Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4583 (Misses' dress or top and pants) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 915 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:krinn
photo
About krinnstar
NJ USA
Member since: 7/9/06
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/07 7:20 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LauraTS said...
I like the lines of this, it looks very cute. Do you think it could be adapted to use a side zipper? I always have a hard time reaching back zippers. :)
1/2/07 8:33 PM
nancy2001 said...
Cute top.
1/2/07 8:43 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very very cute. I would have missed this top altogether if it weren't for your review. Following Laura's train of thought: is the neck opening large enough for your head without the zipper? If so, a side zip would be great. Even if not, you could do a split neck in the back with a button and loop and put a zip up the side. Is the entire top lined? Or just above the empire line?
1/2/07 9:02 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
I'd think that in a stretch woven you could skip the zip (hey, it rhymes!).
1/2/07 9:32 PM
krinn said...
I don't see why you couldn't adjust the pattern to give it a side zip. It is hard to reach back there. I actually originally just sewed up the back, and I could get it over my head, but I had to nearly dislocate a shoulder to get out of it again. I agree with the poet - I mean sewist ;) - that if the fabric had some stretch you might not need a zipper at all. And it is only lined above the band...
1/2/07 9:49 PM
jnamcd said...
Nice job! And great review!
1/2/07 10:04 PM
krystalkaes said...
Very cute.
1/3/07 1:51 AM
angi_nagel said...
Great top - it looks very rtw!
1/3/07 2:06 AM
jlg said...
This is very cute. I want this pattern now.
1/3/07 5:34 AM
carolynw said...
Looks good - would have passed this pattern over but your review makes me think I should add it to the list - although New Year's resolution is to buy less!!
1/3/07 9:35 AM
Skymom said...
I like your top! I'm a big fan of polka dots. Um, could you just find a Sharpie marker in maroon and color your zipper to match the fabric? Or is that too horrible a cheat for me even to suggest?! Maybe you're not as lazy as I am. You might try it and see how it works--if it doesn't, then replace the zipper.
1/3/07 9:49 AM
cindy-lou said...
I LOVE this top! Wardrobe builders are over-rated anyway.. :) I mean, they are great, but they don't stand out without having a few original pieces like this one to go with them. Great colors, elegant look. I agree with the Sharpie idea!
1/3/07 10:07 AM
krinn said...
Well a sharpie certainly sounds easier; I am not looking forward to ripping that thing out. I will give it a shot, thanks!
1/3/07 10:17 AM
Puddin Pop said...
You did a great job. When I first saw this, I thought it was in a maroon velvet. I really like this style. I like the Sharpie idea. Taking out a zipper is a lot of work for such a minor detail.
1/3/07 10:38 AM
Pinkytoo said...
OOOOH, I like! Adding this to the ever-growing list of summer projects!
1/3/07 12:00 PM
Erica B. said...
very cute top... love the polka dots!
1/3/07 11:41 PM
AnneM said...
Pull out a little maroon marker? Great job on the top.
1/24/07 9:34 PM
Bobinator said...
I love the polka dots!!! Just made a pair of pants with pink polka dots!! You did a beautiful job!
7/29/07 2:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 3733
photo
Review by Chris Kell... on 1/5/06
Read Review

McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )
McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Geneva Designs apron
photo
Review by donaleen on 5/22/11
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XL-3L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XL-3L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us