SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4583 (Misses' dress or top and pants)

6 more reviews
Viewed 916 times 
Reviewed by:krinn
photo

 
 
About krinnstar
NJ USA
Member since: 7/9/06
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/07 7:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LauraTS said...
I like the lines of this, it looks very cute. Do you think it could be adapted to use a side zipper? I always have a hard time reaching back zippers. :)
1/2/07 8:33 PM
nancy2001 said...
Cute top.
1/2/07 8:43 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very very cute. I would have missed this top altogether if it weren't for your review. Following Laura's train of thought: is the neck opening large enough for your head without the zipper? If so, a side zip would be great. Even if not, you could do a split neck in the back with a button and loop and put a zip up the side. Is the entire top lined? Or just above the empire line?
1/2/07 9:02 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
I'd think that in a stretch woven you could skip the zip (hey, it rhymes!).
1/2/07 9:32 PM
krinn said...
I don't see why you couldn't adjust the pattern to give it a side zip. It is hard to reach back there. I actually originally just sewed up the back, and I could get it over my head, but I had to nearly dislocate a shoulder to get out of it again. I agree with the poet - I mean sewist ;) - that if the fabric had some stretch you might not need a zipper at all. And it is only lined above the band...
1/2/07 9:49 PM
jnamcd said...
Nice job! And great review!
1/2/07 10:04 PM
krystalkaes said...
Very cute.
1/3/07 1:51 AM
angi_nagel said...
Great top - it looks very rtw!
1/3/07 2:06 AM
jlg said...
This is very cute. I want this pattern now.
1/3/07 5:34 AM
carolynw said...
Looks good - would have passed this pattern over but your review makes me think I should add it to the list - although New Year's resolution is to buy less!!
1/3/07 9:35 AM
Skymom said...
I like your top! I'm a big fan of polka dots. Um, could you just find a Sharpie marker in maroon and color your zipper to match the fabric? Or is that too horrible a cheat for me even to suggest?! Maybe you're not as lazy as I am. You might try it and see how it works--if it doesn't, then replace the zipper.
1/3/07 9:49 AM
cindy-lou said...
I LOVE this top! Wardrobe builders are over-rated anyway.. :) I mean, they are great, but they don't stand out without having a few original pieces like this one to go with them. Great colors, elegant look. I agree with the Sharpie idea!
1/3/07 10:07 AM
krinn said...
Well a sharpie certainly sounds easier; I am not looking forward to ripping that thing out. I will give it a shot, thanks!
1/3/07 10:17 AM
Puddin Pop said...
You did a great job. When I first saw this, I thought it was in a maroon velvet. I really like this style. I like the Sharpie idea. Taking out a zipper is a lot of work for such a minor detail.
1/3/07 10:38 AM
Pinkytoo said...
OOOOH, I like! Adding this to the ever-growing list of summer projects!
1/3/07 12:00 PM
Erica B. said...
very cute top... love the polka dots!
1/3/07 11:41 PM
AnneM said...
Pull out a little maroon marker? Great job on the top.
1/24/07 9:34 PM
Bobinator said...
I love the polka dots!!! Just made a pair of pants with pink polka dots!! You did a beautiful job!
7/29/07 2:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 6401

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 2069-1001

photo
by: SouthernSt...

Review
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now