Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 09-2006-410 (Blouse) - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 1050 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Kathi R
photo
Friend of PR
About Kathi Rstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/28/05
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/06 8:49 PM
Last Updated:12/1/06 8:49 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mastdenman said...
Ooooh, I like your shirt. I guess that means that I have to dig this one out and try it. I never have any shirts that I really like.
12/1/06 9:15 PM
mClones said...
Your shirt looks so smart. I love how you handled the stripes.
12/1/06 9:20 PM
licarritc said...
I saw your muslin and thought it was great! The real thing is very classy. Burda seems to understand that we are bigger but we still have a shape and they design for that.
12/1/06 9:25 PM
ACB said...
Love it, great use of stripes.
12/1/06 9:33 PM
ryan's mom said...
I love how you handled those stripes! It sure makes for an eye-catching blouse and unique blouse.
12/1/06 10:04 PM
Vonnevo said...
Kathi this is a masterpiece !! Definitely has that top end style. First the Burda jeans and now the Burda WOF blouse. I can forsee this will be a great basic pattern for many shirts to come. Congratulations :)
12/1/06 10:13 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow! Great looking final project. Wonderful use of the stripes. I saw where you had made the muslin and was glad to see that this pattern fit well. I can't wait to make myself. Thanks for the detailed review. I didn't realize it had a sleeve placket, though...gulp!
12/1/06 10:52 PM
Carolyndh said...
Very classy! I have had my eye on this one too--glad that it really looks as great as it does in the magazine. Great job!
12/1/06 11:34 PM
Sherril Miller said...
This one is on my list too. Did you have to do many alterations? I'd love to see you wearing it as the magazine never shows it very well on the model. Why I can't figure out. Yours looks great.
12/1/06 11:50 PM
KarmenG said...
Great job with the stripes! Your blouse looks fabulous, and the sleeve placket is very crisp and precise. And I like the button placement. Congrats! Like you, I feel those pattern lines can be overwhelming but it looks like you mastered the process.
12/2/06 0:56 AM
Ruth C said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this--I'm planning to sew this after I get the Christmas stuff done. Your blouse is lovely! By the way: did you have to do any kind of full bust adjustment? I usually need one and have been trying to figure out how to do it on this pattern.
12/2/06 0:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely blouse. Really like the look of the style.
12/2/06 7:27 AM
Caitycat said...
Mmmm, my copy of Burda Plus came today, and I'm convinced that this shirt is a must-sew! You're so right - it's fantastic to see a plus pattern with real style lines and flattering curves.
12/2/06 7:32 AM
blue mooney said...
What a nice shirt! This is a great basic-with-a-twist pattern. I love the way you handled those stripes.
12/2/06 7:42 AM
krystalkaes said...
Thank you for this review. Excellent work on the blouse. Also, thank you for posting the picture of your muslin. I just had a "why haven't I thought of that??" moment.
12/2/06 9:20 AM
cecelia said...
Nice styling in the shirt for plus sizes, and I love your muslin--there is a use for my scraps!
12/2/06 10:18 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I love this!! And I am SO copying it. It was already on my list, but I really like it with the stripes.
12/2/06 11:32 AM
LauraTS said...
I love the side panels on the bias with stripes, looks really together. Re Burda Plus - I thought they only did 2 issues a year, neither in December...?
12/2/06 1:10 PM
LauraTS said...
Oops, double post
12/2/06 1:56 PM
SueV said...
Very nice Kathi, you did a great job. Love the way you did the stripes and the buttons too! Thanks for sharing
12/2/06 4:34 PM
Kathi R said...
Good catch on the date of the issue -- I guessed since I can't read the magazine I'm working from the website doesn't indicate the date of the current issue.
12/2/06 6:35 PM
beangirl said...
So classy! I love your blouse, it looks wonderful! Ok, next time you WILL model it yourself, right? Right.
12/2/06 8:33 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Wow, inspirational stuff. I know what you mean about special design lines for plus sizes, thanks for a great review.
12/2/06 9:52 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Wow, inspirational stuff. I know what you mean about special design lines for plus sizes, thanks for a great review.
12/2/06 10:00 PM
KiwiWendy said...
Love your shirt ... and the multi fabric muslin is really helpful to see all the design lines
12/3/06 4:52 PM
artist1lisa said...
I realy like this shirt.It looks so professional and smart.The stripe detail is a great designer move.You did a fantastic job.
12/5/06 9:03 AM
Elaray said...
I just finished a wearable muslin of this pattern. I wish I'd seen your review first. I love the idea of the DPC placket. When I make the "real shirt" I'll have to remeber to do that.
3/7/07 11:05 AM
threadbearer said...
Thankyou for your review and for the great idea about cutting the side pieces on the bias!
8/1/07 9:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Daisy Kingdom 2431
photo
Review by kathieh9 on 7/30/13
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2447 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by kittecat on 4/10/13
Read Review

Butterick 5930 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5930 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2226 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2226 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us