspiring sewing! And thank you for a great review!
8/7/06 12:24 PM
Jeanninem said...
Beautiful jacket with great details, and although the topstitching was alot of work, it paid off. The jacket looks like you just bought it at Saks or Nieman's. It looks great on you.
8/7/06 11:58 AM
kmouse said...
What an absolutely woofy jacket and GREAT review!
8/7/06 10:55 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful jacket. Lovely details. Like the shoulder area. Looks like a jacket I just saw in Talbots. Great job and very informative review as always.
8/7/06 10:15 AM
cindyann said...
WOW, that is an amazing jacket. Being a petite, I'm so sorry that I don't have this BWOF issue. It's lines are well suited to petites. Your work is amazing and I really appreciate the detailed review.
8/7/06 10:12 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Wonderful work. The style lines of that jacket are really nice on you.
8/7/06 10:04 AM
Moxie said...
Wow, wow, wow! Beautiful jacket. Thanks for the excellent, detailed review.
8/7/06 9:44 AM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful jacket!
8/7/06 9:25 AM
PatM said...
Thank you for the comprehensive review. Your jacket does look beautiful. Your photo of the collar standwasv ery helpful as I was struggling with the collar on a jacket from a Burda magazine pattern. Your tailoring skills are superb!
8/7/06 8:58 AM
Ronda Rae said...
*sigh*- I pray my topstitching gets that beautiful some day! Gorgeous jacket and sewn to perfection. I was hoping as I was reading that you were labeled advanced or I was gonna have to move myself down a notch. :)
8/7/06 7:09 AM
MarilynB said...
This is a lovely jacket. Thank you for such a detailed review.
8/7/06 6:53 AM
Margie T said...
What a beautifully made jacket - I am envious!
8/7/06 5:35 AM
martinanne said...
Wonderful review!! And that is an amazingly beautiful jacket. GREAT JOB!!!
8/7/06 4:12 AM
MaryBeth said...
Lovely! Lovely! Lovely! Thanks for this review.
8/7/06 1:04 AM
jnamcd said...
So beautiful! I'm in awe!
8/6/06 11:26 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful work! Thanks for the detailed review and tips.
8/6/06 11:21 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful! Wonderful! Incredible detail in the review.
8/6/06 11:00 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I'm back to add that your idea of using this as an unlined blouse is brilliant. I'll make a blouse as the muslin. You have saved me *so* much time!
8/6/06 10:53 PM
Lori V said...
Oh, wow, that is stunning. You did a spectacular job.
8/6/06 10:44 PM
brrmm said...
Really great jacket with such lovely shaping. Great work and thanks for such an informative review.
8/6/06 10:16 PM
Robin Denning said...
Beautiful work!
8/6/06 8:25 PM
Seaspur said...
What a stunning jacket!
8/6/06 8:20 PM
Linda F said...
stunning!!
8/6/06 8:20 PM
BjP said...
Fabulous jacket and such a very thoughtful and helpful review!
8/6/06 8:18 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Absolutely suberb! Your work is impeccable. Thank you for all the wonderful detail and photos in your review. The fit is perfect. Bravo!
8/6/06 8:04 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Perfect jacket. Darn. I spent the afternoon crawling around on the floor, tracing a pattern. Now I have to convince my knees and hips they want to do it all over again. Thank you for pointing out all the beautiful details in it. Your jacket is gorgeous, and worth suffering for. (Now reaching for the Burda and a toxic-level dose of ibuprofen.... )
8/6/06 7:57 PM
drsue said...
wow, you did an amazing job!!! So the petite BWL's are shorter you say? I may have to subscribe. I found the BWL's too long on the old WOF petite mag. Perhaps they've resized.
8/6/06 7:30 PM
Celeste said...
Flawless!
8/6/06 7:28 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous, well thought out jacket. It looks great on you as well.
8/6/06 7:26 PM
CarolynGM said...
Georgeous and impeccably tailored. I'm so jealous of your absolutely perfect topstitching! Thanks for time you took to show us so many details about how you made this look so wonderful.
8/6/06 7:19 PM
Neana said...
Excellent job. It fits you so well. I'm definately impressed. Thanks for the review
8/6/06 7:15 PM
bunz said...
What an excellent review and beautiful jacket!
8/6/06 7:14 PM
AngieC said...
What a beautiful jacket! And it looks wonderful on you! Thanks for sharing.
8/6/06 7:01 PM
els said...
Beautiful made jacket and impecable sewing.
8/6/06 6:55 PM
Liana said...
What a beautiful jacket! Your work is always exemplary. Thanks for a wonderful review, too. I can see why you'd like to have it again, as a shirt or whatever. It's lovely on you and the fit is so perfect.
8/6/06 6:45 PM
CSM--Carla said...
What a professional looking jacket. I'm impressed! Thank you for sharing.
8/6/06 6:43 PM
Vonnevo said...
Wonderful result and excellent review. Thank you for all the extra details and photos.... they are much appreciated :))
8/6/06 6:43 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful jacket, so flattering on you. Great review too. Thanks for the extra details and pics.
8/6/06 6:42 PM
beth5646 said...
Beautiful, beautiful jacket. Thanks for the wonderful review.
8/6/06 6:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

McCall's 3393

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

More Info