SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 124 (Bolivian Milkmaid Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1548 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 295
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/02 2:38 AM
Last Updated:11/6/02 3:01 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Margaret - many thanks for reviewing this pattern; I've always wondered about it because I think it's really interesting. One question: how snug is the fit? I can't tell if one could fit a blouse under it.
11/5/02 11:50 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
It is a little snug. A thin, not too full blouse would fit under it. I would not recommend bell sleeves or big cuffs because the jacket cuffs are pretty close-fitting.
11/5/02 7:38 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I love this pattern, and am currently making my third. Margaret, it's nice to know that there are other Folkwear enthusiasts out there! Your jacket sounds wonderfu. I actually do consider it a "wardrobe builder", but that's just the sort of person I am, I guess! I have one in black velvet with silver clasps for dress up, eggplant stretch velvet with more ordinary buttons to match a wool skirt (Folkwear walking skirt) which I wear to business meetings,and currently working on a black matte jersey version. I lengthened the peplum quite a lot to get a line that I liked, and have played with the necklines. In knits, the voluminous sleeves don't look huge, just graceful and interesting.
11/5/02 8:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karen Easter, could you share pictures of your work with us? please? very nice to see the pattern worked up. i have it in my stash, but haven't touched it yet.
11/6/02 3:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Margaret I never realised Folkwear has such pretty patterns. All your garments are lovely. Thanks for sharing.
11/6/02 10:28 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow! Now I want this one too! Beautiful jacket, Margaret.
11/6/02 11:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Margaret, I'm so glad you were able to post pictures! It's gorgeous! Karen Bowers, I'm trying to figure out how to put photos on the web... technology of that sort isn't one of my stronger suits! : )
11/6/02 11:28 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Margaret, that is really stunning! I am very impressed by the detail on the sleeve.
11/6/02 1:19 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for all the nice comments! Karen Easter, your versions sound really pretty. I've wanted to make something with metal clasps but couldn't think of a pattern to use...
11/8/02 2:39 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Margaret, one of the influences for the jacket I made with clasps is the "Delirium Jacket" offered at www.gypsymoon.com. I found it one night when I was following endless links from sewing sites just to see where they'd lead. Using the Folkwear pattern (keeping the sleeves as is) I made a V-neck and lengthened the peplum. I used five clasps, covering the same distance as the gypsymoon picture. Mine overlaps slightly in the front so it isn't necessary to wear a blouse or camisole under it. It attracts a lot of attention whenever I wear it! P.S. I am way shorter and wider than the illustration!
11/8/02 7:21 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Melinda Hull said...
Well as a result of reading this pattern review, I ordered four Folkwear patterns. Before I embark on cutting out my first attempt at this pattern, I thought I would ask a couple of questions. First, should I follow their sizes or RTW size?? I prefer to have things, particularly on top pretty fitted because I am short. Also I am thinking about using duppion with a charmeuse lining. Most of the materials that everyone has used seems to be heavier. I want to make one in velvet, but I have never worked in velvet. I do have all my settings working smoothly with duppion and feel comfortable working with it so I thought I would start with that. Any advice or comments would be greatly welcomed!!!
11/16/02 9:10 AM
Margaret said...
I've always followed their sizes, and they generally seem OK (not too big). RTW size probably would be much too small. I am talking about the older patterns, though (which includes this one). The newer ones may be different. In particular, the Greek Island Dress/ Afternoon Tea dress look like they could be big. GBACG has a couple of reviews of newer things. I think the duppion would be fine. One thing I forgot to mention is that the pattern does not tell you to use any interfacing (common for FW patterns). I cut some for the front/neck edges of the jacket (shaped the same way one would draw up a facing pattern) and for the cuffs and pocket flaps, and I think it helped. My fabric wasn't particularly stiff.
11/19/02 0:02 AM
Melinda Hull said...
Thanks Margaret for the comments. I have cut out most of the body and have put the back together. Since the duppion is really quite lightweight, I decided to interface the entire jacket with the expection of the sleeves. Hopefully by this weekend I will start tackling the sleeves which as you noted are HUGE when laid out. Perhaps if I am successful I will post my own review, but given that it is my first run through with this pattern, I would say it is only a 50/50 chance. Thanks again!!
11/20/02 12:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
McCall's 5934

photo
by: Vanclar

Review
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now