SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 504 (Afternoon Dress Paris 1920)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1834 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/02 4:40 PM
Last Updated:11/11/02 1:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mmcp said... (6/4/14 8:31 AM) Reply
I just found this review--so thank you very much, Margaret. Regarding the Paris Promenade dress, evidently what happened was that the Met terminated their agreement with Folkwear so they couldn't continue to print this pattern, which was taken from a dress in the Met Costume Institute. The Paris Promenade dress was developed to look similar but not infringe on whatever legal issues there were. The construction of the Paris Promenade dress is quite different.
Margaret said... (4/11/12 4:43 AM) Reply
juliana, the Paris Promenade dress looks a slight bit different in that the outline of the overlay part is pointed at the top, not straight. That seems like it would be easy enough to change. I don't know if there are any other differences.
juliana said... (4/10/12 3:24 AM) Reply
they make this still, it is #261 Paris Promenade dress.
nehmah said... (9/13/09 2:28 PM) Reply
This is a very good description of making the dress. At 5'4.5", I am hesitant to make it in silk, but rayon worked well.
NCM said... (6/18/03 7:01 PM) Reply
I enjoyed the review. I do not have the pattern, but would like to know if anyone is willing to sell their pattern to me. I would like to make this dress very soon.
Terry McCormick said... (12/14/02 2:32 AM) Reply
This is another of the (not quite 1,000,000) patterns in my "have to get around to" box - your dress is so good looking that I may have to get busy on this pattern. Thanks!
Margaret said... (11/14/02 2:50 AM) Reply
Thanks, Betty. If you haven't seen it already, the Greater Bay Area Costumer's Guild has a lot of Folkwear reviews and photos (and in general, reviews of period costume and otherwise costume-y patterns, mostly a different focus from this site). Their Folkwear page is at http://www.gbacg.org/Patterns/folkwear.htm
said... (11/11/02 0:59 AM) Reply
What a beautiful dress. I enjoy reading your Folkwear reviews. I always wondered what they actually looked like made up.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns V1183

photo
by: Kamal Ragb...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: twinkle72

Review
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Pattern Details
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Pattern Details