Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1125 (Tie front jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1240 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/22/06 1:04 PM
Last Updated:10/22/06 1:04 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Riordan said...
How beautiful!! I have admired every single garment that you've reviewed--your work is inspiring.
10/22/06 1:07 PM
lmg said...
Just lovely. Beautiful fabric too. I thought this was a lovely pattern. Thanks for letting us know about the ties.
10/22/06 1:31 PM
Liana said...
How lovely! I liked this pattern too, and your version shows how good it can be. Great fabric, too!
10/22/06 1:41 PM
Seaspur said...
Gorgeous jacket. I always find your work so inspiring. Thanks.
10/22/06 1:49 PM
Steffie said...
Wow... just beautiful.
10/22/06 2:23 PM
Re Becca said...
This looks really cut in the print. Thank you for posting your instructions with the review, I have this pattern for a pinstripe and I was wondering how to do the tie without a topstitch. Thanks for another great review!
10/22/06 2:40 PM
coloreyec said...
Stunning!
10/22/06 2:41 PM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket is lovely! Thanks for the great detailed review.
10/22/06 2:47 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful jacket and wonderful, detailed review, as usual. Thanks.
10/22/06 2:48 PM
ELIZAALL said...
Thanks for the great review and sharing your method of contructing the tie. The jacket is beautiful!
10/22/06 2:49 PM
BjP said...
This is one beautiful jacket! I am scared to death of Marfy, but I would think using your detailed review would get me through it. Thank you!
10/22/06 3:01 PM
Ann Smith said...
Very lovely. I would love to see a picture of it on you. In fact, I would love to see your closet just to enjoy the colors.
10/22/06 3:08 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I love the cut of the jacket and your fabric. You always do such wonderful work.
10/22/06 3:15 PM
Tiner W said...
Just beautiful! That fabric is stunning!
10/22/06 3:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
Debra! This is just gorgeous! Better than what is on the envelope!
10/22/06 3:26 PM
SewLimited said...
Very pretty! Marfy's are sometimes hard to figure out as no directions but the fit for me has been the best right out of the envelope. Wish they were easier to get!
10/22/06 4:27 PM
carolynw said...
Very lovely!! May try this pattern - am doing my first Marfy now and I do like the way they are drafted - interesting little details!! You did a super job.
10/22/06 4:49 PM
Sewing Chick said...
Your jacket is gorgoeus! When do you have time to sew such beautiful garments and find so many beautiful pieces? I always amazed and inspired by your work. I think we are about the same size with the same pattern adjustments. Any time you clean out your closet, feel free to mail me any throw outs!!!!
10/22/06 5:38 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your closet must be overflowing. You've made some really beautiful outfits. I always enjoy your reviews and the clothes are always scrumptious
10/22/06 5:58 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debra, this is lovely. The fabric is beautiful! I agree with others who want to come and visit and admire your wardrobe over a cup of coffee!
10/22/06 6:37 PM
Debra H said...
It would be so great if several of us could meet over coffee....it is fun, though, that we come from all over the world.
10/22/06 9:00 PM
yummymummy38 said...
This is lovely. It is very similar to jacket made by an Italian designer, Rosalie Varo, based in Adelaide, South Australia whose styles are often Euro-inspired. Hers had no collar.
10/23/06 0:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another beautiful jacket. This does seem a little easier than some you have tackled. Very helpful information.
10/23/06 5:10 AM
Queendom said...
Fabulous, as usual for you Debra. After reading all of your Marfy reviews, I have ordered the catalogue and I'm going to give them a try. I have hesitated a long time due to the lack of instruction, but I sew with Cynthia Guffey's patterns and the instructions are almost non-existent. Soooo, here goes...
10/23/06 11:14 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Really lovely! The ties are a nice touch.
10/23/06 11:38 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful, dreamy jacket!
10/23/06 9:25 PM
jnamcd said...
I love the lines of this jacket--and the absolutely wonderful ties! Great review, as always!
10/26/06 4:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 5624
photo
Review by Creative L... on 10/13/10
Read Review

McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3529 Jackets
photo
Review by CynthiaSue on 4/30/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us