SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1125 (Tie front jacket)

Viewed 1241 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/22/06 1:04 PM
Last Updated:10/22/06 1:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Riordan said...
How beautiful!! I have admired every single garment that you've reviewed--your work is inspiring.
10/22/06 1:07 PM
lmg said...
Just lovely. Beautiful fabric too. I thought this was a lovely pattern. Thanks for letting us know about the ties.
10/22/06 1:31 PM
Liana said...
How lovely! I liked this pattern too, and your version shows how good it can be. Great fabric, too!
10/22/06 1:41 PM
Seaspur said...
Gorgeous jacket. I always find your work so inspiring. Thanks.
10/22/06 1:49 PM
Steffie said...
Wow... just beautiful.
10/22/06 2:23 PM
Re Becca said...
This looks really cut in the print. Thank you for posting your instructions with the review, I have this pattern for a pinstripe and I was wondering how to do the tie without a topstitch. Thanks for another great review!
10/22/06 2:40 PM
coloreyec said...
Stunning!
10/22/06 2:41 PM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket is lovely! Thanks for the great detailed review.
10/22/06 2:47 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful jacket and wonderful, detailed review, as usual. Thanks.
10/22/06 2:48 PM
ELIZAALL said...
Thanks for the great review and sharing your method of contructing the tie. The jacket is beautiful!
10/22/06 2:49 PM
BjP said...
This is one beautiful jacket! I am scared to death of Marfy, but I would think using your detailed review would get me through it. Thank you!
10/22/06 3:01 PM
Ann Smith said...
Very lovely. I would love to see a picture of it on you. In fact, I would love to see your closet just to enjoy the colors.
10/22/06 3:08 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I love the cut of the jacket and your fabric. You always do such wonderful work.
10/22/06 3:15 PM
Tiner W said...
Just beautiful! That fabric is stunning!
10/22/06 3:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
Debra! This is just gorgeous! Better than what is on the envelope!
10/22/06 3:26 PM
SewLimited said...
Very pretty! Marfy's are sometimes hard to figure out as no directions but the fit for me has been the best right out of the envelope. Wish they were easier to get!
10/22/06 4:27 PM
carolynw said...
Very lovely!! May try this pattern - am doing my first Marfy now and I do like the way they are drafted - interesting little details!! You did a super job.
10/22/06 4:49 PM
Sewing Chick said...
Your jacket is gorgoeus! When do you have time to sew such beautiful garments and find so many beautiful pieces? I always amazed and inspired by your work. I think we are about the same size with the same pattern adjustments. Any time you clean out your closet, feel free to mail me any throw outs!!!!
10/22/06 5:38 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your closet must be overflowing. You've made some really beautiful outfits. I always enjoy your reviews and the clothes are always scrumptious
10/22/06 5:58 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debra, this is lovely. The fabric is beautiful! I agree with others who want to come and visit and admire your wardrobe over a cup of coffee!
10/22/06 6:37 PM
Debra H said...
It would be so great if several of us could meet over coffee....it is fun, though, that we come from all over the world.
10/22/06 9:00 PM
yummymummy38 said...
This is lovely. It is very similar to jacket made by an Italian designer, Rosalie Varo, based in Adelaide, South Australia whose styles are often Euro-inspired. Hers had no collar.
10/23/06 0:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another beautiful jacket. This does seem a little easier than some you have tackled. Very helpful information.
10/23/06 5:10 AM
Queendom said...
Fabulous, as usual for you Debra. After reading all of your Marfy reviews, I have ordered the catalogue and I'm going to give them a try. I have hesitated a long time due to the lack of instruction, but I sew with Cynthia Guffey's patterns and the instructions are almost non-existent. Soooo, here goes...
10/23/06 11:14 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Really lovely! The ties are a nice touch.
10/23/06 11:38 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful, dreamy jacket!
10/23/06 9:25 PM
jnamcd said...
I love the lines of this jacket--and the absolutely wonderful ties! Great review, as always!
10/26/06 4:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Butterick 5782

photo
by: InbalSN

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now