SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3422 (Men's Shirt)

23 more reviews
Viewed 2167 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/06 4:45 PM
Last Updated:2/18/09 4:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
Goodie, the first to leave a comment! It looks GREAT! And don't worry about the sleeve length. If HE likes it...leave it! Awesome job.
11/6/06 5:05 PM
dbsewer said...
Great job on the shirt. It looks really nice. I think the sleeve length is perfect. Guys nowadays like to wear their sleeves a bit on the long side. I'd say you did a very nice job. Great fabric, too.
11/6/06 5:10 PM
Stephanie C. said...
That looks great. You did a very nice job on the cuffs; clean, neat look.
11/6/06 5:26 PM
Annika said...
Great job! I agree about putting a pleat in the back of your next shirt - It will give him a little more wiggle room :)
11/6/06 5:53 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very RTW. I love that it turned out so nice the first time around. Those changes will really make a special present in a great fabric. Lucky DBF.
11/6/06 6:01 PM
mary in FL said...
Good job for your first men's shirt. Does he tell everyone that it's custom made and that you made it for him?
11/6/06 6:02 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Awsome job on the placket! Ditto on the back pleat
11/6/06 6:06 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Awsome job on the placket!
11/6/06 6:08 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous shirt and great use of the striped fabric. Your attention to detail makes this shirt looks very high end. Thanks for a very informative review :))
11/6/06 6:20 PM
Elona said...
What a terrific-looking shirt! It looks great as is, but as to the folds at the shoulder, it may not be entirely a shoulder slope issue. We all have a sizeable muscle up there called the trapezius. Having a big one is the mark of a weightlifter, and can produce folds that seem to call for a sloped shoulder alteration, but in her book, "Fitting & Pattern Alteration," Judith Rasband calls it "High neck base at sides," and has a segment on how to correct a woman's pattern for it. It basically involves enlarging the neck circumference, but also adding a bit of extra length at the center back, and a little at the inner edge of each shoulder seam. All this lets the shirt drop just a little in the center, and removes those folds. As to the sleeve length, have him "shoot" his sleeves: Extend his arms fast as if he were reaching out for something. If the cuffs bind him, they're too short. If not--and if they're not actually flopping into his soup--the length is probably fine. Guys hate sleeves that bind.
11/6/06 6:26 PM
Karen said...
Nice work and attention to detail. Very nice shirt. Well done.
11/6/06 8:38 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
Very nice work placing the stripes! Inspires me to pull out some stripe that I've been dreading due to placement issues. A thought on the pocket: You may get more points if you put it on, even if he does stuff papers in there. Or make him a zippered pocket "wallet notebook" to put all his papers in.
11/6/06 8:42 PM
Ronda Rae said...
That yoke part through me off the first time, too. I had to tear it out 3 times before I did it right! It looks great.
11/7/06 7:13 AM
JFTA said...
excellent matching of stripes! I thinkif you shortened the sleeves very much it would looseit's casual sexy look & it would look funny when he had to bend his harm and the sleeve gets 'shorter' with movement.
11/7/06 7:17 AM
ACB said...
Well done, and the sleeve length is fine.
11/7/06 9:06 AM
Re Becca said...
Sleeve length is fine the way it is! and, Nice plackets!
11/7/06 11:19 AM
slanden99 said...
Great job on the shirt. Your placket looks perfect. I've been hoping for a review of this pattern. I do think the sleeve need to be shortened 1/2 inch for your next version.
11/7/06 1:18 PM
Rustybobn said...
Great shirt. I think the sleeve length is fine-better a smidgeon too long than too short. You might want to think twice before you take away the man's pockets on the next one!
11/7/06 3:01 PM
jbrewer said...
I think it looks fantastic! Don't shorten the sleeves.
11/8/06 9:00 AM
Kathi R said...
The sleeve plackets look great -- don't you think the illustrations in the DPC take the mystery out of the whole experience? Nice shirt and the next one will go together much faster....
12/25/06 10:43 PM
Michelle T said...
I have never seen a collar so perfectly matched with the stripes on the body of a shirt. (shirt 2) A great shirt!
12/26/06 1:24 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
Lucky guy!
12/30/06 11:39 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a great looking shirt, Karen! Way to go!!
1/1/07 9:10 AM
nfield said...
