SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 504 (Afternoon Dress Paris 1920)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1853 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
Friend of PR

About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews: 311 (patterns: 289)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 54 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/02 4:40 PM
Last Updated:11/11/02 1:09 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by Margaret using this Pattern

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
mmcp said... (6/4/14 8:31 AM) Reply
I just found this review--so thank you very much, Margaret. Regarding the Paris Promenade dress, evidently what happened was that the Met terminated their agreement with Folkwear so they couldn't continue to print this pattern, which was taken from a dress in the Met Costume Institute. The Paris Promenade dress was developed to look similar but not infringe on whatever legal issues there were. The construction of the Paris Promenade dress is quite different.
Margaret said... (4/11/12 4:43 AM) Reply
juliana, the Paris Promenade dress looks a slight bit different in that the outline of the overlay part is pointed at the top, not straight. That seems like it would be easy enough to change. I don't know if there are any other differences.
juliana said... (4/10/12 3:24 AM) Reply
they make this still, it is #261 Paris Promenade dress.
nehmah said... (9/13/09 2:28 PM) Reply
This is a very good description of making the dress. At 5'4.5", I am hesitant to make it in silk, but rayon worked well.
NCM said... (6/18/03 7:01 PM) Reply
I enjoyed the review. I do not have the pattern, but would like to know if anyone is willing to sell their pattern to me. I would like to make this dress very soon.
Terry McCormick said... (12/14/02 2:32 AM) Reply
This is another of the (not quite 1,000,000) patterns in my "have to get around to" box - your dress is so good looking that I may have to get busy on this pattern. Thanks!
Margaret said... (11/14/02 2:50 AM) Reply
Thanks, Betty. If you haven't seen it already, the Greater Bay Area Costumer's Guild has a lot of Folkwear reviews and photos (and in general, reviews of period costume and otherwise costume-y patterns, mostly a different focus from this site). Their Folkwear page is at
said... (11/11/02 0:59 AM) Reply
What a beautiful dress. I enjoy reading your Folkwear reviews. I always wondered what they actually looked like made up.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 345658-1000

by: MinaLMcGra...

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Pattern Details