Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
KnipMode Magazine: 8/2005 #9a (Gathered V-neck) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1272 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/06 8:58 PM
Last Updated:10/3/06 9:13 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PegL said...
Very pretty top and I still love the color! Vincent should take lessons from you -- your sleeves look great! Very helpful review....good to see you doing one again! I've missed you lately!
10/3/06 9:29 PM
Peggy L said...
I like the color, too. Very nice. Fun to see two reviews from you in one day!
10/3/06 9:49 PM
Lori V said...
That is a great top.
10/3/06 9:53 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh I really like that top! Maybe Katharine should go into business translating patterns, hint hint Katharine! LOL Enjoy your new top! :-)
10/3/06 10:07 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Leslie, can you give more detail on how to use the elastic thread?
10/3/06 10:11 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Lorna, I just followed the instructions on the packaging: handwind the elastic thread onto the bobbin, use regular thread on top. Use a long stitch length. Sew along the line to be gathered, leaving a long tail at the beginning and end. The thread automatically gathers up the fabric. Leaving the tails helps you adjust the distribution of them. If you google elastic thread, you'll also find a SewNews article at about.com.
10/3/06 10:23 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking top. Love the gathering. Thanks for the tip on the cloth covered elastic, too.
10/3/06 11:01 PM
Tini said...
greeeaaat top... I need to dig thru my knip mode mags and see if I have this issue
10/4/06 2:28 AM
Maychi said...
Lovely top! I love the front gathers!
10/4/06 5:37 AM
Nickle said...
Love the top and the neck gathers.
10/4/06 6:30 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great neckline. You should do a notion review on that elastic -- sounds like a very useful item to have around.
10/4/06 6:37 AM
Sanibelle said...
You did such a beautiful job on the gathers; it turns a simple top into something special.
10/4/06 6:37 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a great top!
10/4/06 7:23 AM
Marie-Claude said...
Lang leven de Knip, inderdaad ;-) Nice top and thanks for the gathering tip with elastic thread!
10/4/06 7:54 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful! I love this style!
10/4/06 8:35 AM
touran said...
You gave the biggest laugh in a long time. I guess I'm *more* predictable than you. Your top is really pretty. I love the V neck with gathers so much. And I'm so happy to see your reviews again.
10/4/06 9:31 AM
slanden99 said...
I like the gathers on the V neck. Great job
10/4/06 10:00 AM
cindyann said...
I love your top. Soooo cute. Something I need in my wardrobe. Thanks for the tip on the cloth covered elastic. I hate gathering!
10/4/06 10:11 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
That neckline is fabulous Leslie! I love that the V is softned with the gathers. Thanks for sharing with us! :)
10/4/06 10:37 AM
umjudis said...
Good to see you again. Loved your top, color, design. Sleeves don't look bad at all from the picture.
10/4/06 10:45 AM
BeckyW said...
Very cute top!!!!
10/4/06 11:55 AM
maryfrana said...
Love the gathering at the neckline and the color is dynamite.
10/4/06 1:34 PM
ACB said...
Well done, just beautiful!
10/4/06 5:42 PM
JDpenelope said...
This is a fun top and a fun review. Vincent should be so lucky -- Your sleeves are a whole lot better than any of his.
10/4/06 5:42 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Really, Really cute Leslie! DH bought me a very similiar top from Ann Taylor for my b-day in April, and I've been searching for a pattern ever since! I'm thinking I might try to do a knock-off from it at this point.
10/4/06 6:27 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Wat a great pattern. I think we should pressure simplicity to come out with this pattern. Your top is cute.
10/4/06 10:58 PM
casken said...
I really like your top and the colour.. oo-la-la! Thank you for your review!
10/5/06 1:48 AM
blue mooney said...
I agree, that is a terrific top!
10/5/06 1:06 PM
cecelia said...
I love the top--it's all in the details, right? I really like the different "V." Dutch pattern--my husband is Dutch, umm, doesn't speak it though :(
10/10/06 11:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 5959 Jiffy
photo
Review by blankjen on 12/6/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2012-18
photo
Review by 21wale on 6/12/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $26.45
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6685 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6685 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9496 Pattern
Burda 9496 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us