Nice job on the shirt. I have made this twice for my 20 year old son. I do like to one with the separate collar stand better. He loves them. I monogramed the pocket. I like your idea about the pleats in the back. I have David's book and will have to re-read that section. Definitely will make this again.
1/29/07 10:58 PM
Lisaten said...
GReat shirt
1/30/07 6:33 PM
Wianno Girl said...
In reading all the changes she would make, I agree with her discerning eye. those plackets are beautiful!
7/16/07 11:16 AM
carolynw said...
Just wonderful Karen - such a neat job with everything and I think the sleeves are the right length. Been making some shirts for DH recently and am glad to read Elona's remarks as I was dumb founded by the creases at the back sleeve - DH use to lift weights and has big muscles so I can see how to fix that now. Great work - great looking shirts and oh yeah ! nice looking DBF
7/18/07 8:40 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking shirt and the best part is that he likes them. Good job.
7/18/07 10:56 AM
carolhope said...
Great job on all the shirts. I have a hint on using uneven stripes, such as your light brown shirt. Cut out one side of the front first, then turn your pattern piece upside down for the second side and match your stripes before cutting. In this way, the stripes will flow from the center front and "match" going in different directions. Your stripes look great, but try this technique to see if you like the stripes used in this manner . Only a suggestion...
7/18/07 2:33 PM
sewbehind said...
Great looking shirts, Karen. You did a wonderful job.
7/18/07 6:17 PM
khurtdvm said...
Very nice! This is perfect timing, considering that one of my New Year's resolutions is to finally make DH the shirts I've been promising him....
1/1/08 9:26 PM
cindyann said...
That looks wonderful. It's so nice to see that fabric made up. I'm thinking this pattern needs to have a home with me.
1/1/08 9:28 PM
Kim Winson said...
What a beautiful shirt (all of them, really). I'm very tempted to buy the pattern but there are no men in my life to sew for currently..well, maybe my second brother. he wears this style of shirt to work. Hmmm...I have been enabled!
1/1/08 10:31 PM
EveS said...
Ok, so I bought this pattern a long time ago based on your previous versions and still haven't finished ONE. You're making me feel verrry guilty! You are the men's shirt goddess...love the yoke!
1/1/08 10:38 PM
nicegirl said...
LOVE the chevron yoke. And a Mood gift certificate--now *that* is the way to a woman's heart!!!!
1/1/08 10:39 PM
carolynw said...
Great looking shirt
1/2/08 9:25 AM
AnneM said...
Great new version. Congrats on having a TNT pattern to use; it is worth it! Particularly for men's shirts. Vary the fabric & most people won't realize it is the same pattern.
1/2/08 4:29 PM
Angelia74 said...
Beautiful shirt! Thanks for reviewing this. I'me very into sewing for my DH and I'll have to check into getting this one!
1/2/08 8:25 PM
Christas said...
What a treat getting to see all the VERY nice shirts you have made your boyfriend out of this pattern. WONDERFUL! ALL of them!
2/18/09 5:27 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
BRAVO! BRAVO! Great shirts!
2/18/09 7:01 PM
Kellie R. said...
Great shirts Karen! There's something very satisfying about a nice shirt - these are super!
2/18/09 7:06 PM
Diana M said...
LOVE the 2x2 button placement -- looks very high end. Gorgeous shirt.
2/18/09 8:42 PM
pterion said...
Beautiful work on all the boyfriend shirts! He sure is a lucky guy. Love the square buttons on this last one.
2/18/09 10:20 PM
Karen8320 said...
Fabulous work, Karen! Wow, the color in this shirt is amazing - in a really great way! I love everything you've done here. Fabulous work!
2/18/09 11:27 PM
Kim Winson said...
Another smashing shirt. Glad his tastes have evolved because it looks amazing.
2/19/09 0:04 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous shirts! This pattern looks like a winner and DBF is one lucky man. I hope he realises. ;)
2/19/09 0:30 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking shirts - love the fabric choices. DBF should be so pleased
2/19/09 9:44 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Karen, You are quite the shirt style master. I love all versions of this fabulous shirt.
2/19/09 4:32 PM
Hilary said...
I can't believe I never commented on this! What a great looking bunch of shirts you've made~Wow!! Well done, and I appreciate all your updates. Every version looks great-I am going to get pick this pattern up-can't believe I don't have it. Thanks for all the tips!
6/16/10 3:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Lekala Patterns 4177

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now