SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 1055 times 
Reviewed by:Autumn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Autumnstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/02 9:07 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks, Autumn! Extending View A into a straight dress is what I was thinking; the similarity between that and the New York Dress hadn't struck me yet. Hm...do I have enough nerve to put my body in a dress that...sleek? :) I bet the flounce is cute, too!
11/24/02 6:43 PM
Autumn said...
Lisa, if I remember correctly, I lengthened the pattern into a dress using a slight flare (extending view A along the lines, or following the flare given in Textile Studio's Basic Dress). I added a short skirt. I considered a skirt like the City dress or Provence dress, but I was short on fabric, so I opted for a short flounce-like skirt that started at mid-thigh. It ended as a cute dress. By the way, if you simply extend the cowl top view A, you end up with a dress similar in shape to the New York dress, view A (except for the neckline of course!) - at least that's what I recall.
11/24/02 4:30 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Just today I was considering the possiblity of lengthening this into a dress! Any tips on how you went about it? How did it turn out?
11/23/02 0:41 AM
Karen Bowers said...
nice review, autumn. i've been thinking about this pattern ever since LH's class -- i think i'll get the raglan top first (do out this week or next week, right?), but this one just looks very versatile.
11/22/02 11:42 PM
Amanda L said...
Thank you for writing such a thorough review, and for your great tips about fabric choice and lengthening the pattern into a dress. This sure is the Energizer Bunny of patterns. It keeps going, and going...
11/22/02 10:01 PM
said...
Nice review, Autumn. You sure have done a lot or work with this pattern, customizing it for yourself in so many ways!
11/22/02 9:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Mel.J said...
Autumn - thankyou for a very comprehensive review. Very helpful. Simply the fact that you've made it up so many times is a big vote of confidence for the pattern. It sounds like a very successful & versatile wardrobe staple! Converting it to a dress is an interesting idea too.
11/22/02 9:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 5871

photo
by: Artemisia ...

Review

Pattern

Threads Magazine 05-2013-Bias Pants

photo
by: RMJ

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now