SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 1055 times 
Reviewed by:Autumn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Autumnstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/02 9:07 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
Autumn - thankyou for a very comprehensive review. Very helpful. Simply the fact that you've made it up so many times is a big vote of confidence for the pattern. It sounds like a very successful & versatile wardrobe staple! Converting it to a dress is an interesting idea too.
11/22/02 9:17 PM
said...
Nice review, Autumn. You sure have done a lot or work with this pattern, customizing it for yourself in so many ways!
11/22/02 9:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Amanda L said...
Thank you for writing such a thorough review, and for your great tips about fabric choice and lengthening the pattern into a dress. This sure is the Energizer Bunny of patterns. It keeps going, and going...
11/22/02 10:01 PM
Karen Bowers said...
nice review, autumn. i've been thinking about this pattern ever since LH's class -- i think i'll get the raglan top first (do out this week or next week, right?), but this one just looks very versatile.
11/22/02 11:42 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Just today I was considering the possiblity of lengthening this into a dress! Any tips on how you went about it? How did it turn out?
11/23/02 0:41 AM
Autumn said...
Lisa, if I remember correctly, I lengthened the pattern into a dress using a slight flare (extending view A along the lines, or following the flare given in Textile Studio's Basic Dress). I added a short skirt. I considered a skirt like the City dress or Provence dress, but I was short on fabric, so I opted for a short flounce-like skirt that started at mid-thigh. It ended as a cute dress. By the way, if you simply extend the cowl top view A, you end up with a dress similar in shape to the New York dress, view A (except for the neckline of course!) - at least that's what I recall.
11/24/02 4:30 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks, Autumn! Extending View A into a straight dress is what I was thinking; the similarity between that and the New York Dress hadn't struck me yet. Hm...do I have enough nerve to put my body in a dress that...sleek? :) I bet the flounce is cute, too!
11/24/02 6:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now