SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1753 (3-piece suit)

4 more reviews
Viewed 3069 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/07 4:48 AM
Last Updated:1/1/07 4:50 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tany said...
Awsome! Thanks for this review and all the valuable info on it.
1/1/07 6:01 AM
Lhan said...
What a lovely review! I like to make things for DH too, and deplore the lack of patterns. I have made him only a collarless jacket without any real tailoring, but it has been a huge success, and now your review inspires me to try something a bit more ambitious. I think your points about bearing with mistakes and not allowing them to overwhelm the process is great. The jacket looks good (your pictures are a bit small on my screen so it is a bit hard to tell). I love the pose, complete with friend!
1/1/07 7:31 AM
julesberry said...
Lhan - thanks for the comments. Sorry the pictures are a bt scruffy but it isn't the weather for this suit yet and Japanese houses don't have central heating, so husband threw it on and I quickly snapped a few shots for the review. Hope to update the pictures sometime when the suit is actually in use.
1/1/07 7:47 AM
julesberry said...

1/1/07 8:01 AM
Sewliz said...
What a great jacket you made! I have seen many good looking garments with superfeatherweight tailoring in ladies' RTw lately. It would be fun to do some snoop shopping in Japan. I like the cute rodent accessory, much better than an alligator bag.
1/1/07 9:18 AM
janlorraine said...
I am really excited to read your review since I am getting ready to make my husband a suit jacket too. I agree with you wholeheartedly about fusible interfacing; I never want to change the "hand" of a fabric and I do not trust glue to last for the long haul. I also like the idea of making an "unconstructed" jacket that will have a softer feel. I have come to dislike the over-padded look of men's suiting these days. I am planning to use Chanel techniques on my husband's jacket: it will look like a suit, but feel like a sweater (I hope). Thanks again! jl
1/1/07 9:22 AM
zoezmommy said...
Impressive! Very courageous of you! Thanks for your detailed review.
1/1/07 9:54 AM
BeckyC said...
Your husbands suit jacket looks wonderful -- rat and all! Your DH is so lucky that you have the knowledge and resources to make a custom jacket to his specification. The fit looks wonderful too! Great review.
1/1/07 10:33 AM
Kay Y said...
Great work on this jacket, and an entertaining and informative review. Keep on sewing (now you can try a jacket for yourself!
1/1/07 11:13 AM
sewbehind said...
Very nice. The rat is the perfect finishing touch!
1/1/07 11:32 AM
Elona said...
You went at it boldly, and the result is quite elegant. Congratulations. The rat adds an interesting touch, too. Seldom does a rat get on-camera time in a fashion shoot.
1/1/07 12:08 PM
frame said...
Great looking jacket. Great review.Thanks.
1/1/07 1:20 PM
Skymom said...
Wants to look like a rhinoceros?! How funny! Well, thanks to your skill, he looks much better than a rhino, although I do see the sophisticated rumpled effect he apparently was after. I also love the rat. My husband had a pet rat once, and it was the most adorable pet--until DH developed an allergy, and rat went to live a very pampered life in a middle school science class.
1/1/07 1:23 PM
CSM--Carla said...
What an informative review, Julesberry!!!! Beautiful work and nice look on that handsome guy! Also referred back to your previous reviews--very thorough and helpful! Thank you! Carla
1/1/07 1:36 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Great review! Thorough & informative - really appreciated.
1/1/07 2:35 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
When I lived in Paris, my male friends would often wear long pleated tailored shorts, classic blazers, leather oxfords, leather belts and a polo or button down shirt with them. They looked at the same time classic, country club and stylish. But, I've never seen this look in the states. Perhaps it's popular in certain cities or parts of the country. Where is this style most seen? And, what sort of shoes and socks and shirt will your husband wear with these? I can see an upscale black tshirt or similar tone polo perhaps, but what on his feet?
1/1/07 7:30 PM
julesberry said...
popoagiesmiles - See previous review of the shorts linked to in the review for photos including the sort of clothes husband is likely to wear with the suit. As for where it is popular in the USA I have no idea (do Americans ever wear suits?) but it seems pretty common on the catwalks (eg see men.style.com)! Never seen anyone dress like this here (Japan) - husband intends to be the first. :-)
1/1/07 10:40 PM
krystalkaes said...
Thank you for the review of both the jacket and Kenneth King's Tailored Jacket book. I love the jacket. . .and the cute little tailed critter too. :-)
1/2/07 9:26 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I can see why this took so much time. Lovely, and he's cute too
1/2/07 9:31 AM
LornaJay said...
Wow!
1/2/07 3:50 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on the jacket; this looks like a great alternative to other options. Nice fashion accessory (pet).
1/9/07 9:00 AM
Tom P said...
Great jacket. You might try one of the old-school Greist or Singer buttonhole attachments to get your machine to make keyhole buttonholes. That's what I did, and it works pretty well. It's a pain to switch the whole thing over, but I get pretty good results. The attachments run about $10 on eBay. I like the older style that don't use the machine's built-in zigzag stitch, as I think the ends of the buttonholes come out a little better.
8/9/07 9:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now