SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4280 (Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1269 times 
Reviewed by:BeckyC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BeckyCstar
MN USA
Member since: 5/8/04
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/06 9:36 AM
Last Updated:12/1/06 9:42 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ValerieJ said...
I am so impressed with all the alterations you made on this jacket and the time you took to think through all of the little details. Hard to believe this was a "simple" project for you!
12/1/06 9:58 AM
suzanrossi said...
Beautiful! The pattern adjusting knowledge you have acquired is undoubtably one reason this jacket is so becoming!
12/1/06 10:05 AM
pterion said...
I love love love this jacket! The unusual fabric, the tweaking to get the perfect fit, the lining...it's perfect. Can't wait to see it in embroidered microsuede!
12/1/06 10:11 AM
Nickle said...
Gorgeous jacket- looks great on you. I love the fabric.
12/1/06 10:14 AM
sewbehind said...
Very nice jacket. The fabric looks very dressy on the picture.(I know you wanted casual) Was surprised to find out it was distressed denim. Cool jacket/cool fabric.
12/1/06 10:23 AM
Mermie said...
I love your jacket and your review is excellent. The fabric is gorgeous.
12/1/06 10:37 AM
mkhpaintsew said...
Great jacket. It fits so nicely and the fabric is wonderful.
12/1/06 10:59 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Hi Becky, I saw the fabric at the expo and you did a beatiful jacket with it! Looks like ColdwaterCreek! Very professional. Excellent review. Thanks for taking the time to detail. I learned a lot from you. Could you tell me which sewing guild you belong to? I am from Bloomington and want to learn to sew like you! , Laurie
12/1/06 11:31 AM
Donna H said...
WOW, your jacket looks great! When I first saw the thumbnail I thought it was a sweater knit type fabric. Denim!! Just fabulous. I want to sew as great as you do!!! Very very nice. Thanks for all the details. Your drafting and muslins paid off and encourge me to do the same.
12/1/06 11:43 AM
Pinkytoo said...
I LOVE IT!! I'm now thinking of making one with a zip front, thanks for the review!
12/1/06 12:05 PM
Erica B. said...
Great jacket!
12/1/06 12:39 PM
Janime said...
Cool jacket!
12/1/06 1:06 PM
Dale C said...
What a great pattern for playing with. Simple, classic, and quick. I love the way yours came out and I'll look forward to seeing the changes you make to it.
12/1/06 1:32 PM
cecelia said...
I really like the jacket--it fits you perfectly and sounds like a dream to wear--never would've guessed it's denim though.
12/1/06 1:48 PM
Carolyndh said...
Like some others I thought the fabric was boucle or sweater knit! Denim looks fantastic this way! I love the effect you have created here.
12/1/06 1:48 PM
Vonnevo said...
Becky, your prior preparation and planning really paid off with this beautiful, eye catching jacket. I too thought it was a knit or boucle, it's fabulous. Thank you for detailing your sewing journey, it will help anyone else immensely.
12/1/06 2:00 PM
touran said...
I'd never have guessed that was a denim fabric. It looks textured and snuggly. The jacket looks great on you.
12/1/06 2:22 PM
ACB said...
Love your jacket! Your fabric choice is great.
12/1/06 3:03 PM
EmmyNel said...
It is a thrill to see my fellow ASG member and friend posting her great jacket on pattern review -- and I remember the gown the lining material made first. The fit is great -- can't wait to see it at neighborhood group.
12/1/06 3:06 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What an unusual jacket and fabric. Great job.
12/1/06 5:10 PM
carolynw said...
I really like this - it's my kind of jacket style. Your fabric is fantastic. Thanks for such a helpful review
12/1/06 5:11 PM
KarenP said...
Cute jacket! This looks like a great pattern.
12/1/06 5:36 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cool fabric! I didn't realize it was denim until I read the review. Great jacket on you!!
12/1/06 6:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
When I opened up your picture, after I admired the lovely jacket shape, I became intrigued with the fabric. I was so surprised when I read that it was denim! The way you frayed the collar edges is just wonderful. The extra pains you took on interfacing and lining and stabilizing really paid off in a lovely jacket.
12/1/06 8:19 PM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful jacket! Very cool fabric and the collar treatment is fab. I thought I saw you at the Mpls expo. And darn...I can't believe I passed on buying some of this denim!
12/1/06 9:51 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a great jacket!!! It looks terrific with that unique fabric!
12/1/06 9:56 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a great jacket!!! It looks terrific with that unique fabric!
12/1/06 9:57 PM
Rhoda K said...
I've never heard of distressed denim, but what a neat jacket. Just gorgeous.
12/1/06 9:58 PM
2BSewing said...
Becky...your jacket is beautiful! I love the fabric. You did a great job. Thanks for a wonderful review and providing pictures. :)
12/1/06 10:17 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Really neat looking jacket! Love the fabric choice and the results. You did agreat job!
12/2/06 7:20 AM
seams_sew said...
Nice jacket. I saw that fabric at the store and loved it. Thanks for a great review.
12/2/06 8:38 AM
Elemenopeo said...
This is a cool jacket and fits you so well.
12/2/06 2:06 PM
AnneM said...
When I 1st looked at the picture, I thought it was a sweater knit! What a neat jacket, and congrats on finishing it by your deadline. (ETA: I guess I'm not the only one fooled on the fabric in the picture.)
12/2/06 3:34 PM
Sharon M said...
I *knew* I remembered seeing a review using this fabric from you. I just purchased something similar to this from Mill End Textiles in Crystal. I loved your jacket when I first read the review and when I saw that denim I quickly purchased some so I too could make a jacket. Boy, it sure is messy to work with!
9/24/07 2:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 8508

photo
by: maria 6705

Review
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Buy Now