Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4463 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1283 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 60 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/06 8:39 AM
Last Updated:10/12/06 8:59 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
christine A said...
Thank you so much for this detailed review. I am a novice garment sewer and this info is like gold to me.
10/12/06 9:26 AM
mastdenman said...
That's a great list of alteration sources. I've been looking for the NMSU one for several days. I always like your creations.
10/12/06 9:44 AM
sewingfordolls said...
I love the look of your jacket and the effort you put into it is very inspiring. Oh and thanks for the links to the very informative articles...when I grow up I want to be as good as you...LOL that's just a joke...I'm an old lady.
10/12/06 10:09 AM
Erica B. said...
Nice jacket, thanks for the great review.
10/12/06 12:16 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking jacket, thanks for a very informative review.
10/12/06 3:52 PM
Aixoise said...
Thanks for this review - very helpful and informative with the illustrations and links.
10/12/06 4:16 PM
artist1lisa said...
Wonderful review.The jacket looks great.
10/12/06 9:51 PM
SBanks said...
I like the details you gave us! You're right - after all the fitting work, the next ones are a breeze!
10/13/06 5:00 AM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks --- very useful details on the alterations you made. I'm impressed with the effort you exerted to get your jacket to fit you just the way you wanted.
10/13/06 6:09 AM
jbrewer said...
Awesome review! I have this pattern, and I have the same posture problems. Thank you so much for putting this all togther.
10/13/06 6:31 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Excellent review. I spent last evening tracing a pattern for a labcoat, and thought I'd skip the adjustment for a rounded back (it's only a labcoat, for heaven's sake.). You've changed my mind. Your jacket looks superb and your alterations really "kicked it up a notch".
10/13/06 7:46 AM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks! I have a hard time remembering where certain things are on-line. It's good to have them listed in a lot of places!
10/13/06 7:58 AM
OP Gal said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I love what you did with the stripes. Thanks, too, for the Nancy Zieman collar technique.
10/13/06 11:20 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Rusty, Thanks for all the informative links! VEry nice jacket.
10/13/06 12:21 PM
Patzee said...
Terrific Review!
10/13/06 3:38 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks for taking all the time to link up all that info; I'm too lazy to do that most of the time, so I do appreciate it when someone else does! Your fit perseverence is inspiring... ;)
10/13/06 8:36 PM
kathi s said...
Thank you for the informative review and for the references! I love your jacket!
10/14/06 10:57 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review -- not to mention jacket! I especially like your brown striped version. I've contemplated this pattern several times myself. Yours are just lovely. Thanks!
3/10/07 3:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 2449 trench coat
photo
Review by valerie se... on 7/1/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6483 misses top
photo
Review by Nana27 on 5/16/13
Read Review

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7056 Pattern
Burda 7056 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1918 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1918 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us