SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2003-118 (Dress)

Viewed 1485 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 150
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 129
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/06 10:49 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lynngray said...
Cute dress. Good idea about fabric.
12/4/06 11:05 AM
ryan's mom said...
Nice dress with a dream fit! It really shows off your great figure.
12/4/06 11:41 AM
crisford said...
Great job with the fitting! I made a dress similar to this, which I have never worn because of the lining popping out at the neck and the high neckline. I will have to try your tip to take it out at the shoulders!
12/4/06 11:47 AM
moss said...
That is soooooooooo cute! I love your fabric choice!
12/4/06 11:47 AM
ACB said...
Cute, love the fabric contrast, and an excellent fit! Great job.
12/4/06 1:04 PM
Robin Denning said...
Wow, it fits you so well! You would never know what you went through to get it right. I am always impressed with a great fit. That is the hardestpart of sewing, I think.
12/4/06 1:57 PM
BeckyC said...
I love your sleeveless version of this dress. It looks great on you and fits you so well. Thanks for the informative review.
12/4/06 2:20 PM
LBJ said...
That's really cute, I love the retro yet modern look of it!
12/4/06 4:34 PM
blue mooney said...
Very nice, and you can either look schoolgirlish or sophisticated (when you wear it sleeveless)
12/4/06 6:05 PM
ceedee said...
You've got the fit down perfectly! Nice that it's an all-season piece. Your comments re: making it sleeveless and understitching the lining were very helpful. edited to add: your bio photo just changed while I was writing this!
12/4/06 7:20 PM
ceedee said...
You've got the fit down perfectly! Nice that it's an all-season piece. Your comments re: making it sleeveless and understitching the lining were very helpful.
12/4/06 7:22 PM
AliceB said...
I love your new dress. The contrast band really creates interest up toward your face. It doesn't look like a potato sack to me but really cute with the subtle contrast of the solid and plaid.
12/4/06 8:16 PM
christine A said...
Love it! It is one smart looking dress!
12/4/06 8:45 PM
mClones said...
Looks cute. Great fit.
12/4/06 8:55 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
This looks really nice.
12/4/06 10:34 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
This looks really nice.
12/4/06 10:38 PM
sewbehind said...
That is really nice. You could be a model with that lovely face of yours. (maybe you are!)
12/4/06 10:47 PM
Heatherrique said...
Spectacular! Fits you beautifully! Enjoyed the review!
12/4/06 11:08 PM
Zaneta said...
I love this dress and will have to track the pattern down..Happy B'Day :)
12/4/06 11:10 PM
coolobreeze said...
Wow! Your labor was not in vain; you achieved a great dress with a great fit. Thank you for a helpful, detailed review.
12/5/06 6:14 AM
Sharon M said...
What a great dress! Your fabric choice is really good and the shape of this dress really shows off your cute shape.
12/5/06 8:34 AM
krystalkaes said...
Super cute!
12/5/06 10:17 AM
Carolyndh said...
Your careful fitting paid off! Looks fantastic on you.
12/5/06 10:48 AM
Donna H said...
Your dress is beautiful! All your hard work paid off...it looks great. Thanks for all the details in your review.
12/5/06 11:45 AM
Lisette said...
Love your dress! Nice to "see" another reviewer from MD.
12/5/06 2:15 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, what an adorable dress. When I read your review, I was surprised that you had fitting problems--it appears to fit like a glove. Great job!!
12/6/06 12:39 PM
ALY said...
The dress looks great on you. Since you mention projects in bags, I have to mention that a friend who keeps projects in paper bags refers to them as "PIGs" Projects in Grocery bags.
12/7/06 5:07 PM
MissCelie said...
Thanks for all your compliments! It really helps when you are trying to motivate yourself back into sewing!
12/8/06 8:18 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, such a cute dress. You're an inspiration to keep on with UFOs.
12/9/06 6:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 8524

photo
by: AK2012

Review
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now