SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 1055 times 
Reviewed by:Autumn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Autumnstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/02 9:07 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said... (11/24/02 6:43 PM) Reply
Thanks, Autumn! Extending View A into a straight dress is what I was thinking; the similarity between that and the New York Dress hadn't struck me yet. Hm...do I have enough nerve to put my body in a dress that...sleek? :) I bet the flounce is cute, too!
Autumn said... (11/24/02 4:30 AM) Reply
Lisa, if I remember correctly, I lengthened the pattern into a dress using a slight flare (extending view A along the lines, or following the flare given in Textile Studio's Basic Dress). I added a short skirt. I considered a skirt like the City dress or Provence dress, but I was short on fabric, so I opted for a short flounce-like skirt that started at mid-thigh. It ended as a cute dress. By the way, if you simply extend the cowl top view A, you end up with a dress similar in shape to the New York dress, view A (except for the neckline of course!) - at least that's what I recall.
Lisa Laree said... (11/23/02 0:41 AM) Reply
Just today I was considering the possiblity of lengthening this into a dress! Any tips on how you went about it? How did it turn out?
Karen Bowers said... (11/22/02 11:42 PM) Reply
nice review, autumn. i've been thinking about this pattern ever since LH's class -- i think i'll get the raglan top first (do out this week or next week, right?), but this one just looks very versatile.
Amanda L said... (11/22/02 10:01 PM) Reply
Thank you for writing such a thorough review, and for your great tips about fabric choice and lengthening the pattern into a dress. This sure is the Energizer Bunny of patterns. It keeps going, and going...
said... (11/22/02 9:18 PM) Reply
Nice review, Autumn. You sure have done a lot or work with this pattern, customizing it for yourself in so many ways!
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Mel.J said... (11/22/02 9:17 PM) Reply
Autumn - thankyou for a very comprehensive review. Very helpful. Simply the fact that you've made it up so many times is a big vote of confidence for the pattern. It sounds like a very successful & versatile wardrobe staple! Converting it to a dress is an interesting idea too.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Pattern Details
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details
Simplicity 5052

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review