SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 201 (Prairie Dress)

Viewed 1430 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 295
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/02 3:14 AM
Last Updated:11/11/02 0:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I made this dress way back in the 70's. I was surprised at how huge it was. Pictures of 19th century women usually show them in their formal outfits that were very fitted on top and worn with tight corsets. This dress is what working women wore. They didn't have separate maternity wardrobes back then, so this kind of dress could be worn during pregnancy too. It was a really fun and educational project to sew.
11/5/02 10:47 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This brings back memories! I made one of maroon calico with a white vine pattern back when I was in high school in the late 70's, and loved wearing it to school until I was accused of wearing it to hide a pregnancy! I still wore it after that, and I probably still have it around. Thanks for bringing it up!
11/5/02 11:41 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made this dress a number of years ago as a maternity dress for a friend, and I think she liked it very much. I also made it recently for me out of flannel as a nightgown, and it worked very well. The only thing is that the sleeves are very high and a bit tight (something I have found with a lot of the Folkwear reproduction patterns, which of course is historically accurate.) Anyway it made a very nice Lanz style nightgown.
11/5/02 2:15 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've been attracted to this pattern as it seems to be on the wearable side of vintage. It would also work around the house for those of us who stay at home to some degree. You've inspired me to go ahead with this; thank you.
11/11/02 3:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Margaret said...
Yes, that sounds like a good idea. I think it would work well around the house. This reminds me, I have also seen some interesting vintage skirt clips (chains with one end to clamp onto the skirt like a clothespin and the other end to pin higher up on a dress) that were used to hold up long skirts while the wearer was walking up stairs with her arms full.
11/12/02 0:03 AM
kittiequeen said...
Thank you for your review. Especaily concerning the finished fit sans petticoats and amount of fabric needed. Am thinking that this could be a winter flannel nightgown. Kittiequeen
1/17/10 2:19 PM
Clev said...
I made this years ago in a blue calico and I still LOVE it. I wear it under an apron or jumper. It's a fantastic pattern.
3/10/10 3:13 PM
Margaret said...
I do think this could work well as a nightgown as well as a dress. Another nice thing about the pattern is that the construction methods used are sturdy, so it'll last.
3/11/10 9:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 1946

photo
by: Larisa

Review
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-117

photo
by: CynthiaSue

Review