SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1081 (Blouse with double collar)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1694 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/06 12:36 PM
Last Updated:10/14/06 11:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lorna C. Newman said...
This is a wonderful blouse. I love the paisley fabric and the greens coord so well with it. I have almost finished altering the pattern for my first Marfy attempt. I keep finding other projects to do in the meantime! LOL ...
10/13/06 1:15 PM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous! I love the fabric and the colors. Thanks for the very helpful review!
10/13/06 1:44 PM
Lynngray said...
Lovely, Great fabric and review.
10/13/06 3:13 PM
OP Gal said...
Wonderful review, as usual. The blouse is stunning with its double collar and clever details. Kudos for being able to master the pattern.
10/13/06 3:39 PM
SBanks said...
Lovely. I am looking forward to some Marfy's I've ordered.
10/13/06 4:06 PM
jnamcd said...
Beautiful blouse--I particularly like the buttons you choose to go with this shirt. As always, excellent review!
10/13/06 4:14 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Debra ! Thank you for sharing another one of your inspirations.
10/13/06 4:57 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Bravo! I love the pattern and your interpretation of it. Thanks for spending so much time on your reviews.
10/13/06 6:33 PM
Re Becca said...
I love this, you did a great job of selecting fabric, making it fit and figuring out the assembly. You colors and prints are always great. Could you do me a favor and post a close up of the front collar? Just a little bit higher than your front placket picture so that I can see the collar for when I try to do this myself. I love the look of this pattern, but I am waiting to find the perfect fabric combination. Your review is extremely helpfull
10/13/06 6:35 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovley! I particularly like the combination of the three fabrics.
10/13/06 8:07 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty blouse. Love the colors.
10/13/06 8:26 PM
Carolyndh said...
Your color combinations here are just striking! Looks very high end! Nice!
10/13/06 8:54 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful work, and I like the way the olive collar stands up a little. Great review, and thanks for all your technique tips!
10/13/06 9:51 PM
cecelia said...
Debra, after reading your review, I don't know how you did it because you had so many different challenges. Your blouse came out beautifully though with such nice color matches, and I bet it looks lovely with your red hair. Thanks for a detailed review.
10/14/06 6:48 AM
rmardel said...
love the blouse and thanks for the great description of the details.
10/14/06 8:49 AM
Sew it seams said...
Debra that is a beautiful blouse. I love some of the Marfy designs but I'm really intimidated by the "no instructions and no drawings". Your idea for the button placket and placement of the buttons was a good one. I can't imagine how the front would stay in place (closed) with just the fronts meeting and nothing behind them. Love your blouse, great fabric combination, and very helpful review.
10/14/06 9:06 AM
carolynw said...
Thanks for such a great review. I am about to do my first Marfy pattern - a coat - I have figured out how the pieces go together and what I will need to do to put it all together - will post review when done. Am hoping I will be as successful as you - great job Debra.
10/14/06 10:57 AM
ELIZAALL said...
Thanks for the review! I bought this pattern also. And your idea of adding a placket is a good one. It addresses my concern of protection due to the front design of the pattern.
10/14/06 9:08 PM
kathi s said...
Beautiful blouse - I really admire your workmanship ... and your bravery! I got to look at a Marfy pattern recently and they are way beyond my mosdest skill!
10/14/06 10:46 PM
cathy45 said...
Exquisite project--yours always are--the paisley, the green & I love how the blue buttons really pop but don't dominate. Your reviews are just like sewing lessons--one learns so much.
10/15/06 11:48 AM
AnneM said...
Great blouse! There are a few Marfy patterns that I am looking at, although I have other more pressing project before I tackle one of them. Your fabric / color combinations are great. At least in the picture, the stiffer collar seems like a nice style element.
10/15/06 8:13 PM
Nancy K said...
A stunning blouse. It is unique, and each fabric made it a totally different blouse. The only thing that I'd like to see is a picture of you in the blouse. Your review is your usual informative terrific job.
9/4/08 7:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8511

photo
by: ameryan

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now
Simplicity 4233

photo
by: twotoast

Review