Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5203 (Cowl Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1054 times 40 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Autumn
photo
Friend of PR
About Autumnstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/02 9:07 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
Autumn - thankyou for a very comprehensive review. Very helpful. Simply the fact that you've made it up so many times is a big vote of confidence for the pattern. It sounds like a very successful & versatile wardrobe staple! Converting it to a dress is an interesting idea too.
11/22/02 9:17 PM
said...
Nice review, Autumn. You sure have done a lot or work with this pattern, customizing it for yourself in so many ways!
11/22/02 9:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Amanda L said...
Thank you for writing such a thorough review, and for your great tips about fabric choice and lengthening the pattern into a dress. This sure is the Energizer Bunny of patterns. It keeps going, and going...
11/22/02 10:01 PM
Karen Bowers said...
nice review, autumn. i've been thinking about this pattern ever since LH's class -- i think i'll get the raglan top first (do out this week or next week, right?), but this one just looks very versatile.
11/22/02 11:42 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Just today I was considering the possiblity of lengthening this into a dress! Any tips on how you went about it? How did it turn out?
11/23/02 0:41 AM
Autumn said...
Lisa, if I remember correctly, I lengthened the pattern into a dress using a slight flare (extending view A along the lines, or following the flare given in Textile Studio's Basic Dress). I added a short skirt. I considered a skirt like the City dress or Provence dress, but I was short on fabric, so I opted for a short flounce-like skirt that started at mid-thigh. It ended as a cute dress. By the way, if you simply extend the cowl top view A, you end up with a dress similar in shape to the New York dress, view A (except for the neckline of course!) - at least that's what I recall.
11/24/02 4:30 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks, Autumn! Extending View A into a straight dress is what I was thinking; the similarity between that and the New York Dress hadn't struck me yet. Hm...do I have enough nerve to put my body in a dress that...sleek? :) I bet the flounce is cute, too!
11/24/02 6:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2007-02
photo
Review by bananaoil on 3/19/11
Read Review

Simplicity 1710 Pattern ( Size S-M-L )
Simplicity 1710 Pattern ( Size S-M-L )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6271 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6271 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2013-10
photo
Review by kidmd on 5/21/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Minna Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Minna Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us