SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2005-103 

3 more reviews
Viewed 1148 times 
Reviewed by:regine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About reginestar
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/06 3:43 PM
Last Updated:11/13/06 1:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
Very pretty!
11/7/06 4:51 PM
j222b said...
Love this. Idea for seams: cut seam allowances to one fourth inch and hand overcast, giving the look of "serging" (this is not flat either). or put on your creative hat: as Elaray might say, "what would Coco Chanel have done?"
11/7/06 5:28 PM
ACB said...
Looks great, don't worry we won't send the seam police for you.
11/7/06 7:07 PM
regine said...
I wish I knew what Coco Chanel would have done
11/7/06 11:57 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I would mostly worry about fraying in hemp if it's not serged. You can always hand overcast after the fact, if you develop a problem, but that's a pain... I'd say any not flat-ness is due to lack of pressing rather than seam construction, try giving it lots of heat and steam, just as if it were linen.
11/8/06 2:01 AM
regine said...
Thanks fuzzygalore, I will try pressing it again.
11/8/06 4:53 AM
renaanne said...
Looks lovely! I must have missed that one but I've been looking for a cardigan. Thanks for the review:-)
11/8/06 9:30 AM
Doris W. in TN said...
You can still serge the seam allowances together and press to one side, or serge each individual s/a if you like. The cardigan turned out great.
11/8/06 4:19 PM
regine said...
thanks for all the helpful comments
11/9/06 0:54 AM
lgrande said...
I really like it! I can see your expertise in the finish. It's a pattern that I'd be inclined to make as well. I like my tops on the long side so agree that it would look just as nice if it were a bit longer. I think you did a lovely job, I'd love to see the inside of the garment just because I'm sure it looks every bit as perfect there. I'm curious as to why you were advised to not serge the seams?
6/29/12 4:25 PM
regine said...
Hi Igrande, This cardigan was made 6 years ago and I cannot remember too much about making it. I looked at the sewing instructions and they clearly state 1.5 cm seam allowance. That is probably why I did not use the serger. It would have been better but the cardigan would have been bigger.
6/30/12 1:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: AngelaCole...

Review
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now