SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2920 (Donna Karan)

1 more reviews
Viewed 3405 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 384 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/06 3:40 AM
Last Updated:10/23/06 3:49 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 34 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tany said...
Thanks for this review! I was hoping that someone would dare to sew this pattern and you did it! Wonderful work!
10/23/06 4:15 AM
motomoda said...
Clever lady! Not a style for me ( it's the flower that puts me off plus the having to stand still business - knowing me the entire garment would end up around my waist) but it is very interesting to see what deisgners can dream up and, as you say, how on earth did Vogue manage to describe this in words! Do you think it would work without the flower? From what you describe it seems to be a somewhat integral part of the whole construction.
10/23/06 6:47 AM
CarolynGM said...
Somebody is on the ball at Vogue if they can produce 73 steps of understandable instructions without an error. The jacket is so lovely and striking that I hope you can find an event to wear it to.
10/23/06 6:52 AM
beth5646 said...
That's a WOW!! Totally great. I love it!!! I think it looks gorgeous on you. I do hope you find a place to wear it. I commend you for making this pattern. Your workmanship is lovely.
10/23/06 7:32 AM
SBanks said...
It's fantastic! I was wondering about this one and wondered whether anyone has taken the plunge. Thanks for the details on how this one works.
10/23/06 7:39 AM
Stacy Sews said...
This top is so fantastic and looks great on you! Step 73? That may be too much for me, but I love looking at your new top.
10/23/06 8:16 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a great job! I have this pattern, and I want to make it for Christmas. I think I'll forego the fringe, tho - thanks for the recommendation. And it sounds like the hand stitching on the flower is something that will be good for Sunday NFL afternoons! -Ann
10/23/06 8:17 AM
cecelia said...
You are so brave to tackle this, and it really came out well, or at least it looks very good on you in the photo. I hope you're able to wear it and enjoy it.
10/23/06 8:30 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Ooh thanks for the review - I am planning on "whipping this one up" for a dear friends wedding in Feb - your review was a great help. How much stretch do you think is necessary for it to fit correctly?
10/23/06 9:02 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Totally fascinating! I can see how this one sucked you right in, and your results are dramatic and pretty. You have wonderful construction skills and patience Ann.
10/23/06 9:09 AM
PaulaM said...
Great job. I bought the pattern and just might have to tackle it one of these days.
10/23/06 9:15 AM
carolynw said...
Great job Ann but a little more than I would have the patience for - 73 steps - nooo. It looks so dramatic and beautiful on you - will definitely be a show stopper.
10/23/06 9:30 AM
JDpenelope said...
The jacket in this stunning fabric is absolutely beautiful on you. You are to be commended in taking on this ambitious challenge. This jacket definitely has an attitude.
10/23/06 9:35 AM
cindyann said...
What a project! You certainly achieved a wonderful result. Beautiful top.
10/23/06 9:56 AM
Re Becca said...
WOW! I have a silly question, how do you get into it? Does it fold over in the front and snap? So stunning! How do you think this would work sleeveless?
10/23/06 10:05 AM
CarrieA said...
Wow, wow, WOW! That looks incredible on you. You described your sewing experience perfectly and will certainly give others a good feel for what to expect if they want to tackle this ambitious project. Yours was worth all the effort!
10/23/06 10:11 AM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket is elegant and beautiful! I love the fact that you sewed it because of curiosity and the love of sewing! Thank you for such a thorough review.
10/23/06 10:12 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous! The fabric that you chose is perfect for this top.
10/23/06 10:25 AM
Moxie said...
Wow, Ann! This top looks fantastic on you. Thanks for the review. I like hearing that others read patterns in bed.
10/23/06 10:48 AM
jemgirlca said...
Thanks for the review, it sounds like a fun project. It turned out great and looks fab on you!
10/23/06 11:28 AM
bunz said...
You brave and crazy woman!! While 72 steps resulting in a not-so-comfortable jacket is not for me, it is fun to see Ann-the-devil:-)
10/23/06 11:34 AM
Erica B. said...
It is absolutely beautiful! I too was drawn to this pattern when VP first released it and after I saw it in DWP movie. I thought it looked a little too complicated for the wear that I would give it, which would be quite limited. It looks to be a "Lady that Lunches" outfit and I'm more of a "Chick that goes out to eat"! LOL But, you did a fantastic job... kudos to you!
10/23/06 11:40 AM
sewbehind said...
Wow! Sometimes you just have to sit back and admire those of you that CAN! 73 steps and you couldn't tell how it would fit until step 60! Amazing.
10/23/06 12:00 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for all your lovely comments. I'll try to answer the questions: Motomeda, the flower is integral to the design. I think it could be cut down in size though. Connie B, not a lot of stretch is necessary but makes the fitting easier. The sleeves would be snug without stretch. ReBecca, the front laps over and is secured with hooks and eyes. I don't think it would work sleeveless because the sleeves hold the front and back together. There is no shoulder seam. I guess you could use a very short sleeve that would hide under the drape. Hope this helps.
10/23/06 12:02 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Like Becky, I love it that you sewed this up as an intellectual/creative challenge and that you persevered for all 72 steps. When I grow up, I want to be the kind of woman like you who can elegantly carry off such a show-stopping design.
10/23/06 12:20 PM
breathless said...
I am so happy that you reviewed this pattern. I have it and your review might give me the extra "push" to finally make it. You did a wonderful job!
10/23/06 12:32 PM
CatherineN said...
The color and neckline are beautiful on you. Only someone with your skill and sense of adventure could make this work.
10/23/06 1:42 PM
ClaireC said...
Ann, as usual another fantastic creation from you. Now, this sounds like it qualifies as a couture garment (my US standards, not French) ;o) I'm stunned and in awe! gorgeous!
10/23/06 2:56 PM
frame said...
What a great review. It looks wonderful on you.
