SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5103 (Kimono Jacket)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1882 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/02 4:33 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Ann, I like your pattern choices very much. Your jacket is gorgeous and you wear it very well. It is on the top of my wish list now, together with the french country dress.
11/6/02 5:37 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, the collar doesn't really roll. the photo of the short version is not really informative, because the way the model is posed distorts the hang of the jacket. The collar stands up a bit at the back of the neck, but lies flat in front. I forget how many of these I have made, but all looked better when cut with a smaller size in the sleeves and shoulders. Yours is very elegant-like a vintage "smoking jacket."
11/6/02 10:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This jacket is on my wish list. I don't usually wear jackets but I love the way this one looks. Thanks so much for your informative review.
11/6/02 10:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This looks so nice. I think you wear this to a Christmas party or other semi-formal event.
11/6/02 11:14 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, this is so elegant on you!
11/6/02 11:37 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, I am also inspired to cut into my Kimono jacket. I have some "Persian Lamb" that I washed and is very soft and drapey. Maybe that will work. Thank you for your informative review and the heads up on the shoulder /arm.
11/6/02 2:40 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This is a lovely version of the jacket; looks great on you too! Nan
11/6/02 6:06 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've avoided L. Hinse patterns, even though people rave about them, because I don't think they'd look good on my body type, and I've heard they run small. I am going to try the Kimono jacket, as the style is just so interesting, simple, and flattering. Your sewing is beautiful, Ann! I always enjoy reading your reviews.
11/8/02 2:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Other Ruby Slip

photo
by: myraminx

Review
McCall's 5094

photo
by: kealoha

Review
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now