Online Sewing Class: Clone Your Favorite Garment
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Other> 501 (Past Patterns)

Viewed 1115 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews: 298 (patterns: 277)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 52 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/02 1:44 PM
Last Updated:11/21/02 3:33 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said... (12/10/11 8:36 AM) Reply
LDT2011 -- also keep in mind that there's some variation in the Past Patterns. The older patterns are printed on the large blueprint-like paper. I think the patterns she's made more recently are printed on the usual pattern tissue and have separate instruction sheets. Then there are the "attic copies" which are reprints of vintage patterns -- those just have whatever instructions came with the original pattern, which may not amount to much. Those are usually the four-digit-numbered patterns, and there will be a note on each pattern's webpage that it's a reprint with possibly limited instructions. Also, there are more Past Patterns reviews on gbacg.org.
LDT2011 said... (12/9/11 7:06 AM) Reply
I've always wondered how the past pattern patterns were to sew. There doesn't seem to be a lot of reviews of them.
Margaret said... (11/21/02 7:45 PM) Reply
Thanks, I do like this design and I think I will try it again (but will add darts next time). Hmm, I bet it could make a cute kid jumper too if sized down...
Nan said... (11/21/02 6:37 PM) Reply
Margaret, I think it looks very cute, actually...I love the idea of this as a nightgown, it could also be a cool swimsuit coverup
Dale C said... (11/21/02 5:34 PM) Reply
I have no cat, but a little bird that likes to chew things up when she's allowed out of her cage. I like these old style patterns and have seen a whole bunch of them on the Harper House website (www.longago.com). I always wondered about the fit, whether it was updated for the modern body. Thanks for the tip, it's something to consider when ordering those older styles.
Margaret said... (11/21/02 3:35 PM) Reply
This cat is now 9, but still needs to be watched. He is often found under sewing project hems looking shifty...
starlene said... (11/21/02 10:15 AM) Reply
I liked your cat comment, it made me laugh out loud. My cat used to do things like that when he was younger - aah, the joys of hosting a cat!!!!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2100

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details