SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> Sew U skirt (Built By Wendy Sew U Skirt)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1354 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo

 
 
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/06 7:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Beautiful skirt. Is the book worth it for someone who is not a beginner?
12/5/06 8:15 PM
LBJ said...
It's really pretty, I love the fabric. I didn't know you could zig zag a hem on velvet. From the picture you can't even see it.
12/5/06 8:27 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I just love your skirt, and that fabric is to die for! Kashi is the best- I need to get down to NYC to see him again soon!
12/5/06 8:30 PM
drsue said...
Man, I love that fabric!!! Great job on this skirt.
12/5/06 8:43 PM
ACB said...
That is absolutely beautiful!
12/5/06 8:55 PM
ACB said...

12/5/06 8:55 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Great skirt, I'm glad to hear it sewed up so well.
12/5/06 8:56 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks! Yeah, Kashi is definitely the best. I bought this fabric from him sight unseen, because he knows what I like, and he assured me I'd like this fabric. Lisette - For me, the book is 'worth it', even though I've been sewing for over 20 years. But that said, quite frankly I didn't learn a thing, techically, from the book. When I say it was 'worth it' for me, I'm talking enjoyment in reading and in following Wendy's process. Having read the book, I'd buy it again, if that helps you.
12/5/06 9:02 PM
bunz said...
Turned out a real stunner, Barbara! Leave it Kashi to find the best fabric:-)
12/5/06 11:02 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'll jump on the bandwagon - great skirt, and Kashi came through once again on fabric. Both are beautiful.
12/5/06 11:10 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fabulous fabric, great fit.
12/6/06 0:22 AM
patsijean said...
I like the skirt and the fabric is beautiful. Good job.
12/6/06 1:41 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely skirt - great use of your fabric. Nice to hear about the book, which looks great for young people. In fact, I might get it for my niece.
12/6/06 7:59 AM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful skirt!
12/6/06 8:01 AM
Levone said...
Your skirt looks great! Thanks for pointing out this book.
12/6/06 10:01 AM
cindy-lou said...
I have this book too and just finished my first version of this skirt. I love this book. I'm an advanced beginner and love her explanations of things and her hip sense of style. Now I understand WHY it's so important to staystitch, etc... I also like the order in which she does the construction. It makes on-the-fly alteration really easy. BEAUTIFUL SKIRT! Everyone will want one.
12/10/06 9:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Other Tessuti Lily linen dress

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now