SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2006-129 (Petites Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1484 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 185
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 174
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/06 6:32 PM
Last Updated:8/6/06 6:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
beth5646 said...
Beautiful, beautiful jacket. Thanks for the wonderful review.
8/6/06 6:38 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful jacket, so flattering on you. Great review too. Thanks for the extra details and pics.
8/6/06 6:42 PM
Vonnevo said...
Wonderful result and excellent review. Thank you for all the extra details and photos.... they are much appreciated :))
8/6/06 6:43 PM
CSM--Carla said...
What a professional looking jacket. I'm impressed! Thank you for sharing.
8/6/06 6:43 PM
Liana said...
What a beautiful jacket! Your work is always exemplary. Thanks for a wonderful review, too. I can see why you'd like to have it again, as a shirt or whatever. It's lovely on you and the fit is so perfect.
8/6/06 6:45 PM
els said...
Beautiful made jacket and impecable sewing.
8/6/06 6:55 PM
AngieC said...
What a beautiful jacket! And it looks wonderful on you! Thanks for sharing.
8/6/06 7:01 PM
bunz said...
What an excellent review and beautiful jacket!
8/6/06 7:14 PM
Neana said...
Excellent job. It fits you so well. I'm definately impressed. Thanks for the review
8/6/06 7:15 PM
CarolynGM said...
Georgeous and impeccably tailored. I'm so jealous of your absolutely perfect topstitching! Thanks for time you took to show us so many details about how you made this look so wonderful.
8/6/06 7:19 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous, well thought out jacket. It looks great on you as well.
8/6/06 7:26 PM
Celeste said...
Flawless!
8/6/06 7:28 PM
drsue said...
wow, you did an amazing job!!! So the petite BWL's are shorter you say? I may have to subscribe. I found the BWL's too long on the old WOF petite mag. Perhaps they've resized.
8/6/06 7:30 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Perfect jacket. Darn. I spent the afternoon crawling around on the floor, tracing a pattern. Now I have to convince my knees and hips they want to do it all over again. Thank you for pointing out all the beautiful details in it. Your jacket is gorgeous, and worth suffering for. (Now reaching for the Burda and a toxic-level dose of ibuprofen.... )
8/6/06 7:57 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Absolutely suberb! Your work is impeccable. Thank you for all the wonderful detail and photos in your review. The fit is perfect. Bravo!
8/6/06 8:04 PM
BjP said...
Fabulous jacket and such a very thoughtful and helpful review!
8/6/06 8:18 PM
Linda F said...
stunning!!
8/6/06 8:20 PM
Seaspur said...
What a stunning jacket!
8/6/06 8:20 PM
Robin Denning said...
Beautiful work!
8/6/06 8:25 PM
brrmm said...
Really great jacket with such lovely shaping. Great work and thanks for such an informative review.
8/6/06 10:16 PM
Lori V said...
Oh, wow, that is stunning. You did a spectacular job.
8/6/06 10:44 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I'm back to add that your idea of using this as an unlined blouse is brilliant. I'll make a blouse as the muslin. You have saved me *so* much time!
8/6/06 10:53 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful! Wonderful! Incredible detail in the review.
8/6/06 11:00 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful work! Thanks for the detailed review and tips.
8/6/06 11:21 PM
jnamcd said...
So beautiful! I'm in awe!
8/6/06 11:26 PM
MaryBeth said...
Lovely! Lovely! Lovely! Thanks for this review.
8/7/06 1:04 AM
martinanne said...
Wonderful review!! And that is an amazingly beautiful jacket. GREAT JOB!!!
8/7/06 4:12 AM
Margie T said...
What a beautifully made jacket - I am envious!
8/7/06 5:35 AM
MarilynB said...
This is a lovely jacket. Thank you for such a detailed review.
8/7/06 6:53 AM
Ronda Rae said...
