SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2005-103 

3 more reviews
Viewed 1148 times 
Reviewed by:regine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About reginestar
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/06 3:43 PM
Last Updated:11/13/06 1:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
regine said...
Hi Igrande, This cardigan was made 6 years ago and I cannot remember too much about making it. I looked at the sewing instructions and they clearly state 1.5 cm seam allowance. That is probably why I did not use the serger. It would have been better but the cardigan would have been bigger.
6/30/12 1:45 PM
lgrande said...
I really like it! I can see your expertise in the finish. It's a pattern that I'd be inclined to make as well. I like my tops on the long side so agree that it would look just as nice if it were a bit longer. I think you did a lovely job, I'd love to see the inside of the garment just because I'm sure it looks every bit as perfect there. I'm curious as to why you were advised to not serge the seams?
6/29/12 4:25 PM
regine said...
thanks for all the helpful comments
11/9/06 0:54 AM
Doris W. in TN said...
You can still serge the seam allowances together and press to one side, or serge each individual s/a if you like. The cardigan turned out great.
11/8/06 4:19 PM
renaanne said...
Looks lovely! I must have missed that one but I've been looking for a cardigan. Thanks for the review:-)
11/8/06 9:30 AM
regine said...
Thanks fuzzygalore, I will try pressing it again.
11/8/06 4:53 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I would mostly worry about fraying in hemp if it's not serged. You can always hand overcast after the fact, if you develop a problem, but that's a pain... I'd say any not flat-ness is due to lack of pressing rather than seam construction, try giving it lots of heat and steam, just as if it were linen.
11/8/06 2:01 AM
regine said...
I wish I knew what Coco Chanel would have done
11/7/06 11:57 PM
ACB said...
Looks great, don't worry we won't send the seam police for you.
11/7/06 7:07 PM
j222b said...
Love this. Idea for seams: cut seam allowances to one fourth inch and hand overcast, giving the look of "serging" (this is not flat either). or put on your creative hat: as Elaray might say, "what would Coco Chanel have done?"
11/7/06 5:28 PM
Tiner W said...
Very pretty!
11/7/06 4:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Simplicity 2588

photo
by: BeckiP

Review
Simplicity 3758

photo
by: christywhi...

Review
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now