Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Decades of Style: 1902 (1920 Tunic with Kimono Sleeve) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1808 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie Bonner
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie Bonnerstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/06 10:21 PM
Last Updated:10/6/06 1:09 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie Bonner said...
Couldn't get photo posted right - this picture is so tiny you really can't see details. On the Friends of PR album it looked fine. Will have to keep reading instructions.
10/5/06 10:35 PM
Elona said...
When you open your album, there should be an option on the page for something like "re-size image." You're probably at about 10% size. Try 30%.
10/5/06 11:37 PM
motomoda said...
Looks wonderful - I am inspired to try it!
10/6/06 0:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Link is not working at this time. I will check back to see this as I have this pattern and want to try it soon. I like seeing what others have done with this pattern
10/6/06 5:24 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Can't see it either...
10/6/06 8:26 AM
OP Gal said...
Thanks for the review. I can't see the picture either. I'll check back to see if the problem is fixed. I'm eager to see the finished item.
10/6/06 11:18 AM
CarolynD said...
I can't wait to see the picture! Maybe you could take a picture at a higher resolution. Try uploading it again to the pr site. I have had many problems with this feature. It can be exasperating. What I did is copy and paste the link of a picture that worked from another review and just changed the digits of my picture #.
10/6/06 11:39 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Well, I deleted photo and reposted it. Now it is way too big but I am reluctant to try again. Hopefully, I will improve.
10/6/06 2:55 PM
Patzee said...
Your photo is up! Wow, what a good looking top!
10/6/06 2:58 PM
Sanibelle said...
Your photo was well worth waiting for! It looks beautiful on you. Love the fabric combination. And now I have to go add this to my wish list.
10/6/06 3:11 PM
Liana said...
Thanks for posting the photo. What a lovely top! Great job, and it's very flattering. It puts me a little in mind of the Duro dress, but much prettier lines, I think.
10/6/06 3:15 PM
ACB said...
Great looking top!
10/6/06 3:38 PM
mClones said...
Love your fabric choices. Looks good on you.
10/6/06 4:50 PM
AuntieShel said...
Leslie, your top is beautiful!!! I was inspired by two earlier reviews of this pattern and bought it, but have not made it up yet. Seeing yours makes me want to get moving. I do have a question for you. In the pattern directions it tells you the top will flatter best if the center front piece is the same width as your neck and instructs you to hang a piece of string around your neck and measure the distance between each side to get this measurement. Did you do this. If I did this, I would have to cut the center front piece down by half and am reluctant to do this. I don't recall anyone mentioning this in any of the reviews so I was curious. Thank you.
10/6/06 5:26 PM
CarolynD said...
This top is gorgeous- I love your fabric and it looks great on you!
10/6/06 5:40 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Franatic - Yes, I did do as the pattern instructs and hang a piece of string around my neck to judge how wide to make the center piece. However, this is a guide only. The center piece is much wider that anyone would need (no one but a Sumo wrestler would have a neck that wide) but I don't think I used the exact measurement of my neck width. I measured, then pinned it and adjusted it slightly. Liana - Funny you should mention the Duro dress. I have this fabric in another colorway and the McCalls pattern on my sewing table ready to cut.
10/6/06 7:58 PM
CraftyMary said...
I love your top! I had never heard of the Decades of Style company. You have inspired me to try this pattern.
10/6/06 11:17 PM
ldpaulson said...
I liove seeing what different people do with their Decades of Style patterns. You chose your fabric well and the top looks absolutely modern and very comfortable. I can't wait to experiment with this particular pattern. I'm absolutely adding it to my "to buy" list.
10/6/06 11:28 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Great fabric combo! Interesting without being too high contrast for your coloring. Franatic, the instructions make sense - and if you look closely you'll see that Leslie's front is the prescribed width but the neck doesn't look so narrow because of the way the fabric drapes. Since you need a drapey fabric, there you go :-). But I'd say they're totally right about the design advice.
10/7/06 3:32 AM
SewTwin said...
Leslie, Love this pattern and fabric combination!Very Japanese, but modern.I agree about the coverage at my age, even tho I have lost weight.As my Mother said relative to trees, we are just babies..Did the curved seam at the front bust area give you problems?I definitely put this one on my list, the big 4 don't have anything similar from what I have seen.Would also make a great dress!Many ideas for this pattern!!
10/8/06 1:12 AM
CarolynGM said...
I really like this. Your fabric combination is perfect for the pattern and for your coloring.
10/8/06 8:57 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
SewTwin The very gentle curve at the bust area not a problem. You don't even notice it when you are attaching the center piece.
10/8/06 6:44 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Leslie: what a great top! The choice of style and colors is perfect for you. I, like many others, have bought this pattern and not sewn yet: you're my inspiration to get going on this. Really beautiful top.
10/9/06 11:41 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Love your version of this pattern. When I looked at the picture my reaction was, "That fabric I bought at Jo-Ann's would work in this, then I read your review. I have the third colorway you are missing.:) Thanks for the great review.
10/10/06 12:16 PM
WhyNotSewIt said...
Cute top - flattering!
7/30/07 2:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 8663 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by MNBarb on 12/17/11
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1317 Misses Dress
photo
Review by Carolyn.S on 5/13/13
Read Review

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7070 Pattern
Burda 7070 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us