*sigh*- I pray my topstitching gets that beautiful some day! Gorgeous jacket and sewn to perfection. I was hoping as I was reading that you were labeled advanced or I was gonna have to move myself down a notch. :)
8/7/06 7:09 AM
PatM said...
Thank you for the comprehensive review. Your jacket does look beautiful. Your photo of the collar standwasv ery helpful as I was struggling with the collar on a jacket from a Burda magazine pattern. Your tailoring skills are superb!
8/7/06 8:58 AM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful jacket!
8/7/06 9:25 AM
Moxie said...
Wow, wow, wow! Beautiful jacket. Thanks for the excellent, detailed review.
8/7/06 9:44 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Wonderful work. The style lines of that jacket are really nice on you.
8/7/06 10:04 AM
cindyann said...
WOW, that is an amazing jacket. Being a petite, I'm so sorry that I don't have this BWOF issue. It's lines are well suited to petites. Your work is amazing and I really appreciate the detailed review.
8/7/06 10:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful jacket. Lovely details. Like the shoulder area. Looks like a jacket I just saw in Talbots. Great job and very informative review as always.
8/7/06 10:15 AM
kmouse said...
What an absolutely woofy jacket and GREAT review!
8/7/06 10:55 AM
Jeanninem said...
Beautiful jacket with great details, and although the topstitching was alot of work, it paid off. The jacket looks like you just bought it at Saks or Nieman's. It looks great on you.
8/7/06 11:58 AM
Dobedowawa said...
Wonderful jacket, inspiring sewing! And thank you for a great review!
8/7/06 12:24 PM
mistrydesigns said...
I can't believe my eyes. That is one awesome jacket! Looks like a pricey designer item. I wish someday to sew like that. Thank you for sharing it with us!
8/7/06 12:52 PM
cathy45 said...
WOW! Absolutely stunning!
8/7/06 2:57 PM
Nancy K said...
This has got to be one of the most complete and helpful reviews I've seen. A beautiful jacket and magniificent sewing. Wow! Your elaboration on the different techniques is very helpful. By the way, I use my scanner and blow up the line drawing and instructions. It is very helpful
8/7/06 3:38 PM
PhyllisC said...
Great jacket and the big buttons are awesome - just perfect.
8/7/06 5:25 PM
Sandil said...
Kay, looks great - wow you did a fantastic job!! Can't wait to see it in person to examine it in detail.
8/7/06 7:16 PM
Riordan said...
Very beautiful jacket! Your work is exquisite, as always. Thank you for including the pictures, too!
8/7/06 9:53 PM
stebo79 said...
Just beautiful! You did a great review with all the details and even fotos! Thank you!
8/8/06 2:02 PM
Ann Rowley said...
Fabulous jacket, beautifully constructed. I liked all the detailed photos you took and your excellent notes. The lengthening detail is especially helpful. And, of course, the piping!!
8/8/06 2:05 PM
patsijean said...
Beautiful..
8/9/06 3:46 PM
SarahWeb said...
What could I add? Your jacket is absolutely stunning and your work is inspiring.
8/17/06 11:16 AM
*Jessica* said...
omg looks perfect. wow your great at sewing
10/8/06 1:19 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Just saw this, great jacket and a really good review, thank you:-) Marita
11/8/06 3:56 AM
SandraB said...
what a great looking jacket. You have inspired me to try this one, even though I am not a petite.
3/30/07 6:04 PM
Annette1 said...
If they had a "very, very helpful" button, I'm be punching it. This has got to be the classiest jacket I've seen for a long time. Your work is FLAWLESS. I love just looking at you detailed pictures. I agree: Make it as a shirt, too ... then make it again as a shirt ... then as a jacket ... as a shirt. :o) I'm pea green witih envy!
4/2/07 2:14 AM
Boo97 said...
Kay this is one of the BEST reviews I have ever read. Your sewing skills are amazing!!! Thank you for sharing.
4/5/07 6:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Self Drafted

photo
by: cweetgal

Review
Vogue Patterns 8543

photo
by: wordchick

Review
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now