Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5839 (Kimono) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1418 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/06 8:18 PM
Last Updated:10/9/06 12:31 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda E. said...
lovely jacket..Ann You always do such great work..
10/8/06 9:30 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful Ann! How disappointing that you couldn't wear it to the wedding. I know you'll think of another time, or two.... :)
10/8/06 10:22 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I always look forward to your creations.
10/8/06 11:23 PM
hongkongshopper said...
It's lovely. A great jacket as it will never date!
10/8/06 11:32 PM
BillieJean said...
I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but I can't see any of your current pictures. I get your site when I click on the camera icon on the review page, but once there, no matter which picture I click on, nothing happens. Obviously, this is my problem, because other viewers are commenting on how lovely your pictures are. Can someone please help me. Thanks, Billie
10/9/06 9:00 AM
Moxie said...
Ann, Your creations are always so beautiful and I love seeing them. Unfortunately, when I click on the photo icon I'm taken to a web page that contains all your albums. Where do I find the pictures for this garment. Thanks a bunch, Katie...
10/9/06 11:06 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Terrific looking, as always, Ann, but I had a hard time finding the photos. For some reason, your link goes straight to all of your albums. Hmm...a puzzle: which of your albums would this be in? 'Found it in your 2006 album, in case anyone else's link isn't working in the standard way. Love the jacket, and also loved seeing the quilt show exhibition: bet you were the hit of the show.
10/9/06 11:10 AM
rmardel said...
Beautiful jacket Ann! Too bad you weren't able to wear it, but I am sure other opportunities will present themselves.
10/9/06 11:17 AM
Ann Smith said...
Egads! It appears Yahoo changed their photo program overnight. They have said this new "improved" program was coming. Looks like I have a lot of work to do to reorganize my photos.
10/9/06 12:11 PM
maryfrana said...
I love this! I too have sewed with silk/pearls and it is very very time consuming to take off all the pearls in the seamlines. Beautiful job, lovely jacket and person wearing it.
10/9/06 1:29 PM
Janime said...
What a lovely adaptation!
10/9/06 2:19 PM
CSM--Carla said...
As always Ann, an elegant stylish eyestopping, inspiring creation. Thanks for this excellent review! I have bought many patterns because of your reviews! Carla
10/9/06 9:46 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Stunning, Ann, just stunning! IKWYM about those durned beaded sequined fabrics, but your effort was worth it! -Ann
10/9/06 10:15 PM
CarolynGM said...
What an elegant jacket. Love your shoes too.
10/10/06 7:20 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Glorious jacket, dress, shoes. How sad you didn't get to show it off at the wedding. I recently finished a blouse from fabric with some beading and I agree - it was an ordeal. Like childbirth the pain is a distant memory. The garment stills hangs in my sewing room so I can admire it.
10/11/06 4:43 PM
republicofmj said...
Hi I was given this pattern to finish for a friend but the instructions were lost (!). I am looking for someone who still has this pattern to photocopy the instructions and share them with me. Is this something that would be easy for you to do? I would appreciate it inmensely :-)
10/6/11 9:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-106
photo
Review by Lisette on 3/26/10
Read Review

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 103821-1003
photo
Review by mowse on 7/8/08
Read Review

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us