SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4789-Twist dress (Butterick)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1723 times 
Reviewed by:knottygnome
photo

 
 
About knottygnomestar
NY USA
Member since: 3/30/05
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/06 2:57 PM
Last Updated:4/5/12 8:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
Awesome dress! Great job on it, too. Yeah, I'm in my mid 40's...I'd have to tone it WAY down!! LOL. Great review.
11/25/06 3:01 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
I don't think the dress is too loud at all. I too am in my mid-forties, much older than you I'm sure. But, I would wear this with nice makeup and plain black accessories. I would definitely wear it for social occasions such as going to lunch or dinner, going to a baby or wedding shower, etc. Because I live in a warm climate, "hot pastels" are definitely appropriate for non-work clothing. Some work places would also be fine to wear this to. Seriously, because the style is relatively simple, I would not consider this print too loud for you. Your black hair and smooth skin looks great with this print.
11/25/06 3:28 PM
ACB said...
I am in total agreement with the others, it's looks awesome, (by the way I have this fabric from Lucy's somewhere in my stash), and in Miami we love wild bold colors (South Beach). You can label it as resort wear!
11/25/06 4:09 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
What's age got to do with loudness? I know plenty of women in their 40s who would wear this dress in a heartbeat or two or three! This dress rocks in a Betsy Johnson sort of way (she'd like it and she's certainly past the abovementioned number).
11/25/06 4:10 PM
Pyrose said...
I really like the twist top and your fabric choice is cool. I think you look awesome in this dress.
11/25/06 4:28 PM
bunz said...
What an awsome result from a simple pattern!! I agree that the fabric is terrific, but you have to feel comfortable wearing it out.
11/25/06 6:31 PM
Melody said...
I love what you've accomplished. I personally don't think it's too loud, I have that fabric (and pattern, hmm) as well and I love seeing it as a twist dress. It looks great on and looks really cute with your black boots. It's very "InStyle" magazine. My fashionista friends would be envious.
11/25/06 7:22 PM
VtMartha said...
OK, don't snicker. I bought that fabric and I am over 60! And I'm inspired by your review.
11/25/06 7:35 PM
Erica B. said...
Very cute dress. I love the fabric -- very Pucci-esque!
11/25/06 10:52 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I LOVE the dress and the fabric!!! Glad to know it was easy to put together.
11/26/06 0:15 AM
Jan B. said...
This dress is sharp! It looks great on you and will be very versatile!
11/26/06 0:29 AM
Ann Smith said...
That's a WOW dress. Please wear it!!
11/26/06 0:47 AM
carolynw said...
A real knock out - wear it often - bet there will be a lot of heads turning!!
11/26/06 8:56 AM
AnneM said...
Well, you will definitely stand out in a crowd with that fabric. If you don't get wear out of it, turn it into a top to wear with jeans. The style looks nice, & in a different fabric the dress would look different.
11/26/06 9:49 AM
Nancy K said...
Great dress, looks great on you
11/26/06 9:50 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very unique dress! Not all figures can pull off a print like this, but it looks great on you.
11/26/06 1:13 PM
Sharon M said...
This dress is great! and especially love the fabric.
11/26/06 2:50 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I am 62 and I would wear this dress in a heartbeat if I had your figure. Well done!
11/26/06 3:01 PM
Kelly D. said...
I'm joining everyone who says, "It's not too loud!" Wear it with pride, it's a great dress. Thanks for the review.
3/20/07 12:10 PM
Soliel said...
New version is very cute!!! Love that pinky knit! Old version is MOD and cute, too, just thought I'd comment on the "update".
3/20/07 1:19 PM
Littlehuntingcreek said...
My 22 year old daughter was looking over my shoulder and she said - mom, can you make one of those for me? we both love the print - very fashion forward. It looks great on you :)
3/20/07 4:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now