SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 504 (Afternoon Dress Paris 1920)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1813 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/02 4:40 PM
Last Updated:11/11/02 1:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
What a beautiful dress. I enjoy reading your Folkwear reviews. I always wondered what they actually looked like made up.
11/11/02 0:59 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Margaret said...
Thanks, Betty. If you haven't seen it already, the Greater Bay Area Costumer's Guild has a lot of Folkwear reviews and photos (and in general, reviews of period costume and otherwise costume-y patterns, mostly a different focus from this site). Their Folkwear page is at http://www.gbacg.org/Patterns/folkwear.htm
11/14/02 2:50 AM
Terry McCormick said...
This is another of the (not quite 1,000,000) patterns in my "have to get around to" box - your dress is so good looking that I may have to get busy on this pattern. Thanks!
12/14/02 2:32 AM
NCM said...
I enjoyed the review. I do not have the pattern, but would like to know if anyone is willing to sell their pattern to me. I would like to make this dress very soon.
6/18/03 7:01 PM
nehmah said...
This is a very good description of making the dress. At 5'4.5", I am hesitant to make it in silk, but rayon worked well.
9/13/09 2:28 PM
juliana said...
they make this still, it is #261 Paris Promenade dress.
4/10/12 3:24 AM
Margaret said...
juliana, the Paris Promenade dress looks a slight bit different in that the outline of the overlay part is pointed at the top, not straight. That seems like it would be easy enough to change. I don't know if there are any other differences.
4/11/12 4:43 AM
mmcp said...
I just found this review--so thank you very much, Margaret. Regarding the Paris Promenade dress, evidently what happened was that the Met terminated their agreement with Folkwear so they couldn't continue to print this pattern, which was taken from a dress in the Met Costume Institute. The Paris Promenade dress was developed to look similar but not infringe on whatever legal issues there were. The construction of the Paris Promenade dress is quite different.
6/4/14 8:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 5052

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1313

photo
by: marec

Review
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now