SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Ikina Jacket (Ikina Jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1394 times 
Reviewed by:PaulaM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About PaulaMstar
MD USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/06 10:37 PM
Last Updated:10/22/08 9:44 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewingmi said...
What a pretty jacket!
10/22/08 6:59 PM
LindsayT said...
Great fabric combinations!
10/22/08 11:47 AM
marthamyers said...
Your review was so helpful. Would you mind posting the picture again? I'd love to see it.
10/21/08 11:33 AM
Modiste Madness said...
This is the best one I have seen. The combination of fabrics, placement, and construction were perfect.
8/24/06 11:21 AM
PaulaM said...
AppleC, Wooden Wanda is one of two that were cut from a sheet of plywood. The person who owns her twin didn't need two, so she sold me Wanda. Unfortunately I don't have the pattern or the name of who made her.
8/24/06 7:44 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Wonderful choice of fabrics. Love that jacket!
8/23/06 3:54 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Super-great looking. I love what you've done with this pattern: I certainly agree that it is a slimming look the way you've put it together. Beautiful top.
8/23/06 10:43 AM
jewelea said...
A creative use of pattern and color.
8/22/06 11:48 PM
sew2little said...
What a beautiful jacket--and kudos to your sister in law for choosing such a great fabric combo!
8/22/06 3:17 PM
Sharon M said...
Oooo, I love your jacket.
8/22/06 10:05 AM
appleC said...
Wow! I love the fabric combination. I just browsed your Yahoo album and think you are very good in coordinating colors and fabrics. That Wooden Wanda is so cute; is it cumtom made or can I buy something like that somewhere? Thanks.
8/22/06 8:26 AM
PaulaM said...
Snaffles, the complete outfit is shown in the next picture beside the one posted with a link. However, the pants look a little strange on Wooden Wanda. DebraH, thanks for suggesting the pic being on SW's Web site. I'll send it to them. LindaL, yep, that was me at the ASG Convention. I don't know about you, but I had tons of fun at the convention!
8/22/06 8:07 AM
Lhan said...
Looks great! I have dithered about getting this pattern, but you have me almost convinced.
8/22/06 5:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Paula, I think I met you at the ASG National Conference in DC. As soon as I saw this review and fabric, I realized I had seen it before, as I set next to you for breakfast and commented favorably on your outfit. I truly love the mix of fabric. I then went and bought the pattern that day.
8/22/06 5:33 AM
Ann Smith said...
Very cool. I love the fabrics and I agree that the eye is drawn in. I didn't even notice the outer contrast panels at first.
8/22/06 1:40 AM
Debra H said...
This jacket should be on the Sewing Workshop website in their gallery. Very lovely use of fabrics.
8/21/06 11:29 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Excellent idea for the side panels! That darker/lighter contrast really works here. Gorgeous fabric combos...thanks for sharing this!
8/21/06 11:24 PM
snaffles said...
Your jacket is beautiful. And I think you're right about the slimming effect. My eyes didn't even see the side panels at first glance. I like the length also. And I'd love to see the complete outfit.
8/21/06 10:58 PM
mamacita said...
This is a lovely and unique jacket. Kudos to you!
8/21/06 10:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Figgy's Sewing for Boys

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Vogue Patterns 1285

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now