SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4047 (1950's Wardrobe)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1657 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 385 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/20/06 7:03 PM
Last Updated:11/20/06 7:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maryfrana said...
Glad you persevered with difficult fabric to make this wonderful top. Great job.
11/20/06 7:14 PM
frame said...
That's a great looking blouse.
11/20/06 7:24 PM
LMH said...
Ann, were the sleeves by any chance cut on the bias even slightly? I've worked with rayon twice now, and any seam that cuts across the grain on even the slightest diagonal suddenly generates stretching and odd behavior. Rayon is a truly difficult fabric to work with in my opinion. But your blouse looks really good. Maybe you could tack the cuffs up invisibly somehow, though I'm sure you've already thought of that.
11/20/06 7:25 PM
Lisette said...
Your blouse is lovely, I'm glad I bought this pattern.
11/20/06 7:37 PM
CarolynGM said...
The fabric looks fantastic made up in this style. I was convinced you had pieced it until I read the review.
11/20/06 7:43 PM
purpleseamstress said...
The curl in the sleeves looks very feminine. I wouldn't have thought of it as a flaw. When I saw your swing jacket, I had hoped you would review this blouse. I think it's lovely and very flattering.
11/20/06 7:43 PM
Mini said...
This is such a cute design, and the fit is really flattering. I agree with LMH about the bias stretch factor causing the sleeve to curl. If this blouse was drafted with the authentic 50's shoulder line (sloping and with a bias grain down the top seam of the sleeve), stretching is going to be a problem. Dressmakers back then used woven seam tape to stabilize the shoulders when sewing this kind of cut-on sleeve. The crinkle rayon must have added to the problem too. With a cotton or linen plain weave, you get a lot more control. I'm looking forward to seeing the next piece from this wardrobe-it's looking great so far:).
11/20/06 8:15 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Ann you are such an inspiration. I look forward to your reviews and seeing your unique lovely creations.
11/20/06 9:39 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely blouse. The fabric is really interesting.
11/20/06 9:44 PM
Carolyndh said...
Your fabric really makes this blouse! It is amazing that you were able to use the print design in such a way that it looks like it was pieced to fit the design of the pattern but actually isn't. Very nice!
11/20/06 10:35 PM
BeckyC said...
Ann, the blouse is beautiful on you. The fabric is perfect for this style, too bad it was such a pain to work with. Beautiful job.
11/20/06 10:57 PM
luvzdogz said...
I want to make one! This top looks like one of those pricey little numbers from the Anthropologie store - and the pin really finishes it off.
11/20/06 11:36 PM
Schnauzer said...
Ann, your blouse is gorgeous!
11/21/06 0:45 AM
Linda E. said...
lovely top.. I like the fabric you choose too bad it was such a bear to work with..
11/21/06 8:06 AM
Sewing Chick said...
I love your blouse. I could have sworn it was pieced by the picture. I may have to consider this pattern. Thanks for the great review!
11/21/06 8:05 PM
ACB said...
Simply beautiful!
11/21/06 10:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Butterick 5756

photo
by: loti

Review
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now
McCall's 6711

photo
by: Lori V

Review