Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1041 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1393 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/06 10:46 PM
Last Updated:9/19/06 10:46 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynD said...
I have been looking at Marfy patterns. Your jacket looks cute, I think it is a very nice look. Very stylish. Good job. It is amazing what you know when you are forced to figure it out. Wow Marfy just assumes that its customers really know what they are doing! Do you just throw on an extra half inch when you cut in all areas?
9/19/06 11:37 PM
Levone said...
Great looking jacket!
9/19/06 11:52 PM
Ingiepops said...
Your jacket looks amazing, you must be very pleased! Great to hear Marfy patterns are so well drafted. One day I will take the plunge and try one!
9/20/06 3:02 AM
Nancy K said...
I bought the pattern book but haven't taken the 'plunge' yet, so I read every Marfy review with great interest. The jacket looks flattering and fits well the shoulder pads should make it perfect. What are your usual adjustments?
9/20/06 6:43 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Thanks for the review! I'm intimidated by Marfy but you've made me realise that I just did a very similar WOF jacket and I hardly even looked at those instructions so it's probably not as big a leap as I think...
9/20/06 7:13 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Your jacket is so beautiful!
9/20/06 8:14 AM
Kay Y said...
If there is one Marfy pattern in the book that I want, this is the one, so your review is timely. The jacket looks really good and I hope you get to the wool one soon, with pictures for us.
9/20/06 8:25 AM
touran said...
How very beautiful. These patterns are really worth the effort, and your jacket just looks great.
9/20/06 8:59 AM
SBanks said...
Really nice! Looks really great in the corduroy. I'm going to have to add some Marfy's to my list of patterns to make.
9/20/06 9:48 AM
cindyann said...
Very nice jacket! I've been meaning to take the Marfy plunge. Glad to know it went together so well.
9/20/06 10:02 AM
lmg said...
Can anyone help me. I put in the shoulder pads, but I still have some wrinkles there in the right shoulder. Could I have one shoulder higher than the other? I usually adjust for my narrow and swayback which usually result in a good shoulder fit.
9/20/06 11:03 AM
OP Gal said...
Wonderful jacket. Thanks for the review. Maybe I'll reach the Marfy level some day.
9/20/06 11:12 AM
Donna H said...
Beautiful results and WITHOUT directions??? Sheesh, you guys amaze me!
9/20/06 11:46 AM
maryfrana said...
You are so brave and the results are wonderful. I have yet to take the Marfy plunge but your review inspire me.
9/20/06 12:58 PM
Re Becca said...
Cool, this one is on my must order list! I also have sewn a Marfy jacket with saddle sleeves and I had to fiddle with the fit by maybe 3/8 inch total to keep the wrinkles out, and I didn't put in shoulder pads. You did and awesome job, especially in stretch corduroy! The fabric would scare me more than the pattern! Welcome to the Marfy bandwagon...
9/20/06 5:13 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Love the pattern! You did a great job. Can't wait for the "real" version.
9/20/06 8:50 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Very nice looking jacket! I love that collar.
9/25/06 9:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Vogue Patterns V1137
photo
Review by stitchywit... on 6/26/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2603
photo
Review by NC Carol on 1/23/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2373 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2373 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1695 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1695 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us