SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> simple chic (no. 11: chiffon one-piece)

Viewed 1293 times 
Reviewed by:madhatter
photo

 
 
About madhatterstar
GERMANY
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/06 1:55 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
madhatter said...
thank you all :)
2/18/07 12:38 PM
AnneM said...
Pretty, feminine dress.
1/29/07 12:28 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Gorgeous! I like the bodice detailing a lot. Very elegant looking.
8/8/06 8:58 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty dresss
8/6/06 7:18 PM
Erica B. said...
that dress is beautiful! Kudos to you!
8/4/06 10:56 PM
ccdcar said...
I have this beautiful books and some others by this author. Thanks for reviewing this--your dress is so beautiful. It is inspiring me to take the plunge.
8/4/06 1:26 PM
slanden99 said...
Very nice dress
8/4/06 1:24 PM
mrspenguin said...
I'm impressed that you made it from a Japanese pattern book! It's lovely.
8/4/06 11:54 AM
madhatter said...
thank you for your kind comments :) yes, i think the (wonderful!) top from martha would work. the breast area looks slightly different, but an empire waist is an empire waist in the end. sizes are pretty small in most japanese books, and the measurements given beneath the patterns are measurements for the finished dress. the patterns are made for small people and the proportions are different from "western" patterns. making a muslin the first times is very useful. once you "know" where you have to add or to alter, you can sew them without a muslin. i fit in those patterns, but i´m smaller than most people and i only wear an a-cup. if you have the "burda figure", you will have to adjust the pattern in length as well as in width.
8/4/06 9:41 AM
leigh7911 said...
I like! So very pretty.
8/4/06 0:03 AM
ndesimon said...
awesome awesome awesome! I have the 'Made in NY' book by the same author, but have been too chicken to try any of the patterns - I assume the sizing runs small - how did you find the sizing?
8/3/06 6:50 PM
Annika said...
I just bought a Japanese pattern book and am thrilled to see your great results from something similar. Beautiful dress!
8/3/06 6:48 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a lovely dress.
8/3/06 4:28 PM
AliceB said...
Georgous dress!! You are so brave to make something from a Japanese book and have it turn out so well. :)
8/3/06 4:00 PM
jnamcd said...
Beautiful dress! Wonderful job making this from a Japenese book! I love that you wrapped the ribbon around the waist, too--I prefer that to the original! Lovely job!
8/3/06 3:29 PM
Linda F said...
Beautiful dress, I will be interested to hear if the Simplicity pattern martha mentions will work as a substitute.
8/3/06 3:15 PM
marthamyers said...
This dress is just beautiful. Thanks for sharing. I have simplicity pattern 4291 that includes a blouse with similar lines - bodice on grain and skirt on bias. Now I'm wondering how it would be to simply lengthen the skirt to make a dress. I reviewed this Simplicity pattern here: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=14441. Do you think that would work? Thanks for the great review and book recommendation.
8/3/06 3:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

New Look 6843

photo
by: MiniandMer...

Review

Pattern

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: Westy85

Review
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now