Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2003-118 (Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1485 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/06 10:49 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lynngray said...
Cute dress. Good idea about fabric.
12/4/06 11:05 AM
ryan's mom said...
Nice dress with a dream fit! It really shows off your great figure.
12/4/06 11:41 AM
crisford said...
Great job with the fitting! I made a dress similar to this, which I have never worn because of the lining popping out at the neck and the high neckline. I will have to try your tip to take it out at the shoulders!
12/4/06 11:47 AM
moss said...
That is soooooooooo cute! I love your fabric choice!
12/4/06 11:47 AM
ACB said...
Cute, love the fabric contrast, and an excellent fit! Great job.
12/4/06 1:04 PM
Robin Denning said...
Wow, it fits you so well! You would never know what you went through to get it right. I am always impressed with a great fit. That is the hardestpart of sewing, I think.
12/4/06 1:57 PM
BeckyC said...
I love your sleeveless version of this dress. It looks great on you and fits you so well. Thanks for the informative review.
12/4/06 2:20 PM
LBJ said...
That's really cute, I love the retro yet modern look of it!
12/4/06 4:34 PM
blue mooney said...
Very nice, and you can either look schoolgirlish or sophisticated (when you wear it sleeveless)
12/4/06 6:05 PM
ceedee said...
You've got the fit down perfectly! Nice that it's an all-season piece. Your comments re: making it sleeveless and understitching the lining were very helpful. edited to add: your bio photo just changed while I was writing this!
12/4/06 7:20 PM
ceedee said...
You've got the fit down perfectly! Nice that it's an all-season piece. Your comments re: making it sleeveless and understitching the lining were very helpful.
12/4/06 7:22 PM
AliceB said...
I love your new dress. The contrast band really creates interest up toward your face. It doesn't look like a potato sack to me but really cute with the subtle contrast of the solid and plaid.
12/4/06 8:16 PM
christine A said...
Love it! It is one smart looking dress!
12/4/06 8:45 PM
mClones said...
Looks cute. Great fit.
12/4/06 8:55 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
This looks really nice.
12/4/06 10:34 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
This looks really nice.
12/4/06 10:38 PM
sewbehind said...
That is really nice. You could be a model with that lovely face of yours. (maybe you are!)
12/4/06 10:47 PM
Heatherrique said...
Spectacular! Fits you beautifully! Enjoyed the review!
12/4/06 11:08 PM
Zaneta said...
I love this dress and will have to track the pattern down..Happy B'Day :)
12/4/06 11:10 PM
coolobreeze said...
Wow! Your labor was not in vain; you achieved a great dress with a great fit. Thank you for a helpful, detailed review.
12/5/06 6:14 AM
Sharon M said...
What a great dress! Your fabric choice is really good and the shape of this dress really shows off your cute shape.
12/5/06 8:34 AM
krystalkaes said...
Super cute!
12/5/06 10:17 AM
Carolyndh said...
Your careful fitting paid off! Looks fantastic on you.
12/5/06 10:48 AM
Donna H said...
Your dress is beautiful! All your hard work paid off...it looks great. Thanks for all the details in your review.
12/5/06 11:45 AM
Lisette said...
Love your dress! Nice to "see" another reviewer from MD.
12/5/06 2:15 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, what an adorable dress. When I read your review, I was surprised that you had fitting problems--it appears to fit like a glove. Great job!!
12/6/06 12:39 PM
ALY said...
The dress looks great on you. Since you mention projects in bags, I have to mention that a friend who keeps projects in paper bags refers to them as "PIGs" Projects in Grocery bags.
12/7/06 5:07 PM
MissCelie said...
Thanks for all your compliments! It really helps when you are trying to motivate yourself back into sewing!
12/8/06 8:18 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, such a cute dress. You're an inspiration to keep on with UFOs.
12/9/06 6:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-25
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 10/23/10
Read Review

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8918 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by beanchor on 8/6/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2562 Pattern
Jalie 2562 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us