SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 501 (Past Patterns)

Viewed 1113 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/02 1:44 PM
Last Updated:11/21/02 3:33 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
LDT2011 -- also keep in mind that there's some variation in the Past Patterns. The older patterns are printed on the large blueprint-like paper. I think the patterns she's made more recently are printed on the usual pattern tissue and have separate instruction sheets. Then there are the "attic copies" which are reprints of vintage patterns -- those just have whatever instructions came with the original pattern, which may not amount to much. Those are usually the four-digit-numbered patterns, and there will be a note on each pattern's webpage that it's a reprint with possibly limited instructions. Also, there are more Past Patterns reviews on gbacg.org.
12/10/11 8:36 AM
LDT2011 said...
I've always wondered how the past pattern patterns were to sew. There doesn't seem to be a lot of reviews of them.
12/9/11 7:06 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks, I do like this design and I think I will try it again (but will add darts next time). Hmm, I bet it could make a cute kid jumper too if sized down...
11/21/02 7:45 PM
Nan said...
Margaret, I think it looks very cute, actually...I love the idea of this as a nightgown, it could also be a cool swimsuit coverup
11/21/02 6:37 PM
Dale C said...
I have no cat, but a little bird that likes to chew things up when she's allowed out of her cage. I like these old style patterns and have seen a whole bunch of them on the Harper House website (www.longago.com). I always wondered about the fit, whether it was updated for the modern body. Thanks for the tip, it's something to consider when ordering those older styles.
11/21/02 5:34 PM
Margaret said...
This cat is now 9, but still needs to be watched. He is often found under sewing project hems looking shifty...
11/21/02 3:35 PM
starlene said...
I liked your cat comment, it made me laugh out loud. My cat used to do things like that when he was younger - aah, the joys of hosting a cat!!!!
11/21/02 10:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 06-2011-117A

photo
by: KristinAnn

Review
MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: CosmicCaro

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now