Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4954 (Jacket - design your own) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 5190 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/06 10:09 AM
Last Updated:11/18/06 10:13 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Truly a couture work. And the hand quilting is exquisite and completely invisible (I've seen the WIP up close). Phyllis, I can't wait to see the finished jacket on you. It was truly worth all the work. -Ann
11/18/06 11:16 AM
Diane E said...
Phyllis, this is a lovely jacket. I'll bet it feels luscious to wear. I love sweaters and sweatery jackets, and this one would disappear from your closet if I lived close enough to make a secret cat-burgling visit.....
11/18/06 11:27 AM
carolynw said...
Over the top is what I say. I am going to get the pattern but am not sure I have all the patience that's needed for the hand sewing - but who knows !! Your jacket is one you can wear with such pride as am sure you will look fabulous!! Have the Threads mag you mention and have been keeping it out front in case I ever want to try doing a Chanel jacket!!
11/18/06 11:52 AM
Kay Y said...
It's great to see how you used this pattern as the base for a true couture effort. It looks really lovely.
11/18/06 12:38 PM
Elona said...
Killer jacket! A knockout.
11/18/06 1:25 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Wish my UFO's looked like this when finished ... stunning!
11/18/06 2:02 PM
PVA said...
Good Godfrey, Phyllis -- when you finish a UFO, it is *Finished* in every sense of the word! I would love to be in the same room with you wearing that jacket! Even Coco herself would be impressed! Thank you for the review, I hope you'll let us see a photo of you wearing it!
11/18/06 3:10 PM
MarilynB said...
Just lovely, Phyllis. I'm sure this will remain in your wardrobe for a long time. Thanks for listing all your sewing resources.
11/18/06 3:11 PM
LBJ said...
Wow!
11/18/06 4:20 PM
crisford said...
This is fabulous!! I had wanted to do this years ago but didn't have complete info. I love the idea of quilted layers and no interfacing.
11/18/06 6:27 PM
Erica B. said...
Great looking jacket... very Coco!
11/18/06 7:49 PM
tlmck3 said...
Thank you again for the thorough tutorial and the tips about what's missing in the Threads article which already had me thinking about this process as a suitable winter nights project.
11/19/06 2:27 AM
Karen said...
Congratulations on your stunning jacket. Inspirational! Thank you for the great review.
11/19/06 3:18 AM
blue mooney said...
Way to finish, Phyllis! Your jacket is lovely, and sounds like it's a dream to wear.
11/19/06 7:25 AM
SBanks said...
Fantastic! Thanks for the thorough run-down on the Divas Blog!
11/19/06 2:27 PM
candyo said...
I really like your jacket, esp. the lining fabric! I love pink. I've begun reading up on couture techniques as well, so I enjoyed reading this and your blog entry.
11/19/06 4:16 PM
OP Gal said...
Just gorgeous! I admire your skills. Thanks for the review.
11/19/06 6:47 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Fantastic jacket: love everything about it: all the work you put into this really shows: a wonderful couture piece. Congratulations!
11/20/06 11:26 AM
patsijean said...
I love this jacket. Beautiful work. A Chanel style jacket is on my long list.
11/20/06 11:57 PM
AnneM said...
It's nice to know you have UFOs as well. Great jacket. Hand sewing can be very rewarding.
11/27/06 9:56 AM
Marji said...
Stunning! For me, it's a love-it color too. I found the process you went through interesting, in the ways it varies from the process I've sewn my jackets. I also find that storing the jacket folded flat is better than allowing it to hang. Hanging pulls too much on the shoulders and the boucle.
4/10/07 3:48 AM
JudithM said...
Links to the fabric and notion suppliers used or addresses and phone #s would be very helpful
7/18/07 4:15 PM
Kung Fu Girl said...
Hey Phyllis, thanks so much for all this great info. I've been searching for a Chanel jacket pattern. I'll never be able to afford the real thing, but I'm looking forward to a challenging sewing project. You tips are a big help.
2/26/08 9:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's 6113
photo
Review by Dawnabbey on 4/20/13
Read Review

Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)
Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1100
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 5/19/12
Read Review

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3853 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3853 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7069 Pattern
Burda 7069 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us