10/23/06 3:06 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Not many would attempt this project. It looks gorgeous on you but, after reading the review, I am not tempted to try this pattern.
10/23/06 3:36 PM
DorothyK said...
Ann, this is spectacular. I saw this in the making and I can't believe it's done already. Probably because I haven't been taking up your time video-chatting. The fabric is gorgeous and the flower is outlandishly wonderful. You look great. I was also wondering about solving the sleeve problem by making it sleeveless, or at least modifying the sleeves to solve the problem. I hope you wear it. PS. I've seen The Devil Wears Prada twice - the second time on the plane - and forgot to look for the top. I guess I'll have to watch it again.
10/23/06 4:35 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Ann, that is amazing. Fabulous job, and amazing perseverence. Thanks for sharing. I love the pants in this pattern. Are you going to make them up as well????
10/23/06 6:31 PM
brrmm said...
Oh my giddy-aunt!!! Ann that is just superb. You look amazing in this and you must get out somewhere in it and show it off girl. Great work. Congrats.
10/23/06 8:01 PM
Sharon M said...
Wow, Wow and Wow again! This is amazing! (Like I could expect any less from you). I"m so glad you tackled this one and then wrote a review! I bought the pattern after seeing DWP, but I'm not sure if I have the patience to sew it after reading your review. Thanks again for sharing!
10/23/06 8:14 PM
sew2little said...
You are the Queen of Sewing!
10/23/06 11:10 PM
patsijean said...
Regarding the sleeves of this great looking top: Is the elastic snug enough to hold them up? Perhaps if the elastic were tightened it would help. Or, would something like a lingerie strap help? Meryl had to keep those sleeves up somehow.
10/24/06 1:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job! You really love a challenge.
10/24/06 5:31 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thank goodness your version is so inspirational - if i had opened my copy of this pattern (you can guess I haven't yet) and seen 73 steps with only that useless dark pattern cover photo to spur me on I might have given up straight away. Thanks for reviewing this, it's stunning on you.
10/24/06 9:33 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
73 steps! You are amazing. It looks fantastic.
10/24/06 11:08 AM
PegL said...
Ditto everything everybody else has already said! Gorgeous top! I do hope you find an occasion to wear it!
10/24/06 11:30 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
You rose to the challenge and made this really unusual top. Of course, it does look grand on you. So much work, so much pleasure at a beautifully finished garmet.
10/24/06 12:00 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
I can't think of anything to add to all the comments, except congratulations on tackling this for the sheer enjoyment of sewing and then again on the result. The top is great on you: you MUST wear it someplace. Thanks for a great review: you are, as someone else said, the Queen of Sewing. This review made my day.
10/24/06 12:15 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Please wear it! Wow is all I can say. I will have to see that movie now, too.
10/24/06 6:00 PM
moushka said...
Ann, this is outstanding. I hope you will consider submitting your pictures to Threads to include in their Reader's Closet series. Your fantastic creation deserves a wider audience. Sue
11/1/06 7:39 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Ann, you look stunning as always, the color compliments you so well:-) have this one too, have taken the instructions to bedreading too, don't know when I have time to tackle this though. Congrats!!! Marita
11/6/06 1:58 AM
JenniferBee said...
Anne, Thank you for reviewing this pattern, now I don't have too. I agree with everything you have said in the review. I ended up cutting the flower extension off as I could not fit it with it hanging off the shoulder. I did use a knit fabric, big mistake, to make it. I also think I should have gone down a size for the shoulder area, it just fell off my shoulders. Fortunately DD loved it and it fits her perfectly, I did scrunch up the excess left from the flower to make a very small flower as DD didn't want the big one. Interesting that you say the sleeves are tight, mine were very loose, must be the knit fabric. I was thinking this would be beautiful in a silk dupion.
11/22/06 3:12 PM
Vonnevo said...
It's a masterpiece Ann ! I missed your review due to being on vacation and looked to see if this pattern had a review as my DS has just announced his wedding date. I have the pattern and thanks to your indepth review, I may tackle it.
11/22/06 4:07 PM
Marji said...
So glad you posted that you made this on the discussiojn board, as I missed the review earlier. I too was intrigued with this pattern when I read the directions - life must really be boring when pattern instructions become bedtime reading! - and have been toying with the idea of making it, for the same reasons you did. Glad for the review and all the info. Thank you
12/21/06 8:55 PM
juliette2 said...
FABULOUS! I'm going to rush out to Spotlight and buy this pattern. I might even be brave enough to sew it up! LOL!
1/31/07 8:23 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Love your jacket, I'm going to take the plunge tonight and give this a try. I hope it turns out as nice as yours!
11/7/12 12:53 PM
moushka said...
Wow! wow! wow! Anne, you are a sewing goddess! That top looks beautiful on you. Do hope you have occasion to wear it sometime, if only for a portrait :) Thank you for sewing this incredible pattern and thank you for sharing your adventure with us.
11/8/12 2:54 PM
lauraborealis said...
I was so inspired by your review that I traced the pattern years ago and finally worked up the nerve to tackle it. I just finished it over the weekend, and my experience/outcome was the same as yours. It was fun in a "could this really work?" kind of way. If I ever wear it, I will have to support the flower in some way, because the weight pulls the neckline down on that side. And despite moving the fastenings way to the side, and adding one on the interior for the left drape, it still gapes too much at the front. I'm going to leave it on my dressform (where it looks best - my dressform has a chest) for a while to see if any solutions present themselves. Not that I'll ever make this again, but I think it would have been fun to use zippers instead of fringe, although weight-wise, that wouldn't work for the flower.
12/17/12 6:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-149

photo
by: MarijaSLO

Review
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now