SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1081 (Blouse with double collar)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1694 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/06 12:36 PM
Last Updated:10/14/06 11:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
A stunning blouse. It is unique, and each fabric made it a totally different blouse. The only thing that I'd like to see is a picture of you in the blouse. Your review is your usual informative terrific job.
9/4/08 7:16 AM
AnneM said...
Great blouse! There are a few Marfy patterns that I am looking at, although I have other more pressing project before I tackle one of them. Your fabric / color combinations are great. At least in the picture, the stiffer collar seems like a nice style element.
10/15/06 8:13 PM
cathy45 said...
Exquisite project--yours always are--the paisley, the green & I love how the blue buttons really pop but don't dominate. Your reviews are just like sewing lessons--one learns so much.
10/15/06 11:48 AM
kathi s said...
Beautiful blouse - I really admire your workmanship ... and your bravery! I got to look at a Marfy pattern recently and they are way beyond my mosdest skill!
10/14/06 10:46 PM
ELIZAALL said...
Thanks for the review! I bought this pattern also. And your idea of adding a placket is a good one. It addresses my concern of protection due to the front design of the pattern.
10/14/06 9:08 PM
carolynw said...
Thanks for such a great review. I am about to do my first Marfy pattern - a coat - I have figured out how the pieces go together and what I will need to do to put it all together - will post review when done. Am hoping I will be as successful as you - great job Debra.
10/14/06 10:57 AM
Sew it seams said...
Debra that is a beautiful blouse. I love some of the Marfy designs but I'm really intimidated by the "no instructions and no drawings". Your idea for the button placket and placement of the buttons was a good one. I can't imagine how the front would stay in place (closed) with just the fronts meeting and nothing behind them. Love your blouse, great fabric combination, and very helpful review.
10/14/06 9:06 AM
rmardel said...
love the blouse and thanks for the great description of the details.
10/14/06 8:49 AM
cecelia said...
Debra, after reading your review, I don't know how you did it because you had so many different challenges. Your blouse came out beautifully though with such nice color matches, and I bet it looks lovely with your red hair. Thanks for a detailed review.
10/14/06 6:48 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful work, and I like the way the olive collar stands up a little. Great review, and thanks for all your technique tips!
10/13/06 9:51 PM
Carolyndh said...
Your color combinations here are just striking! Looks very high end! Nice!
10/13/06 8:54 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty blouse. Love the colors.
10/13/06 8:26 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovley! I particularly like the combination of the three fabrics.
10/13/06 8:07 PM
Re Becca said...
I love this, you did a great job of selecting fabric, making it fit and figuring out the assembly. You colors and prints are always great. Could you do me a favor and post a close up of the front collar? Just a little bit higher than your front placket picture so that I can see the collar for when I try to do this myself. I love the look of this pattern, but I am waiting to find the perfect fabric combination. Your review is extremely helpfull
10/13/06 6:35 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Bravo! I love the pattern and your interpretation of it. Thanks for spending so much time on your reviews.
10/13/06 6:33 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Debra ! Thank you for sharing another one of your inspirations.
10/13/06 4:57 PM
jnamcd said...
Beautiful blouse--I particularly like the buttons you choose to go with this shirt. As always, excellent review!
10/13/06 4:14 PM
SBanks said...
Lovely. I am looking forward to some Marfy's I've ordered.
10/13/06 4:06 PM
OP Gal said...
Wonderful review, as usual. The blouse is stunning with its double collar and clever details. Kudos for being able to master the pattern.
10/13/06 3:39 PM
Lynngray said...
Lovely, Great fabric and review.
10/13/06 3:13 PM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous! I love the fabric and the colors. Thanks for the very helpful review!
10/13/06 1:44 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
This is a wonderful blouse. I love the paisley fabric and the greens coord so well with it. I have almost finished altering the pattern for my first Marfy attempt. I keep finding other projects to do in the meantime! LOL ...
10/13/06 1:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Folkwear 240

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

More Info
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

More Info