SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2051 

Viewed 1053 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 295
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/02 1:19 PM
Last Updated:11/12/02 1:44 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Margaret, thanks for the heads-up on the centre-back seam. I have this on the drawingboard for DD. It does sound as though the ripples might be caused by the biast. Did you stabilize the zipper area? I wonder, if you did if the stabilizer kept the seam area from stretching out when the bias relaxed. Could you change the grain and cut this out of a knit? It's such a cute style. I love the neckline.
11/10/02 8:49 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Margaret said...
I did try to ease the back seam into the zipper a little because I read that this keeps zippers from rippling. I think the curve in the CB really does make it worse if there is not enough room in the back, especially because I am short-waisted. I did shorten the waist length but I think the CB was still too long for me. Anyway, I think this could also be made from a knit. I did turn another Vogue bias-cut dress pattern (OOP, I think) into a knit nightgown, and that worked pretty well.
11/12/02 0:49 AM
said...
Wow, Margaret, this is a really pretty dress. Do you walk around with your arms raised? Just kidding. Anyhow, I think this is lovely.
11/13/02 11:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Margaret said...
Thanks! I don't usually. ;-) I'm thinking about making a shrug that would hide the fitting problem, though (I have a shrug pattern and I haven't been able to figure out what to do with it). Alternatively, I might take out the zipper (ugh) and try gathering the excess somewhere along the CB, which might also disguise the slight lack-of-ease problem.
11/14/02 2:39 AM
candyo said...
thanks, i think i won't bother making this one... seems like more trouble than it's worth.
3/7/03 0:13 AM
cookie said...
I'm a beginner who just recently completed this pattern. I have the some weird thing going on in the back too. Looks great in the front though. I've decided to just wear my hair down to hide the back.
6/5/03 2:59 PM
Lizzy said...
I bought this pattern on impulse yesterday - then looked up your review. The necklines and sleeves appealed to me - after reading your comments I think I'll go straight to trying it with a knit and taking some of the curviness out of the seams. Your navy dress looks so pretty but that back zipper area is a real stinker. It may not be too late to rescue it. It looked just like a dress I made for myself about 35 yrs. ago. I loved the design, I loved the fabric but the back zipper area was awful. In those days $$ were so tight that it was also a financial disaster. Tears+++. My neighbour & sewing buddy had studied couture in France for 7 yrs. and served as an apprentice with a Brussels coutourier befor emigrating to Canada with her husband. She brow beat me into doing the unthinkable - picking out everyone of those stitches and re-inserting the zipper by hand-stitching with a tiny back-stitch. (we are still friends). I don't remember all the details of her supervision & instruction but it worked and I got a lot of mileage & compliments on that dress. I've managed to avoid most bias stuff since-managed to overlook it on this pattern though.
10/31/03 2:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 8837

photo
by: Graca

Review
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now