SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4047 (1950's Wardrobe)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1658 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/20/06 7:03 PM
Last Updated:11/20/06 7:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ACB said...
Simply beautiful!
11/21/06 10:28 PM
Sewing Chick said...
I love your blouse. I could have sworn it was pieced by the picture. I may have to consider this pattern. Thanks for the great review!
11/21/06 8:05 PM
Linda E. said...
lovely top.. I like the fabric you choose too bad it was such a bear to work with..
11/21/06 8:06 AM
Schnauzer said...
Ann, your blouse is gorgeous!
11/21/06 0:45 AM
luvzdogz said...
I want to make one! This top looks like one of those pricey little numbers from the Anthropologie store - and the pin really finishes it off.
11/20/06 11:36 PM
BeckyC said...
Ann, the blouse is beautiful on you. The fabric is perfect for this style, too bad it was such a pain to work with. Beautiful job.
11/20/06 10:57 PM
Carolyndh said...
Your fabric really makes this blouse! It is amazing that you were able to use the print design in such a way that it looks like it was pieced to fit the design of the pattern but actually isn't. Very nice!
11/20/06 10:35 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely blouse. The fabric is really interesting.
11/20/06 9:44 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Ann you are such an inspiration. I look forward to your reviews and seeing your unique lovely creations.
11/20/06 9:39 PM
Mini said...
This is such a cute design, and the fit is really flattering. I agree with LMH about the bias stretch factor causing the sleeve to curl. If this blouse was drafted with the authentic 50's shoulder line (sloping and with a bias grain down the top seam of the sleeve), stretching is going to be a problem. Dressmakers back then used woven seam tape to stabilize the shoulders when sewing this kind of cut-on sleeve. The crinkle rayon must have added to the problem too. With a cotton or linen plain weave, you get a lot more control. I'm looking forward to seeing the next piece from this wardrobe-it's looking great so far:).
11/20/06 8:15 PM
purpleseamstress said...
The curl in the sleeves looks very feminine. I wouldn't have thought of it as a flaw. When I saw your swing jacket, I had hoped you would review this blouse. I think it's lovely and very flattering.
11/20/06 7:43 PM
CarolynGM said...
The fabric looks fantastic made up in this style. I was convinced you had pieced it until I read the review.
11/20/06 7:43 PM
Lisette said...
Your blouse is lovely, I'm glad I bought this pattern.
11/20/06 7:37 PM
LMH said...
Ann, were the sleeves by any chance cut on the bias even slightly? I've worked with rayon twice now, and any seam that cuts across the grain on even the slightest diagonal suddenly generates stretching and odd behavior. Rayon is a truly difficult fabric to work with in my opinion. But your blouse looks really good. Maybe you could tack the cuffs up invisibly somehow, though I'm sure you've already thought of that.
11/20/06 7:25 PM
frame said...
That's a great looking blouse.
11/20/06 7:24 PM
maryfrana said...
Glad you persevered with difficult fabric to make this wonderful top. Great job.
11/20/06 7:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Butterick 5257

photo
by: sewnaughty

Review