Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4047 (1950's Wardrobe) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1656 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/20/06 7:03 PM
Last Updated:11/20/06 7:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maryfrana said...
Glad you persevered with difficult fabric to make this wonderful top. Great job.
11/20/06 7:14 PM
frame said...
That's a great looking blouse.
11/20/06 7:24 PM
LMH said...
Ann, were the sleeves by any chance cut on the bias even slightly? I've worked with rayon twice now, and any seam that cuts across the grain on even the slightest diagonal suddenly generates stretching and odd behavior. Rayon is a truly difficult fabric to work with in my opinion. But your blouse looks really good. Maybe you could tack the cuffs up invisibly somehow, though I'm sure you've already thought of that.
11/20/06 7:25 PM
Lisette said...
Your blouse is lovely, I'm glad I bought this pattern.
11/20/06 7:37 PM
CarolynGM said...
The fabric looks fantastic made up in this style. I was convinced you had pieced it until I read the review.
11/20/06 7:43 PM
purpleseamstress said...
The curl in the sleeves looks very feminine. I wouldn't have thought of it as a flaw. When I saw your swing jacket, I had hoped you would review this blouse. I think it's lovely and very flattering.
11/20/06 7:43 PM
Mini said...
This is such a cute design, and the fit is really flattering. I agree with LMH about the bias stretch factor causing the sleeve to curl. If this blouse was drafted with the authentic 50's shoulder line (sloping and with a bias grain down the top seam of the sleeve), stretching is going to be a problem. Dressmakers back then used woven seam tape to stabilize the shoulders when sewing this kind of cut-on sleeve. The crinkle rayon must have added to the problem too. With a cotton or linen plain weave, you get a lot more control. I'm looking forward to seeing the next piece from this wardrobe-it's looking great so far:).
11/20/06 8:15 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Ann you are such an inspiration. I look forward to your reviews and seeing your unique lovely creations.
11/20/06 9:39 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely blouse. The fabric is really interesting.
11/20/06 9:44 PM
Carolyndh said...
Your fabric really makes this blouse! It is amazing that you were able to use the print design in such a way that it looks like it was pieced to fit the design of the pattern but actually isn't. Very nice!
11/20/06 10:35 PM
BeckyC said...
Ann, the blouse is beautiful on you. The fabric is perfect for this style, too bad it was such a pain to work with. Beautiful job.
11/20/06 10:57 PM
luvzdogz said...
I want to make one! This top looks like one of those pricey little numbers from the Anthropologie store - and the pin really finishes it off.
11/20/06 11:36 PM
Schnauzer said...
Ann, your blouse is gorgeous!
11/21/06 0:45 AM
Linda E. said...
lovely top.. I like the fabric you choose too bad it was such a bear to work with..
11/21/06 8:06 AM
Sewing Chick said...
I love your blouse. I could have sworn it was pieced by the picture. I may have to consider this pattern. Thanks for the great review!
11/21/06 8:05 PM
ACB said...
Simply beautiful!
11/21/06 10:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

StyleArc Anita Peasant Blouse
photo
Review by jannw on 5/8/12
Read Review

McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6179 Pattern
New Look 6179 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Australian Smocking & Embroidery Magazine 74-2006-emilee Emilee
photo
Review by solosmocke... on 3/2/11
Read Review

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us