SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5303 (New York Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1814 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 272
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 228
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/06 1:21 AM
Last Updated:12/18/06 1:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skye said...
Your dress is great - have to love fast and easty projects that turn out look so good. Like your necklace too
12/18/06 2:57 AM
Kathi R said...
thanks for the great review -- I haven't used this pattern company yet but based on this review I just might try
12/18/06 3:16 AM
Kathi R said...
thanks for the great review -- I haven't used this pattern company yet but based on this review I just might try
12/18/06 3:56 AM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful dress. Looks great on you. Thanks for the alteration tips you've made.
12/18/06 4:10 AM
Nickle said...
What a great looking dress. Like the fabric and looks good on it. Sounds like a quick and easy pattern.
12/18/06 6:21 AM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful dress!
12/18/06 7:32 AM
BeckyC said...
Your dress is lovely on you! What a treat to get such a nice dress in such a small amount of time. I know what you mean when you say you'd love to make more projects that are quick -- instant gratification! I like those projects after challenging sewing projects, I use them as a reward to myself ; )
12/18/06 7:55 AM
quilter55 said...
Gorgeous fabric and great fit! I'll have to get this pattern.
12/18/06 8:31 AM
carolynw said...
This is really lovely. I like it much better than the picture on the pattern envelope!! If it canlook this nice I may add this to my pattern stash!! Nice to know it is a quick and easy dress - we need that at times
12/18/06 8:35 AM
Stacy Sews said...
I knew I had seen that fabric before (I'm such a FM junkie) - it looks great made into this dress! Your dress is so much prettier than the pattern envelope!
12/18/06 8:39 AM
Levone said...
Great looking dress! Wow, much better than the pattern's version.
12/18/06 10:28 AM
sewbehind said...
That dress looks beautiful on you. Nice to know that it was easy to make as well.
12/18/06 10:39 AM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely dress!
12/18/06 4:20 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Simple and stylish.
12/18/06 5:54 PM
ryan's mom said...
Terrific dress with such a flattering fit!
12/18/06 9:28 PM
Monica G said...
Your dress is quite lovely. I might consider this dress now. Based on the envelope, I have never given it a second look.
12/18/06 10:42 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Very cute on you Nancywin! Thanks for the review. BTW, did you have any trouble at all with the tip of the v-neck line or any tips you would like to pass along about sewing it? Mine did turn out funky. TIA. Carla
12/18/06 10:51 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
absolutely stunning!
12/19/06 0:16 AM
Nancywin said...
Carla, The tip of the neck was kind of weird since it is a V and there is no excess to go around the point. Basically, I turned it into a "rounded V" and my turn under allowance was probably only about 1/4" right there. I think my fabric is really forgiving, because it lays flat. Thanks for asking!
12/19/06 0:26 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful dress. The fabric is lovely. Thanks for the tip about the sleeve. I haven't sewn a Loes Hinse pattern yet, even though I have a couple in my stash, but reviews of her patterns seem to be consistently positive like yours.
12/19/06 6:40 AM
Terri K said...
You always sew such stylist pieces Nancy - I love FM fabrics too. Thanks for the review and details.
2/16/09 10:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Other corset

photo
by: julibet

Review
Simplicity 9550

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now