SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4954 (Jacket - design your own)

19 more reviews
Viewed 5207 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/06 10:09 AM
Last Updated:11/18/06 10:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kung Fu Girl said...
Hey Phyllis, thanks so much for all this great info. I've been searching for a Chanel jacket pattern. I'll never be able to afford the real thing, but I'm looking forward to a challenging sewing project. You tips are a big help.
2/26/08 9:25 AM
JudithM said...
Links to the fabric and notion suppliers used or addresses and phone #s would be very helpful
7/18/07 4:15 PM
Marji said...
Stunning! For me, it's a love-it color too. I found the process you went through interesting, in the ways it varies from the process I've sewn my jackets. I also find that storing the jacket folded flat is better than allowing it to hang. Hanging pulls too much on the shoulders and the boucle.
4/10/07 3:48 AM
AnneM said...
It's nice to know you have UFOs as well. Great jacket. Hand sewing can be very rewarding.
11/27/06 9:56 AM
patsijean said...
I love this jacket. Beautiful work. A Chanel style jacket is on my long list.
11/20/06 11:57 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Fantastic jacket: love everything about it: all the work you put into this really shows: a wonderful couture piece. Congratulations!
11/20/06 11:26 AM
OP Gal said...
Just gorgeous! I admire your skills. Thanks for the review.
11/19/06 6:47 PM
candyo said...
I really like your jacket, esp. the lining fabric! I love pink. I've begun reading up on couture techniques as well, so I enjoyed reading this and your blog entry.
11/19/06 4:16 PM
SBanks said...
Fantastic! Thanks for the thorough run-down on the Divas Blog!
11/19/06 2:27 PM
blue mooney said...
Way to finish, Phyllis! Your jacket is lovely, and sounds like it's a dream to wear.
11/19/06 7:25 AM
Karen said...
Congratulations on your stunning jacket. Inspirational! Thank you for the great review.
11/19/06 3:18 AM
tlmck3 said...
Thank you again for the thorough tutorial and the tips about what's missing in the Threads article which already had me thinking about this process as a suitable winter nights project.
11/19/06 2:27 AM
Erica B. said...
Great looking jacket... very Coco!
11/18/06 7:49 PM
crisford said...
This is fabulous!! I had wanted to do this years ago but didn't have complete info. I love the idea of quilted layers and no interfacing.
11/18/06 6:27 PM
LBJ said...
Wow!
11/18/06 4:20 PM
MarilynB said...
Just lovely, Phyllis. I'm sure this will remain in your wardrobe for a long time. Thanks for listing all your sewing resources.
11/18/06 3:11 PM
PVA said...
Good Godfrey, Phyllis -- when you finish a UFO, it is *Finished* in every sense of the word! I would love to be in the same room with you wearing that jacket! Even Coco herself would be impressed! Thank you for the review, I hope you'll let us see a photo of you wearing it!
11/18/06 3:10 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Wish my UFO's looked like this when finished ... stunning!
11/18/06 2:02 PM
Elona said...
Killer jacket! A knockout.
11/18/06 1:25 PM
Kay Y said...
It's great to see how you used this pattern as the base for a true couture effort. It looks really lovely.
11/18/06 12:38 PM
carolynw said...
Over the top is what I say. I am going to get the pattern but am not sure I have all the patience that's needed for the hand sewing - but who knows !! Your jacket is one you can wear with such pride as am sure you will look fabulous!! Have the Threads mag you mention and have been keeping it out front in case I ever want to try doing a Chanel jacket!!
11/18/06 11:52 AM
Diane E said...
Phyllis, this is a lovely jacket. I'll bet it feels luscious to wear. I love sweaters and sweatery jackets, and this one would disappear from your closet if I lived close enough to make a secret cat-burgling visit.....
11/18/06 11:27 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Truly a couture work. And the hand quilting is exquisite and completely invisible (I've seen the WIP up close). Phyllis, I can't wait to see the finished jacket on you. It was truly worth all the work. -Ann
11/18/06 11:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3915

photo
by: flora scot...

Review

Pattern

Vogue Patterns 1328

photo
by: rivergum

Review
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

More Info