SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> 9332 (Marian Martin (1965))

Viewed 1351 times 
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seamsstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/15/06 7:23 PM
Last Updated:10/15/06 9:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
Beautiful dress and very flattering.
10/15/06 7:45 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your dress is lovely. Your pin basting information is excellent. Several of your links, however, aren't working, so I can't see all of your illustrations.
10/15/06 8:07 PM
LauraTS said...
That is gorgeous - I love the look of Marian Martin patterns.
10/15/06 8:08 PM
Sew it seams said...
I think I have fixed my links Irina. I'm not sure I like the new Yahoo photo site as well as the old one!
10/15/06 8:22 PM
Aixoise said...
I'm truly curious and would like to see your dress and process, but I can't seem to get any of the links to work.
10/15/06 8:38 PM
Sew it seams said...
Aixoise, I'm sorry you can't see my links. They are working on my computer- if anyone else can't see the links, I'll transfer them all to my PR photo album.
10/15/06 8:45 PM
otis said...
I'm not seeing any of you links, I'm on AOL which I'm not overly pleased with... so Yahoo may not play well with AOL or vis versa
10/15/06 9:42 PM
Sew it seams said...
OK! Links are all on my PR album. I'm sorry about all the trouble!.
10/15/06 10:00 PM
PegL said...
Beautiful dress! Great review! Thanks for all the extra photos and tips!
10/15/06 10:23 PM
Christina Sonja said...
The dress looks great on you. I especially want to thank you for the in-progress pics you included. I have a vintage pattern with similar curved seams but I gave up after attempting a muslin. I'll have to give it another try now that I can refer to your very nice explanation & photos of how you pin-basted the curved seams.
10/15/06 10:52 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautifully flattering pattern. Thx for your description on putting these pieces together. Great job.
10/15/06 11:14 PM
memmy said...
Its lovely . The match of that pattern and that fabric is perfect. I will print out this advice re fitting two curves togther and file it for sure . Thank you for taking the time to share it with us.
10/16/06 0:06 AM
CarolynD said...
What a gorgeous dress. It is very flattering. I use your method for set in sleeves too, I never tried making gathers, I would be afraid up picking up the gathers in a stitch. I think the pinning method makes it easier to ease, too. I think your fabric choice makes this dress look fantastic. It is so interesting to see good patterns reinterpreted to look so up to the minute.
10/16/06 0:20 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great dress! And it flatters your figure beautifully.
10/16/06 6:55 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very very pretty and so flattering! Love the topstitching detail you added.
10/16/06 7:14 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful dress and wonderful detailed review. Thank you. I've never seen that exact method for joining eased fabrics, but I'm going to try it. You look fabulous in the dress, BTW.
10/16/06 7:23 AM
priscilla said...
You did a beautiful job on this dress.Your topstitching is perfection!
10/16/06 8:05 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Really like the look of the princess inset. Thank you for sharing the method.
10/16/06 8:26 AM
drsue said...
Terrific dress. Looks right up to the minute. Your tutorial on pin basting/easing is wonderful as well. Maybe you should/could put that in it's own tip.
10/16/06 10:04 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely! Thank you so much for the great review.
10/16/06 10:08 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Oooh. This is so nice. You waited for the right pattern for this fabric!
10/16/06 10:16 AM
linda 75142 said...
This dress is beautiful!
10/16/06 1:34 PM
Sanibelle said...
Your dress looks beautiful on you. Thank you so much for such an informative review.
10/16/06 3:57 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thank you all for the encouraging comments. DrSue, I am leaving town for a couple of days, but when I get back I'll post this pin basting method in the tips.
10/16/06 3:58 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That pattern sewed up beautifully in the knit. It really shows off your great figure and those insets are quite slimming. Maybe they'd work for me?
10/16/06 8:21 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Beautiful. THanks for the step by steps.
10/16/06 9:32 PM
meanjean said...
Wowy kapowy! This is a gorgeous dress. Just goes to show what choosing the perfect fabric for the style can do for a lovely outcome.
10/16/06 11:11 PM
meanjean said...

10/16/06 11:12 PM
mudcat said...
This is just lovely. And very flattering on you.
10/16/06 11:45 PM
nancia said...
great dress. simple and graceful. looks good on you. inspirational. thanks for the extra shots of your workings. its a great help.
1/2/07 9:39 PM
AnneM said...
What a lovely dress. I really like this simple, elegant style.
9/13/08 5:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now