Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2005-103 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1147 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:regine
photo
Friend of PR
About reginestar
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/06 3:43 PM
Last Updated:11/13/06 1:40 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
Very pretty!
11/7/06 4:51 PM
j222b said...
Love this. Idea for seams: cut seam allowances to one fourth inch and hand overcast, giving the look of "serging" (this is not flat either). or put on your creative hat: as Elaray might say, "what would Coco Chanel have done?"
11/7/06 5:28 PM
ACB said...
Looks great, don't worry we won't send the seam police for you.
11/7/06 7:07 PM
regine said...
I wish I knew what Coco Chanel would have done
11/7/06 11:57 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I would mostly worry about fraying in hemp if it's not serged. You can always hand overcast after the fact, if you develop a problem, but that's a pain... I'd say any not flat-ness is due to lack of pressing rather than seam construction, try giving it lots of heat and steam, just as if it were linen.
11/8/06 2:01 AM
regine said...
Thanks fuzzygalore, I will try pressing it again.
11/8/06 4:53 AM
renaanne said...
Looks lovely! I must have missed that one but I've been looking for a cardigan. Thanks for the review:-)
11/8/06 9:30 AM
Doris W. in TN said...
You can still serge the seam allowances together and press to one side, or serge each individual s/a if you like. The cardigan turned out great.
11/8/06 4:19 PM
regine said...
thanks for all the helpful comments
11/9/06 0:54 AM
lgrande said...
I really like it! I can see your expertise in the finish. It's a pattern that I'd be inclined to make as well. I like my tops on the long side so agree that it would look just as nice if it were a bit longer. I think you did a lovely job, I'd love to see the inside of the garment just because I'm sure it looks every bit as perfect there. I'm curious as to why you were advised to not serge the seams?
6/29/12 4:25 PM
regine said...
Hi Igrande, This cardigan was made 6 years ago and I cannot remember too much about making it. I looked at the sewing instructions and they clearly state 1.5 cm seam allowance. That is probably why I did not use the serger. It would have been better but the cardigan would have been bigger.
6/30/12 1:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6700
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 5/16/13
Read Review

Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2260 Pattern ( Size 16-18 )
McCalls 2260 Pattern ( Size 16-18 )

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 1126-1000
photo
Review by Maria Hatf... on 9/29/04
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us