SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4207 (Mens shirts, shorts, belt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1991 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/06 1:15 AM
Last Updated:9/19/06 7:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Ah Debbie, I like that pattern. The shirt came out perfect and thanks for the link to make transfers. I think I could use this pattern for my DS. He's growing like a weed.
9/19/06 2:32 AM
dreamdesigner said...
I'm so impressed with the whole thing! The coverstitch, the design, the APPLICATION of the design! WOW!
9/19/06 2:41 AM
Vonnevo said...
Cool Debbie! The Tshirt is a great example of what can be done with a plain and simple design. Looking forward to seeing DS's smiling photo :))
9/19/06 4:13 AM
brrmm said...
Thanks Debbie for a great review. This T looks great - better than rtw by far.
9/19/06 5:18 AM
Peggy L said...
Great shirt! Love the coverstitching. You better watch out or you'll have his friends lining up at the door.
9/19/06 6:05 AM
CarolynGM said...
Nice idea for the reverse coverstitching. It's especially striking on this raglan style.
9/19/06 6:18 AM
Lori V said...
Great t-shirt Debbie. Thanks for pointing out this pattern, it looks like a great one. I bet your ds will be thrilled. Good luck on your dh's shirt.
9/19/06 7:10 AM
sewsue said...
Thanks for the tip about reverse cover stitching, it looks great.
9/19/06 7:32 AM
Nickle said...
Great shirt- I can see why your DH wants one.
9/19/06 8:24 AM
PegL said...
What a great looking T-Shirt! Another very informative review too!
9/19/06 8:26 AM
pterion said...
This looks terrific. I really like the contrast coverstitching. I've been on a men's T-shirt quest and the sizing on Kwik Sew patterns has been making me aggravated. I'll have to check this out!
9/19/06 9:54 AM
DrBarb said...
Debbie, can/will your DS give permission for me to use that saying on another shirt? My DD's BF is playing college football for the first time, is very homesick, and kind of intimidated by the oher players on his team. He could really use that as support.
9/19/06 9:55 AM
Donna H said...
Awesome construction! I'm am totally impressed. Gotta get a coverstitch machine! Thanks for this review.
9/19/06 10:01 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very cool shirt. I love the coverstitching.
9/19/06 10:59 AM
dvazz said...
That looks so RTW (only better!)
9/19/06 11:14 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Gotta love that hair!
9/19/06 12:11 PM
Stacy Sews said...
This looks FANTASTIC! I have been wanting a coverstitch machine for some time, and now I have to have one! The shirt looks great and I love the transfer!
9/19/06 12:42 PM
Debbie Cook said...
DrBarb, Sure! DS would be thrilled. Hope you can post a pic when yours is done.
9/19/06 12:50 PM
slanden99 said...
Wow, you really made this ordinary t-shirt something extraordinary. The contrast neckband, transfers, and the converstitching really "make" the shirt.
9/19/06 12:51 PM
Skymom said...
I never look at the men's patterns, but I'll definitely be buying this one. And again, all I can say is, your son is the cutest football player ever.
9/19/06 12:59 PM
Erica B. said...
Debbie, that shirt is awesome. It looks like you bought it in a store! Fabulous job, I hope your son loves it!
9/19/06 2:48 PM
SewLimited said...
I hope I can get my new coverstitch machine to do that well for the reverse effect!
9/19/06 2:51 PM
PVA said...
Mega-Dittos to all of the above! The shirt is just only great! The reverse coverstitch looks very professional as opposed to RTW which usually does not. Your work is meticulous & your sons are very lucky guys.
9/19/06 5:00 PM
JDpenelope said...
Your shirt is great, but it's even better that your son and husband appreciate your fine work. Have also done the reverse converstitching to add interest to simple designs. Yours is jim-dandy.
9/19/06 5:31 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You're one smart cookie making that pattern work for DS and DH. Great job on both.
9/19/06 8:28 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great tees Debbie!
9/19/06 11:16 PM
Irene Q said...
Two great shirts!! Love all the details on such a simple pattern. But when are you going to make custom labels instead of recycling old ones? :-) With a name like Cook you (and DS) should be able to come up with something fun. Cool Cookin'? Fully Cooked?
9/20/06 10:48 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Love everything about your shirts! I have had my eye on this pattern for my older two boys, but now I'm convinced to grab it when it goes on sale. Thanks for all the wonderful info! :-)
9/20/06 1:32 PM
Hilary said...
Debbie, both shirts look really good-love the inside-out cover stitching! And I agree your son came up with some great ideas for a one of a kind shirt, too! Thanks for the review and all the pics. I really like your DH's shirt too, nice color (and sleeve label).
10/10/06 4:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: Aroura

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-146

photo
by: tiadia

Review