SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> simple chic (no. 11: chiffon one-piece)

Viewed 1293 times 
Reviewed by:madhatter
photo

 
 
About madhatterstar
GERMANY
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/06 1:55 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marthamyers said...
This dress is just beautiful. Thanks for sharing. I have simplicity pattern 4291 that includes a blouse with similar lines - bodice on grain and skirt on bias. Now I'm wondering how it would be to simply lengthen the skirt to make a dress. I reviewed this Simplicity pattern here: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=14441. Do you think that would work? Thanks for the great review and book recommendation.
8/3/06 3:08 PM
Linda F said...
Beautiful dress, I will be interested to hear if the Simplicity pattern martha mentions will work as a substitute.
8/3/06 3:15 PM
jnamcd said...
Beautiful dress! Wonderful job making this from a Japenese book! I love that you wrapped the ribbon around the waist, too--I prefer that to the original! Lovely job!
8/3/06 3:29 PM
AliceB said...
Georgous dress!! You are so brave to make something from a Japanese book and have it turn out so well. :)
8/3/06 4:00 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a lovely dress.
8/3/06 4:28 PM
Annika said...
I just bought a Japanese pattern book and am thrilled to see your great results from something similar. Beautiful dress!
8/3/06 6:48 PM
ndesimon said...
awesome awesome awesome! I have the 'Made in NY' book by the same author, but have been too chicken to try any of the patterns - I assume the sizing runs small - how did you find the sizing?
8/3/06 6:50 PM
leigh7911 said...
I like! So very pretty.
8/4/06 0:03 AM
madhatter said...
thank you for your kind comments :) yes, i think the (wonderful!) top from martha would work. the breast area looks slightly different, but an empire waist is an empire waist in the end. sizes are pretty small in most japanese books, and the measurements given beneath the patterns are measurements for the finished dress. the patterns are made for small people and the proportions are different from "western" patterns. making a muslin the first times is very useful. once you "know" where you have to add or to alter, you can sew them without a muslin. i fit in those patterns, but i´m smaller than most people and i only wear an a-cup. if you have the "burda figure", you will have to adjust the pattern in length as well as in width.
8/4/06 9:41 AM
mrspenguin said...
I'm impressed that you made it from a Japanese pattern book! It's lovely.
8/4/06 11:54 AM
slanden99 said...
Very nice dress
8/4/06 1:24 PM
ccdcar said...
I have this beautiful books and some others by this author. Thanks for reviewing this--your dress is so beautiful. It is inspiring me to take the plunge.
8/4/06 1:26 PM
Erica B. said...
that dress is beautiful! Kudos to you!
8/4/06 10:56 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty dresss
8/6/06 7:18 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Gorgeous! I like the bodice detailing a lot. Very elegant looking.
8/8/06 8:58 PM
AnneM said...
Pretty, feminine dress.
1/29/07 12:28 PM
madhatter said...
thank you all :)
2/18/07 12:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2561

photo
by: KamiSue2

Review