SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> KnipMode Magazine> 8/2005 #9a (Gathered V-neck)

Viewed 1272 times 
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 245 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/06 8:58 PM
Last Updated:10/3/06 9:13 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cecelia said...
I love the top--it's all in the details, right? I really like the different "V." Dutch pattern--my husband is Dutch, umm, doesn't speak it though :(
10/10/06 11:47 AM
blue mooney said...
I agree, that is a terrific top!
10/5/06 1:06 PM
casken said...
I really like your top and the colour.. oo-la-la! Thank you for your review!
10/5/06 1:48 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Wat a great pattern. I think we should pressure simplicity to come out with this pattern. Your top is cute.
10/4/06 10:58 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Really, Really cute Leslie! DH bought me a very similiar top from Ann Taylor for my b-day in April, and I've been searching for a pattern ever since! I'm thinking I might try to do a knock-off from it at this point.
10/4/06 6:27 PM
JDpenelope said...
This is a fun top and a fun review. Vincent should be so lucky -- Your sleeves are a whole lot better than any of his.
10/4/06 5:42 PM
ACB said...
Well done, just beautiful!
10/4/06 5:42 PM
maryfrana said...
Love the gathering at the neckline and the color is dynamite.
10/4/06 1:34 PM
BeckyW said...
Very cute top!!!!
10/4/06 11:55 AM
umjudis said...
Good to see you again. Loved your top, color, design. Sleeves don't look bad at all from the picture.
10/4/06 10:45 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
That neckline is fabulous Leslie! I love that the V is softned with the gathers. Thanks for sharing with us! :)
10/4/06 10:37 AM
cindyann said...
I love your top. Soooo cute. Something I need in my wardrobe. Thanks for the tip on the cloth covered elastic. I hate gathering!
10/4/06 10:11 AM
slanden99 said...
I like the gathers on the V neck. Great job
10/4/06 10:00 AM
touran said...
You gave the biggest laugh in a long time. I guess I'm *more* predictable than you. Your top is really pretty. I love the V neck with gathers so much. And I'm so happy to see your reviews again.
10/4/06 9:31 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful! I love this style!
10/4/06 8:35 AM
Marie-Claude said...
Lang leven de Knip, inderdaad ;-) Nice top and thanks for the gathering tip with elastic thread!
10/4/06 7:54 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a great top!
10/4/06 7:23 AM
Sanibelle said...
You did such a beautiful job on the gathers; it turns a simple top into something special.
10/4/06 6:37 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great neckline. You should do a notion review on that elastic -- sounds like a very useful item to have around.
10/4/06 6:37 AM
Nickle said...
Love the top and the neck gathers.
10/4/06 6:30 AM
Maychi said...
Lovely top! I love the front gathers!
10/4/06 5:37 AM
Tini said...
greeeaaat top... I need to dig thru my knip mode mags and see if I have this issue
10/4/06 2:28 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking top. Love the gathering. Thanks for the tip on the cloth covered elastic, too.
10/3/06 11:01 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Lorna, I just followed the instructions on the packaging: handwind the elastic thread onto the bobbin, use regular thread on top. Use a long stitch length. Sew along the line to be gathered, leaving a long tail at the beginning and end. The thread automatically gathers up the fabric. Leaving the tails helps you adjust the distribution of them. If you google elastic thread, you'll also find a SewNews article at about.com.
10/3/06 10:23 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Leslie, can you give more detail on how to use the elastic thread?
10/3/06 10:11 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh I really like that top! Maybe Katharine should go into business translating patterns, hint hint Katharine! LOL Enjoy your new top! :-)
10/3/06 10:07 PM
Lori V said...
That is a great top.
10/3/06 9:53 PM
Peggy L said...
I like the color, too. Very nice. Fun to see two reviews from you in one day!
10/3/06 9:49 PM
PegL said...
Very pretty top and I still love the color! Vincent should take lessons from you -- your sleeves look great! Very helpful review....good to see you doing one again! I've missed you lately!
10/3/06 9:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Simplicity 2512

photo
by: CissieW

Review
Elan 530

photo
by: knitmachin...

Review
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

More Info